Thread: Drogs website makes the press

Drogs website makes the press

From "Inn off the post" from the Indo

'Up steps Stewie and places the ball on the spot and jaysus doesn't he hit the post and the ball rebounds to safety! Me heart! Where's me tablets?? And the shouts of the Pats crowd, you'd think they'd won.' - Drogheda United's official website's unique description of Stuart Byrne's missed penalty in Monday's Setanta Cup win over St Patrick's Athletic.

How embarressing...

Wonder is that more damaging to the league than the comments of Maribor Kev on the Derry site (and BTW that example is one of the least excruciating)

Embarassing indeed on an official site.

It reads like the way a stereotyping English person would describe an Irish person as talking : "And bejaysus - wouldn't you know, he's only after hittin' the post. Begorrah - he couldn't smack a cows arse with a banjo. Now where's me tablets mammy...."

What was so damaging about what Maribor wrote though ?

Can Drogs fans not do something about that muppet?
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

I didn't realise that was still going on.
    Just saw it there.

I remember thinking it was very funny the first two or three times but it's embarrassing to think your European opponents look ye up and see that as your official match reports.
    Give the guy a fanzine or something.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    I think if Drogs don't have a problem with it, then none of us should.

upyaboya !
    I knew the rural folk would support each other on this...
    SIGNATURESCOPE

No, i think Rogue Trader is right but if it was my club I would be annoyed.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    What was so damaging about what Maribor wrote though ?
    I found nothing wrong with it. However Derry received a fine for it. IMO the Drogheda stuff would do more damage

That website is a standing joke for a few years now. Yet they still publish that kind of cringe worthy rubbish.

Its entertaining to the rest of us as we have a good laugh off it but its damaging to the league as a whole.

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    I knew the rural folk would support each other on this...
    Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    i think Rogue Trader is right.
    QED .
    SIGNATURESCOPE

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Up steps Stewie and places the ball on the spot and jaysus doesn't he hit the post and the ball rebounds to safety! Me heart! Where's me tablets?? And the shouts of the Pats crowd, you'd think they'd won.' - Drogheda United's official website's unique description of Stuart Byrne's missed penalty in Monday's Setanta Cup win over St Patrick's Athletic.
    Nothing wrong with it, as it's a Drogheda match report on a Drogheda website.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Nothing wrong with it, as it's a Drogheda match report on a Drogheda website.
    Its the official site, and like it or not rules were introduced about what goes into official content.

If Derry get a rattle from Merrion Sq, so should Drogs.

Its not so much the (cringeworthy) content, but yet again the inconsistent interpretation of the rules.

Exactly. And BTW I realise most Drogs fans are annoyed/****ed off/embarassed by the reports too (not all I'd guess)

we have complained but we were told the idea is to give a 'different' type of report on matches

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    It reads like the way a stereotyping English person would describe an Irish person as talking : "And bejaysus - wouldn't you know, he's only after hittin' the post. Begorrah - he couldn't smack a cows arse with a banjo. Now where's me tablets mammy...."
    The original bit the indo quoted would be almost identical to how i'd put it if i was decribing that event and many i know would be fairly similar too so i think you're talking rubbish to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    The original bit the indo quoted would be almost identical to how i'd put it if i was decribing that event and many i know would be fairly similar too so i think you're talking rubbish to be honest.
    You use the word begorrah?
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    You use the word begorrah?
    Read my post again,i said the original bit quoted in the indo. If you weren't in such a hurry to be a smart arse you would have seen that.

Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    The original bit the indo quoted would be almost identical to how i'd put it if i was decribing that event.
    ".....Me heart! Where's me tablets?? And the shouts of the Pats crowd, you'd think they'd won."

http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    ".....Me heart! Where's me tablets?? And the shouts of the Pats crowd, you'd think they'd won."

Biggest error there was that it should read "you'd think they'd won the league, cup, champions league , world cup and grand national..."

Yeah, we were wrong to celebrate a player missing a penalty in the last minute of a cup semi final. Granted your not used to hearing crowds over 1,500 in Drogheeda but still

League gets no coverage in the media and people give out. League gets coverage in the media and people give out.

That quote was funny and an exact description of how I felt when he hit the post.

If we got rid of the crap about going for scoops after the match then the reports would do a lot of good.

If you want to whinge about reports read this piece of bitter crap from the national broadcaster. The Pats report on their website was very fair and balanced unlike this nonsense.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2007/0423/drogheda.html

"Scarcely deserved penalty for a tame tackle" as against "a rash challenge".

"Pats dominated for the entire 90 minutes" as against "Drogs came out in the second half and took a hold of the game."

Our stuff is unusual, a bit annoying but in fairness he does report it accurately. Am I the only one who thinks it shows a positive slant in the league? A quirky comment about a penalty. Almost as funny as Rico being ridden rock solid and no Cork fans had a problem with that. Rico was a hero for saying what was needed and the rest of us got a good laugh.

Lighten up everyone, compared to some of the stuff reported in the media last week this is positive publicity
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week