Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: "We molested football tonight"

"We molested football tonight"

Well ladies and gentlemen we have another contender for finest ever League of Ireland interview as Joe Gamble gave one of the strangest post match utterances I've ever heard. Was this a slip of the tongue or some bizarre Corkism?

It's got to be up there with Ridden Rock Solid and the Stuey Byrne title winning tirade.

I LOVE THIS LEAGUE
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

I haven't a clue what he's trying to say. Is he saying they were so good that they "raped" football as others would say?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

it was a strange one alright. he was not a happy man during the interview!

Quote Originally Posted by el punter View Post
    Well ladies and gentlemen we have another contender for finest ever League of Ireland interview as Joe Gamble gave one of the strangest post match utterances I've ever heard. Was this a slip of the tongue or some bizarre Corkism?

It's got to be up there with Ridden Rock Solid and the Stuey Byrne title winning tirade.

I LOVE THIS LEAGUE
    I thought he said that but didn't want to comment in case he said something else and it raised a whole lot of other issues of why I imagined him saying it.

Glad to have confirmation now.

Didn't he also say that anyone who knows anything about football will know that Linfield didn't win the game? Can we expect Cork to take this up with FIFA and be allowed into the final on the basis that they would have won on points if football was judged like boxing
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Didn't he also say that anyone who knows anything about football will know that Linfield didn't win the game?
    Just sounds a bit bitter to me. Understandably so but there's still a limit you know. He could at least be a bit more gracious in defeat.

I haven't seen the interview so not sure exactly what was said but if this is true he needs to grow up and be a proper professional.
    Extratime.ie

I thought he said that but didn't want to comment in case he said something else and it raised a whole lot of other issues of why I imagined him saying it.

Glad to have confirmation now.
    Yeah, I had to play back the Sky+ a few times to make sure I heard it right!

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Just sounds a bit bitter to me. Understandably so but there's still a limit you know. He could at least be a bit more gracious in defeat.

I haven't seen the interview so not sure exactly what was said but if this is true he needs to grow up and be a proper professional.
    Would you prefer usual spiel with usual cliches?

Showed some honesty and just told us what we already knew.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb View Post
    Would you prefer usual spiel with usual cliches?

What? That even though Linfield won the match they shouldn't be in the final?!

He seemed to blame Denis Behan more for missing chances than for the fu** up he made for the goal!

Typical Cork whinging, I saw one of the foot.ie regulars on the TV a few times, no doubt he's coming up with an excuse... One that could be used is "The players were confused by the different speed limits/traffic light systems on the way up to the match"
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Gamble should realise these things happen.

Liverpool played Man Utd off the park the whole match then O'Shea came up with the winner.

It was exactly what happened last night. And that is the difference between a good team and a championship winning team.

If you have any ambitions of winning the league, you have to be able to win ugly and Linfield did just that.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb View Post
    Yeah but he should have some balls and get on with it. Instead of whinging on national telly.

It's like the whole moral victory bull that goes on. There's no such thing, imo. Players should realise that and cop on.
    Extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    He seemed to blame Denis Behan more for missing chances than for the fu** up he made for the goal!
    It's a bit of a shambles alright giving the man of the match award to someone who just gave away the winning goal. I'd say Gamble felt like hopping the stupid trophy off Milo's permed barnet.

Extratime.ie

Didnt see interview but saw him goading the Drogheda fans after scoring up there. Lacks a bit of class and cop on there.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Didnt see interview but saw him goading the Drogheda fans after scoring up there. Lacks a bit of class and cop on there.
    That was Roy O'Donovan
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Can't disagree with the comments but that was O'Donovan.

Not seen the interview but I think live tv interviews straight after matches is new to eL players especially after such big games. Gamble is probably not the greatest communicator & a bit too honest. He ran the game for 90 minutes & made one crucial feck up.

Can we expect Cork to take this up with FIFA and be allowed into the final on the basis that they would have won on points if football was judged like boxing
    Nah, will never happen.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

"We molested football tonight"
    Maybe its like when Ronaldo (the real one) was in those adds saying "I Kiss Football", Gamble wanted to tranlate that into Corkeese?
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Nah, will never happen.

Ridden again.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    I saw one of the foot.ie regulars on the TV a few times, no doubt he's coming up with an excuse... One that could be used is "The players were confused by the different speed limits/traffic light systems on the way up to the match"
    Again, highly unlikely.
    That would be ridiculous.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Can't disagree with the comments but that was O'Donovan.

Not seen the interview but I think live tv interviews straight after matches is new to eL players especially after such big games. Gamble is probably not the greatest communicator & a bit too honest. He ran the game for 90 minutes & made one crucial feck up.
    Apologies. You see one langer you see them all

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast