Thread: Rovers ban 'Webb incident' supporter

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    This has happened at other clubs but without the media fanfare.

The only other time I heard of anything as bad as this was Bohs fans on Conor O'Dowd (worse as there were enough of them). Are you saying its happened elsewhere?

Good news. I am a bit surprised that it was only one "supporter" that caused all this (although one is more then enough if you're on the receiving end) but if that's the case and it has been dealt with then that's that.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    The only other time I heard of anything as bad as this was Bohs fans on Conor O'Dowd (worse as there were enough of them). Are you saying its happened elsewhere?
    Yes. Was mentioned here a while back. Was a song about an individual not connected to the EL.

Really? It was only one Rovers fan? You'd imagine the decent Rovers fans would have shut him up the second he started saved a years worth of bad publicity.........

That is the 5th banning so far this week but I can't see how it will be enforced. Anyone who is banned could easily make their way into a ground IMO. Fair play to Rovers btw
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    What is his name??What does he look like??Have the Gardai been notified??
    What?

No laws were broken FFS. And yes, it was only one fan. (I was able to guess the individual's identity when I heard about it.)

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    What?

No laws were broken FFS. And yes, it was only one fan. (I was able to guess the individual's identity when I heard about it.)

well if his a known di**head to the rovers fans it should be the same for everyone else,name and shame

101 Posts
    Fair play.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    And yes, it was only one fan. (I was able to guess the individual's identity when I heard about it.)
    Why wasn't he told in the strongest possible terms to shut the fcuk up the second he started??

Is he some kind of super-villian??

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Yes. Was mentioned here a while back. Was a song about an individual not connected to the EL.
    Well then its not the same

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by see's it View Post
    well if his a known di**head to the rovers fans it should be the same for everyone else,name and shame
    We dealt with this in the correct manner... to name the individual publicly would (1) Leave us open to to a potential legal action by said individual , which we'd win however it could easily cost us a substantial amount in legal fees and would also "prolong" the incident and might even involve Simon Webb having to be called as a wittness to give evidence , which IMO would be intolerable for him and hugely upsetting. (2) By putting the name in the public domain, it would leave that individual (disgusting/wrong as his actions were) open to a risk of violence from the "vigilante/hanging brigade.

So IMO we've done as much as we could and in a reasoned manner.Not that we take any kudos from our response to this incident but it does show that the people now running Rovers always act in the most professional manner possible and more importantly on this occasion in a sensitive manner to ensure that we did our upmost to mitigate the upset caused to Simon webb and his family.

Does anyone know exactly what was said to Webb? And what was to Doolin about his daughter? Were they chants or just repeated shouting/abuse?

Quote Originally Posted by qutus View Post
    Does anyone know exactly what was said to Webb? And what was to Doolin about his daughter? Were they chants or just repeated shouting/abuse?

who cares what was said to doolin about his ****in daughter

Fingal hoop - Do you not see a link between the 2? Doolin most likely was peeved at the abuse he was getting about his daughter and when Webb told him of the abuse he was getting so he went to the press with it - I do not blame him though, I would have done the same. I am not condoning the attack on Webb or Doolin. Neither of them deserved what they got but I would like to know what said to both and understand the facts. I was not there but would like to form an opinion of whole thing with all the facts. So if you help me out I would appreciate it.

What are the legalities of banning people from eL grounds? Is it the same as a nite club where the management refuse the right to entry I heard a few times (don't know if it is true) that only a judge has the right to ban a person from a certain location ?
    Who Cares?!

Nothing worng about the abuse Doolin received. Boo ****ing hoo if he gets upset about that. If he tried to say it was the same as the abuse at Webb, he's an idiot.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Did you read the posts or just those little bits?

Yes, I did read the posts.

The point being that today, 2 weeks, 1 year, 2 years, 5 years time, when people want to have a go at us, the incident will continue to be brought up, both here, and in the media. No matter what we do, some people will never accept that it has been dealt with fully, and in a professional manner.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

There's CCTV inside Tolka now?

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post

Yes, I did read the posts.

The point being that today, 2 weeks, 1 year, 2 years, 5 years time, when people want to have a go at us, the incident will continue to be brought up, both here, and in the media. No matter what we do, some people will never accept that it has been dealt with fully, and in a professional manner.
    so why edit it, nobodys saying your not doing anything
    the opposite most people are applauding your(clubs) actions

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans View Post
    There's CCTV inside Tolka now?
    Yup, two cameras on the New Stand, the ones which you can't see where they're facing. I heard both clubs went halves on this but don't know if that is true, maybe some of the Rovers lads can clarify this. Shels seem to be cracking down on this as there were easily 15-20 guards on duty at the Monaghan game
    Who Cares?!