Page 42 of 76 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast

Thread: Damien Duff

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    I remember reading a story about him when he was a kid about to play a match. The coach was giving detailed instructions to each player one-by-one but when he got to Damien he just looked at him, smiled and said "Duffer, you just do what you do."
    That was Brian Kerr, think he said something like "forget what I told the other lads, just go out there and cause them problems"

Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    Duffer is such a gem. It's probably somewhere earlier in this thread but Hodgson said it's just about impossible to stop him playing for Ireland. Add to that that he travels to our matches when injured to be a supporter, spends most of his free time asleep, has no idea or care for how much money he has and lets his mum take care of it, once described his younger self as a "fat oul yoke", lived up a mountain in Blackburn...I love him.

I remember reading a story about him when he was a kid about to play a match. The coach was giving detailed instructions to each player one-by-one but when he got to Damien he just looked at him, smiled and said "Duffer, you just do what you do."
    Ya, he was back on the plane to london from slovakia with us, however he did play up on the limp, as he booked in right behind me and he wasn't limping but when he got up the stairs to the gate he was limping in front of all the fans Pointed this out at the time, but he wasn't as small as you'd think he is, he just stoops when playing.

I also said this at the time, but against bulgaria away, there was this irish supporter in a wheelchair, he came up towards the pitch and was clapping. Duffer came all the way from the other end of the pitch while the others were embracing eachother and clenching fists, duffer was oblivious to the rest of them, came over to the guy in the wheelchair took off his jersey and handed it to the guy in the wheelchair, and clenched hands with him. Ill never forget that, it was one of those emotional moments you'll always cherish.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    i understand the reservations about McGeady's performances for us so far though personally i have been impressed anytime i have seen him for Ireland. The last game against Italy in particular. His delivery was poor at times but he had the Italians chasing shadows for large parts of the game.

Hunt has proven that he is really not a starter at this level. An impact sub? Yes, and a very good one too. I would still start McGeady over Hunt at this stage.

Just my opinion and i understand the arguments on both sides.
    I thought Kilbane had his best game for us for awhile against Italy. And that for me was down to McGeady causing the Italian right side of defense and midfield so many problems. He had them bamboozled at times and that stopped any forays up their right hand side. If McGeady starts to score more goals and his last ball improves then we have one hell of a player.

2,081 Posts
    I think some people don't get McGeady. Just because his crosses are poor he's considered to have no end product. I think he's invaluable. He gets defences on the back foot turning towards their own goal. Defenders hate people running at them and he makes them uncertain and nervous. He wins loads of corners, free kicks, throws, etc. and provides much needed relief to a side that are generally chasing possession. That said there is room for improvement but I think he's the most talented player we've had in years.

229 Posts
    Agree with that. Add to it also the ability/willingness to take passes in tight difficult positions without losing possession and the link up balls that he plays in to attacking players feet, looking for the one-two etc.. The final ball complaint is generally one of his crossing, which I agree needs to improve but this is just one facet to his game. McGeady is not a traditional winger.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Lads a wingers real role is to provide crosses/chances for the forwards, if he has no end product then he can do all the schimying in the world and relieve pressure but if he isn't providing assists for goals and a team is struggling to score goals i.e. us, then he really isn't adding any value.

If lawrence starts setting up goals for us over the next few games, then you would have to go with lawrence. Which I think trap would do if that were the case.

3,501 Posts
    from the preview of the Wigan game tomorrow on Fulham's official site: http://www.fulhamfc.com/Club/News/Ne...anPreview.aspx
    "I don't think we're going to have any major changes to the personnel we had with us on Thursday evening in Rome," said Hodgson. "We might be able to add Damien Duff back from his injury to the squad.

3,501 Posts
    Duff starts VS Wigan according to Sky Sports News

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Jaysus, don't know if that's a good thing
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Balls, i would prefer him just to come on as a sub. Wigan would be quite physical too. I have everything crossed

130 Posts
    The injury cant have been too bad if hes fit to even start. Fingers crossed now that he picks up no knock or injury of any sort.

Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    I think some people don't get McGeady. Just because his crosses are poor he's considered to have no end product. I think he's invaluable. He gets defences on the back foot turning towards their own goal. Defenders hate people running at them and he makes them uncertain and nervous. He wins loads of corners, free kicks, throws, etc. and provides much needed relief to a side that are generally chasing possession. That said there is room for improvement but I think he's the most talented player we've had in years.
    If you could combine McGeady's skill with Andy Reid's end product and Stephen Hunt's work rate, you'd have one hell of a player.

Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    I'm one of the ones that doesn't get him. Yes he runs at people, but nothing comes from it 99% of the time. He's selfish and has an awful record for someone with nearly 30 caps.

I think one of the reasons that he hasn't left the Celts is that he likes being a big fish in a small pond. The other would be that no-one's made a move for him.

6:40 Hendry Thomas concedes a free kick for a foul on Damien Duff. Aaron Hughes takes the direct free kick.

16:06 Hendry Thomas challenges Damien Duff unfairly and gives away a free kick. Jonathan Greening restarts play with the free kick.

28:10 Foul by Mohamed Diame on Damien Duff, free kick awarded. Aaron Hughes restarts play with the free kick.

60:26 Unfair challenge on Damien Duff by Hendry Thomas results in a free kick. Aaron Hughes takes the free kick.

66:50 Foul by Mohamed Diame on Damien Duff, free kick awarded. The free kick is delivered left-footed by Damien Duff from right wing, Hendry Thomas makes a clearance.

Seems like Duff is taking a bit of a kicking out there, but is giving their defence all kinds of trouble. His cross into the box led to Wigan conceding the penalty.

2,796 Posts
    That's Duff for you. If he's not supplying good balls he's drawing fouls. Back to the old Duffer. Hope he has no reaction to the injury and hope he gets through tarining this week in tact.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    That's Duff for you. If he's not supplying good balls he's drawing fouls. Back to the old Duffer. Hope he has no reaction to the injury and hope he gets through tarining this week in tact.
    Played the full game so all going well he should be fine for the play off. The number of fouls he can draw will be vital to us as set pieces seem to be one of the areas where we are strong and the french are potentially weak.

123 Posts
    Duff and hunt are very good at winning frees or a throw in / corner whereas McGeady is more likely to lose possession I'd say.

192 Posts
    Trap is at Craven Cottage this afternoon and he will be well pleased with Damien Duff's performance in the first half. Hopefully he is also taking a look at Andy Reid but he's had a very quiet first half.

For some reason Niall Quinn is sitting with Martina Navratilova!
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    For some reason Niall Quinn is sitting with Martina Navratilova!
    She's mad for him obviously!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

is the sunderlandvfulham match on tv?

Page 42 of 76 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast