Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: National Anthem played in pubs

National Anthem played in pubs

I was in a pub in a village in Kildare on Saturday night with the gf, and another couple (who live there). Just an average local pub with a two piece "band" on playing the usual pub standards. Anyway at the end of the gig they played the national anthem. The two girls in our foursome stayed sitting. As soon as the song was over a farmer type came over to ask why they didn't get up; "Are ye Irish or what!?!". They ignored him and he went off muttering about foreigners (they're both Irish BTW)

Personally I think its a disgrace the anthem is used in this way and think it should be kept for occasions of some importance (rather than to indicate the end of some poor pub band/DJ set) but I'll stand up as I know there are idiots looking ot give me grief if I don't.

Just wondering if anyone has any opinions on it? If you were in that pub, what would have thought of the girls? Would you have said something? Do you think I'm treating the anthem with too much respect?

(BTW I've put this in current affairs rather than off topic as it has some sort of political edge to it)

I started a thread on this over on OWC a good while back to see if the "inverse" happens up north. Down here the practice seems to happen a fair bit the closer to the border you are and dissipates the further south you go ...with notable exceptions I'm sure.

Here in Limerick I've only heard the anthem at things like weddings. In Monaghan I've heard it Nightclubs and pubs.
    I'm not entirely comfortable with the practice as it strikes me as in inappropriate forum to be goading the super-gaels.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

521 Posts
    They play it in the Commodore in Cobh at the end of the dishco too, but then they still have slow sets in there.

3,486 Posts
    Heard it in nightclubs often enough - thought it was pretty much traditional to end the night with it, especially outside Dublin.

A pub is a different matter though - you've paid in to sit and drink, not to listen to somebody playing away, so it'd be very annoying to suddenly have the anthem thrown at you for no reason.

It really is a country thing , Everything used to finish off a night with the anthem, RTE used to have it on last thing before they closed for the night , It used to be on in cinemas etc etc

I think it was very poor form out of the women not standing up , when in rome and all that stuff .If thats what they do in that pub and you want to go drinking in there then have a little respect for the place . Same goes for you they arent idiots for giving people showing a complete lack of manners a bit of grief .
    Last edited by anto1208; 30/04/2007 at 12:53 PM.

1,025 Posts
    Heard it in lots of pubs and a few nightclubs, but dont really like the idea. Should only be played when something related to our identity as a nation is going on.
    Reminds me............when I was in Uni in Maynooth, I watched Ireland v. England in the 6Nations in a pub called "The Roost" (anybody who's been to Uni there will know where I'm talking about), and there were 3 or 4 English guys in front of the screen. And when the English anthem came on, the barmen muted the volume for the duration of it. I thought it was one of the most stupid, pathetic, misguided attempts at patriotism I'd ever seen, and I still do.

Mixing the National Anthem with alcohol has been a pet peeve of mine for a long time. I get goosebumps like (probably) most other Irish folk, but I am uncomfortable with it being played in pubs. Maybe St. Patrick's Day is okay, but that's about it. I am also against it being played at weddings. I don't like seeing a load of drunk people get all self-righteous and indulging in what I perceive to be mock-Patriotism.

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    I think it was very poor form out of the women not standing up , when in rome and all that stuff .If thats what they do in that pub and you want to go drinking in there then have a little respect for the place.
    One of the girls is a regular in that pub and the band that played there on Saturday played for the first time. Its the band's ritual, not the pub. Oh and the bloke who had a go isn't a regular either

Same goes for you they arent idiots for giving people showing a complete lack of manners a bit of grief .
    It wasn't lack of manners, they were making a point of not standing up(for the reasons I gave above). One of he girls is hugely nationalistic, she just thinks its ridiculous to play the national anthem in a pub.

Its not a country thing as I've heard it loads and loads of times in Dublin. Not in a whike but thats probably more down to my social life than anything else

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Should only be played when something related to our identity as a nation is going on.
    Pub seems like the perfect place for it so!

Having said that it annoys the hell out of me too but not as much as The Fields of Athenry played by wedding bands.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

Its not a country thing as I've heard it loads and loads of times in Dublin. Not in a whike but thats probably more down to my social life than anything else
    It was played in the fine Inchicore establishment I spent Friday night in. I'd forgotten just how 'Shameless' a night out in the 'Core is. Quality.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

If its the Inn I'm thinking of, Shameless has nothing on it. I'd be laughed out of here if I told you some of the stories I've seen in there (in my younger days obviously)

2 doors up from the H&J is the one. There were a few Pats lads in there and I thought it might get a bit lairy but all that happened was that they threw out one of the Pats fans.

I spent last Saturday week at the TV Now Awards followed by the VVIP* bit of Krystal (me and Colin Farrell ) I hated every second of it. Fast forward 6 days I'm in an absolute kip in Inchicore and totally loving it. I may have a problem.

Back on topic, I once had to prop a gypo up against a wall in a nightclub in Letterkenny when the thick Bohs eejit refused to stand for the national anthem. To this day he doesn't know how close he came to getting us all killed.

* Yes, there is a Very Very Important People section in Krystal. Tossers.
    No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Thats not even the worst/best one in Inchicore

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    They play it in the Commodore in Cobh at the end of the dishco too, but then they still have slow sets in there.
    Gaw-awd S-hayve Our Queen!!!
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    One of the girls is a regular in that pub and the band that played there on Saturday played for the first time. Its the band's ritual, not the pub. Oh and the bloke who had a go isn't a regular either

It wasn't lack of manners, they were making a point of not standing up(for the reasons I gave above). One of he girls is hugely nationalistic, she just thinks its ridiculous to play the national anthem in a pub.

you should have said that so , from your post i thought you where taking the pee out of the regulars for standing to the national anthem at the end of the night .

I still think she should have stood , i would have, its a mark of respect im not even irish ( by birth i am a citizen )and id have stood up for a few mins .

Well like I said I stood. Its only a couple of minutes. Just thought I'd ask here as we were talking about it yesterday. Just wanted other opinions on it...

521 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    I think it was very poor form out of the women not standing up , when in rome and all that stuff .
    I'm not sure it's poor form, but it is funny how we do things, isn't it? For instance I'd probably stand for the national anthem out of some bizarre form of befuddled respect, but I steadfastly refuse to bless myself, genuflect, pray or sing in church -- because I'm not a fan of organised religion and I think it would be hypocritical. However I always stand when everyone else is standing in church, and I'm kinda hit and miss on kneeling.

We're all just confused sheep when you get right down to it.

Last edited by dahamsta; 30/04/2007 at 3:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    I'm not sure it's poor form, but it is funny how we do things, isn't it? For instance I'd probably stand for the national anthem out of some bizarre form of befuddled respect, but I steadfastly refuse to bless myself, genuflect, pray or sing in church -- because I'm not a fan of organised religion and I think it would be hypocritical. However I always stand when everyone else is standing in church, and I'm kinda hit and miss on kneeling.

We're all just confused sheep when you get right down to it.

SING ,

Social compliance isn’t it , if a guy with a hat and walky talky asks you to do something you ll do it .

I dont go to church unless its a funeral or mass and im invited then ill stand and sit etc when im supposed to,its more manners than anything else .

Still ill bless myself after scoring

521 Posts
    The mother plays for the other side and they sing in church sometimes, so I get it at the occasional wedding, funeral, etc. Like yourself, they're the only occasions when I go to church.

Except to look at them of course, churches are generally quite cool, like many other symbols of oppression, greed and general nastiness. Churches and Stalin have a lot in common when you get right down to it.

The chcurch thing is different IMO as that's respecting someone's religion. If I was invited to a Mosque I'd behave as I was told. Its notauthority I have a problem with just barstool republicanism

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast