View Poll Results: What party to you intend to vote for (1st preference vote )

Voters
107. You may not vote on this poll
  • Fianna Fáil

27 25.23%
  • Fine Gael

17 15.89%
  • Labour Party

18 16.82%
  • Sinn Féin

14 13.08%
  • Green Party

15 14.02%
  • Progressive Democrats

1 0.93%
  • Socialist Party

7 6.54%
  • Independent

1 0.93%
  • Undecided

7 6.54%
Page 4 of 20 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Election 2007

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Well they attach themselves to some noble causes. Environmental responsilities, renewable energy, etc etc. The long term goals that have come to the fore, and people think of them as "experts" on. Thats grand, but then you have to examine their actual local politics. Things like showing up supporting people whenever they feel like protesting against a new road so they might get a better compo deal..
    Not familiar with the ins and outs of the Lee Fields situation but if they're to be attacked for Local Politics so should the Fianna Fail and Fine Gael candidates here in Limerick East whose literature confirms their outright OPPOSITION to the introduction of bus lanes and Cycle lanes here in Limerick for fears these lanes might impinge on the on-road parking rights of some of Limericks wealthiest citizens. No problem sticking clearways outside the homes of the less well heeled who don't have off-road parking or rear access but we'll not be having that carry-on on the millionaire mile of the Ennis Road and South Circular. Feck everyone elses needs.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Woah - so they give people what they want? Thats dangerously close to democracy.
    ...in it's crudest form perhaps but you don't challenge that it's devoid of leadership. Besides which you can't keep on doing it forever. Oops here comes that "sustainability" word.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

85 Posts
    They would set it during my college exams...
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    They would set it during my college exams...
    ... and on a thursday. can't have them ideallistic studenty types getting home and voting now ...they mightn't vote the way needed.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Election set for 24th May.
    Bertie must think Milan will get through on Wednesday. (CL final is on 23rd)

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    tut tut ConorH, you wont be voting for the president of Galway United ?????
    Not No.1 anyway..perhaps No.2

On a side note can anyone elaborate on the ethos/aims of the Socialist Party.

They appear to be very much a shadow party...
    Last edited by Conor H; 29/04/2007 at 3:07 PM.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Bertie must think Milan will get through on Wednesday. (CL final is on 23rd)
    Is he trying to disenfranchise the Manchester vote as they'll all be in Greece?

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    ... and on a thursday. can't have them ideallistic studenty types getting home and voting now ...they mightn't vote the way needed.
    Actually we are at home to Shels that day so I will be going home for that anyway so I will be able to vote. Elections really should be on a Saturday though.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post

They appear to be very much a shadow party...
    How do you mean?

http://www.socialistparty.net
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Its ok voting for the Socialist Party based on local issues (maybe better to vote for in local elections) but seems pointless on a National basis as they will never get a chance to implement their policies. I notice there is no mention of tax policy in the website linked above I presume because of required tax rise.

The parties haven't wasted much time in putting up their election posters as the lamp-posts are already covered with them. How many people vote for someone because they recognise their poster?

500 Posts
    Probably way too many pete. The Big Brother and Most Haunted watchers that actually vote, for a start.

There's a Micky Martin poster at the end of the Ballinlough Road, and some wag drew a beard and moustache on it, and "I AM GAY" on his forehead. It shouldn't be funny, but I couldn't help chortling to myself.

Noel O'Flynn, TD (FF) has helpfully added his mug to a pole at near the end of a hill in blackpool (cork). Only, he (or his lackies) put it at just the right height so that coming down the hill you can no longer see the traffic lights until the last moment.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Its ok voting for the Socialist Party based on local issues (maybe better to vote for in local elections) but seems pointless on a National basis as they will never get a chance to implement their policies. I notice there is no mention of tax policy in the website linked above I presume because of required tax rise.
    On the contrary Pete, its pointless to vote for most of the other parties because regardless of who gets in they'll still be implementing the same neo-liberal policies. If you want those policies fair enough but if you want change, then vote for change. Having a stronger more militant opposition in the dail would be a start to building a broader movement on a national level. As Eugene V. Debbs once said, "I'd rather vote for something I want and not get it than vote for something I don't want and get it".

On how to pay for stuff, I've gone into that in some depth elsewhere.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

glad to see the way the PD's are going here anyway !!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    the Labour and FF candidates in my area sending four page leaflets through the door pimping their environmental policies.
    I hope the irony of that isn't lost on you!

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    The Greens are a bit flaky but one policy i agree with is:
    Reform – in a revenue neutral manner – VRT and motor tax systems so that taxes reflect the level of emissions from a vehicle
    Me too. It's very simple too, abolish VRT and motor tax and raise the price of petrol to cover the tax income. Hey presto, cars with low fuel efficiency pay more and cars with fuel efficiency pay less. Some tweaks to avoid destroying haulage companies may be required but it can't be that complicated.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    I hope the irony of that isn't lost on you!
    Not at all. The thought goes through my mind everytime in fact, but sure what else can you do?

BP, I did note that the Greens would drift towards mainstream as they grew in stature, it doesn't mean their very existence doesn't force parties to be more environmentally minded than they otherwise would be.

82 Posts
    Small point but I supposive indicative of the cronyism and wink and a nod nature of the current Goverment.

The erection (ooh err matron) of election posters is strictly controlled pre-election declaration (and effectively banned from most public places until an election is declared I understand?). I also understand the setting of an election date is solely the perogative of the Taoiseach and should not be disclosed until the President is notified requesting dissolution of the Dail.

I had reason to be driving down the Stillorgan dual carriageway at an ungodly hour this morning, before Bertie had even left Drumcondra to go to the Phoenix Park, and lo and behold, whose elections posters had been put up overnight in prime position, only FF and the PDs.

As I said, small point but indicative of the incumbents general approach to bothersome rules that they think they can get away with.

500 Posts
    The election posters for at least one tosser - sorry, 'hopeful' - have been out for a week or two in Cork East. They're supposed to take them down immediately after the election too.

I've already decided to make complaints to the Gardaí and the DoE about every poster that doesn't come down on time this year.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    The election posters for at least one tosser - sorry, 'hopeful' - have been out for a week or two in Cork East. They're supposed to take them down immediately after the election too.

I've already decided to make complaints to the Gardaí and the DoE about every poster that doesn't come down on time this year.

Good idea.

The Council are quick to tell us to take GUFC match posters down-but it was only around xmas time the last of the Election posters were coming down.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

38 Posts
    The Shinners were out plastering their mug's vacant mug all over Glasnevin Avenue within thirty minutes of the election being called.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Michael Ring will be getting my no.1. The people of Westport will be giving the Dail a Ring!!
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Page 4 of 20 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast