View Poll Results: What party to you intend to vote for (1st preference vote )

Voters
107. You may not vote on this poll
  • Fianna Fáil

27 25.23%
  • Fine Gael

17 15.89%
  • Labour Party

18 16.82%
  • Sinn Féin

14 13.08%
  • Green Party

15 14.02%
  • Progressive Democrats

1 0.93%
  • Socialist Party

7 6.54%
  • Independent

1 0.93%
  • Undecided

7 6.54%
Page 5 of 20 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Election 2007

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Is he trying to disenfranchise the Manchester vote as they'll all be in Greece?
    God no. The postals from Manchester are way too lucrative

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post

I've already decided to make complaints to the Gardaí and the DoE about every poster that doesn't come down on time this year.

I think you have 7 days to take them down afterwards if my memory serves me correct. Problem is though the likes of FF, FG, SF and Labour can afford the fines so they are not too bothered. We on the other hand rush around to get them down as we can't afford the fines. Maybe there should be bigger fines. Actually I'd love to see them banned or at least the situation you have in Scotland where they only put up really small posters with no mugshots.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Any notice a the FF "presidential" style posters? Pic of Bertie under the term "Bertie's Team" and then the names of local candidates. Now I can't stand Bertie so I'm biased but I didn't he'd be popular enough for this to work. SF have done it in the past with wee Gerry (and are doing it at the moment) but I can see their point

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Any notice a the FF "presidential" style posters? Pic of Bertie under the term "Bertie's Team" and then the names of local candidates.
    Not as many as I was expecting to see this morning. Could backfire if the Tribunal stuff kicks off again. PD posters awful, bar the obvious fact they're a right wing t**ts. So airbrushed they don't even look real - took me a while to confirm that it actually was a Liz O'Donnell poster on the Belfield flyover.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Could backfire if the Tribunal stuff kicks off again.
    Not to mention fears over the property market and the wider economy.

Probably the worst possible time to hold an election at any time over the last 5 years.

Although I can't say I'm too impressed by the alternative rainbow coalition either.

But on a positive note, it would appear that the days of the PDs being in Government are all but gone.

Any notice a the FF "presidential" style posters? Pic of Bertie under the term "Bertie's Team" and then the names of local candidates. Now I can't stand Bertie so I'm biased but I didn't he'd be popular enough for this to work.
    FF are clearly using Berties popularity (even if it has fallen) as a tactic. The names under those posters are so small they barely noticable.

501 Posts
    D'ya know what I think is funny? The Fianna Failure voters never have the balls to explain why they vote(d) FF, or even admit that they do/did it. God help us if the poll here is in any way representative of reality.

Ah well, at least it gives me the opportunity to weed out a few dupe accounts. Vote early, vote often, eh Fianna Failers? Gotcha!

Last edited by dahamsta; 30/04/2007 at 10:52 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    FF are clearly using Berties popularity (even if it has fallen) as a tactic. The names under those posters are so small they barely noticable.
    The posters with him grinning like a tit in the company of his delighted electorate are priceless. Photoshop Fás course ahoy.

Here in Limerick several of the Fianna Failers have posters with bright blue sky (approx 25% cloud cover maybe) backgrounds and I swear they look like Al-Quieda.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

SF posters are always green. I half expect the candidates to be wearing green clothes & hats. Its ok i get the Nationalist thing but they could tone down the green.

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    I've never put a mark in a box next to Fianna Fáil or Sinn Féin and won't be breaking the habit of a lifetime this time 'round either.
    You and me both bud.

Noticed a few things about FG posters at lunch time. Different subject matter in different colours. Hospital beds - Red, obviously going for the left vote, Money well spent - Green, obviously to draw the attention of FFers, policing dark blue trying to win over a few McDowellites.
    Another thing is the pictures of Kenny are so airbrushed he looks like Bush.
    Also was walking down by Smithfield and Bertie going by in his Merc has the audacity to give me a big smile and a wave as if I'm his buddy.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Also was walking down by Smithfield and Bertie going by in his Merc has the audacity to give me a big smile and a wave as if I'm his buddy.
    Hope you replied with the finger.

Sorry to say I didn't. By the time the shocl had worn off he was gone.

mahon tribunal ppostponed until after the election. Now there's a surprise...

Even the feckin tribunals are corrupt in this country.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    D'ya know what I think is funny? The Fianna Failure voters never have the balls to explain why they vote(d) FF, or even admit that they do/did it.
    Simple really. Their father did, their father's father did and their father's father's father did and by God their son will vote Fianna Fail too.

Some people are just that way - thick I suppose you'd say.

74 Posts
    I'll be voting FF and I've no problem saying it. Labour and the Shinners will get votes off me too. No Blueshirts or PDs or crazy lefty/right wing nut will ever get my vote.

And by my reckoning I'll be a 'winner' in this election - Bertie back but with Labour to keep an eye on him rather than McDowell. Jobs a good 'un.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

82 Posts
    I'd love to see the Greens as junior partners in Government but I'm not sure that having FG in there with them is worth it.

501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Sorry to say I didn't. By the time the shocl had worn off he was gone.
    The only shock you should experience when you see the Gombeen Man is that he's not in jail. Keep the finger on a hair trigger.

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    I'll be voting FF and I've no problem saying it. Labour and the Shinners will get votes off me too. No Blueshirts or PDs or crazy lefty/right wing nut will ever get my vote.
    That's a contradiction if ever I read one. Not voting for any crazy left wingers and you're voting for Sinn Fein.

Page 5 of 20 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast