Thread: Dungannon Swifts v Linfield

Dungannon Swifts v Linfield

So there is the Cup Final teams confirmed. It'll be live on the BBC on the 5th May and apparantly there's a 2:45 KO

Quote Originally Posted by SwiftsSupporter View Post
    So there is the Cup Final teams confirmed. It'll be live on the BBC on the 5th May and apparantly there's a 2:45 KO
    Hopefully I have no match that day so I can give it a watch.
    Who Cares?!

Does this mean the Swifts are back in Setanta next year?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Does this mean the Swifts are back in Setanta next year?
    We're not sure but it does mean UEFA Cup

I think they will be in the Setanta again as well.

I'm looking forward the the Irish Cup final big time. I think the atmosphere will be great and what the Irish League will be looking for in promoting a family orientated product.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

231 Posts
    What sort of a crowd are ye expecting lads ?
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    What sort of a crowd are ye expecting lads ?

Would say in the region of 9-10000.

So that's Linfield, Glentoran and Dungannon in the Setanta. Who gets the final place? Cliftonville? Or did someone outside these 4 win the League Cup?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

That's it. The IC is the last thing to play for up here so it's top 3 and us.

It'll be good to see a new team enter the competition. Maybe el fans will stop slagging yez after Ports got thrashed.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Portadown getting hammered are a disgrace to themselves and no one else... I think the Swifts gave a good account of themselves, and obviously we just beat Cork to reach the final. I think the Glentoran supporters will demand more from their team in the competition next year, especially if we beat Drogheda again.

Cliftonville are a good footballing side, and I have no doubt they will hold their own as well.. they can be inconsistant though.

Quote Originally Posted by SwiftsSupporter View Post
    I'd like to see Dungannon win actually. I fancy them for a shock.

Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    Would say in the region of 9-10000.
    Looked to be about 9000 there, be generous and say 2000 Dungannon.

Official attendance will probably be put at 5000

Bloody typical of Linfield though, miss their first two penalties and still win the cup

Dungannon put up a brave fight, but I doubt that'll be much consolation for them.

57 Posts
    I would have given MOTM to Nelson in the Swifts goal regardless of who won it.

And thank god that useless Brazilian is off at the end of this season
    Kom Igen, FCK...

43 Posts
    Did Linfield fans run on the pitch and taunt the swifts supporters at the end? Looked like it on Tv. Nelson had some game. The commentating was sickenly biased towards Linfield, very hard to listen to.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Linfield 'fans' did run onto the pitch. They should be ashamed of themselves for that as I said on ILF.

Entertaining game overall. Very good first half, but second half was nowhere near as watchable.

You have to feel sorry for Dungannon. Winning would've meant more to them, as they haven't won anything important before.

Linfield fans/kids did run over to the Dungannon fans en route to being booed off the pitch by their own fans when the tannoy said 'no presentation till yees get off the pitch ! There was also the usual sectarian singing during the game.

The commentary on BBC was woeful. Sounded like 2 aul' culchies talking to each other in a pub. Seriously amateurish stuff.

TV said they were expecting about 9,000 at it.

A decent ad for the Irish League overall though. Don't forget - Welsh version is on today (Sunday) at 4pm on S4C (Channel 135 on ROI Sky). Should be easier to listen to commentary in Cymraeg than those 2 hallions on the BBC....

It was a good game, and the Dungannon keeper played a blinder.. as for the 'one game a year' brigade.. well we booed them off ourselves, and they were under no illusion what we thought of them. As for the attendance.. for tax purposes we will say that there were 5000... though it wasn't 'our' gate, as it was the final.

When it went to penalties, I was dreading it.. we have had a nightmare this last couple of seasons with them, and when the first two were saved.. lets just say the nails are well gone.
    Shelbourne FC Longford Town FC Drogheda United FC Glentoran FC Derry City FC Cork City FC

All fallen beneath the Linfield Sword
    Audaces Fortuna Juvat

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post

You have to feel sorry for Dungannon. Winning would've meant more to them, as they haven't won anything important before.
    I seriously doubt it. I've been watching Linfield win things for a few decades now and the feeling is getting better every year. Even more so with the Irish Cup, we haven't won it enough in the last 20 years.

see what it means at www.southstandsays.co.uk/gallery
    Hatchets and Hammers