What about a game of Kirbs/Curbs? Used to always play that out on the street. Bonus points for hitting it over a car.
Anyone ever play '10 and 4'? Usually only two outfielders, but presumably it's been done with more. It's the same rules as heads and volleys except the keeper has to make 4 catches to win and the outfielders have to score 10 goals to win.
What about a game of Kirbs/Curbs? Used to always play that out on the street. Bonus points for hitting it over a car.
Right there with ya buddy.
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=677706&postcount=43
Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.
Another variant was 60 Seconds. Basically heads and volleys ("no blemmers") with the additional constraint that a stated number of goals (increasing in increments of one with each round) had to be scored in the space of sixty seconds; if the outfielders failed, the last player to touch the ball before the minute expired would replace the now liberated goalkeeper. Timekeeping was left to the keeper, who counted down aloud. Given the levels of numeracy in my area, this was often the most taxing element of the game for some players.
A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.
Perhaps we could start a Foot.ie league........![]()
ya thats what we called it, and whoever went in goals first got an extra 1 point i.e. 10 and everyone else got 9.Did anyone play "on the volley"?
Kids don't play the simple old games any more...like 'knock-a-dolly' where someone in a gang gets nominated to go up and knock on someones door that they don't like and run away. Hilarious when the 'victim' opens the door, looking around for who's there.
Rounders was another one you don't see any more. We used to play it with a hurley and a tennis ball....
Queenie I O....Anyone remember that?
I've been calling it knock-a-dally for years! Why didn't anyone tell me I was wrong?! What I loved about it though was when the chosen kid knocked on the neighbour's door and turned around just in time to see us locking him in to the garden. It would be easy to open in normal circumstances, but given the blind panic that overcomes you when you realise you might get caught it suddenly becomes something like a Crypton Factor test
We used to play that in school the whole time, great great game, damn cricket seems to have overtaken it over here
TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY
The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!
All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.
We had something similar called Belfast. You ring the bell and run fast.
Better version of that is when you are walking up the street and you start walking a little faster than those behind you, then you knock on the door, leg it and by the time they have copped and gone to move its too late. priceless.
Great example of that story was we made about 20 yards on the lads walking behind us ( they were lazy and walked slow ), we started to run, they copped on and hid behind a wall, then the fella came out and the boys stuck their heads out to see where he was and if he had come out. Spots the lads behind the wall and chases after them, catches them up and they go "it wasn't us". Garda station was right across from them and yer man goes right lads come with me!!! Priceless. still laughing at that thinking about it now. To be honest if i thought i could get ( catcht them out ) the lads i would do it right now!!!!
another good one is hiding behind walls stickin up fingers or roaring at drivers/throwing snowballs through the windows ( not breaking them )!!! great fun till you get caught![]()
We used to hang around near a particular set of traffic lights (Hassetts Cross for anyone who knows Limerick) and keep pushing the button for the green man. The lights only let one or two cars through at a time. Priceless....getting roared out of it by irate motorists... brilliant....although I now am one of those motorists.....
thats cos ye were crap dodgeBloody jackeens
we only let the wimin use tennis rackets
Anyone remember a cartoon called 'Secret Squirrel', or another one that had a dog who played a guitar...can't remember the name of that one though...
Or El Kabong, Hong Kong Phooey or Quick Draw McGraw?
Pure class
was this a limerick only cartoon?