Thread: Drogs website makes the press

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Yeah, we were wrong to celebrate a player missing a penalty in the last minute of a cup semi final. Granted your not used to hearing crowds over 1,500 in Drogheeda but still
    Exactly, excuse us for caring.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    If you want to whinge about reports read this piece of bitter crap from the national broadcaster. The Pats report on their website was very fair and balanced unlike this nonsense.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2007/0423/drogheda.html

"Scarcely deserved penalty for a tame tackle" as against "a rash challenge".

"Pats dominated for the entire 90 minutes" as against "Drogs came out in the second half and took a hold of the game."
    The RTE reports are quite obviously written by a journalist or someone associated with one team or the other (usually the home team) and so are obviously biased as a result .

The point he was making was that the Pats reports were fair and unbiased as opposed to the RTE report.

The Drogheda looks and sounds amatuerish IMO. Some think its OK, some don't. Its not a big deal. I just posted it here to highlight this is the only type of coverage the Indo will give the league.

The Drogs website is a running joke. A lot of Drogs fans here said they were embarished about it previously.

If it was posted here would result in Infraction yet that is an official website. They guy who posts it must be about 12 surely?

I know they eL were aware of it last season but seems they did not bother doing anything.

Official websites are the first place that european opponents look so can only imagine what they think. Drogs might be professional on the pitch but clearly a lot to learn off the pitch.

Last edited by pete; 25/04/2007 at 4:10 PM.

I know what point he was making, I was just pointing out that the RTE reports are biased for many games and why

There must be little else going on if this is what people are giving out about. There are plenty of match reports out there about this game done in a serious manner whats the harm with having a bit of a jokey one on the website. Most match reports on teams websites are biased anyways so whats the harm in having an irreverent one on the Drogheda website. The rest of the website is perfectly normal as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Ceirtlis View Post
    There must be little else going on if this is what people are giving out about. There are plenty of match reports out there about this game done in a serious manner whats the harm with having a bit of a jokey one on the website. Most match reports on teams websites are biased anyways so whats the harm in having an irreverent one on the Drogheda website. The rest of the website is perfectly normal as well.
    So why not allow Derry 'irreverent' content on their website?

Why not allow Pat Scully make an 'irreverent' comment on tv3?

The rules have to be applied evenly

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OhNoYouDidn't
    Its the official site, and like it or not rules were introduced about what goes into official content.

yet again the inconsistent interpretation of the rules.
    The dictators must be taking over, if there are rules for describing last-minute penalty misses in semi-finals.

He put the ball on the spot....The players were ushered out of the box...the ref blew his whistle...Byrne stepped up...he hit the post...and the ball was cleared away.

See how boring that Ann & Barry report is.

The people who write reports on club websites are fans and will write it understandably, from a fans point of view. I did it for 2 years on the Premier Review. If you want a bland and balanced report, watch the news, or buy a paper. Don't expect it on a website.
    Last edited by mypost; 25/04/2007 at 4:53 PM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by OhNoYouDidn't View Post
    So why not allow Derry 'irreverent' content on their website?

Why not allow Pat Scully make an 'irreverent' comment on tv3?

The rules have to be applied evenly
    I didnt agree with punishments for either of these "offences" but you know that the Drogheda thing is not the same. The reason there was punishments handed out here is because of public criticism of the FAI.

Rovers 0 Drogs 2

I know we're top of the table but I'm not getting carried away, no time to celebrate (well not too much, just the usual slobbery session in the Widdas, shoot some pool in Barneys, a few cans of dutch gold down the glen tomorrow afternoon if the weather's good). Remember we hafta be ready for Monda !
    Drogs 3 Sligo 0

And as we progress into the magic season of two thousand and seven we ax ourselves........what is the stars and other very deep question that can only be answered over a long session with jugs on board............Jaysus is that the time ??? and here was me rapsodizin' and losin' track of time..... the boys is expectin' me down in the Widda's .... must fly... se yiz Tuesda ...
    Comical stuff. I suppose the FAI can't fine them as they can't translate.

From "Inn off the post" from the Indo

'Up steps Stewie and places the ball on the spot and jaysus doesn't he hit the post and the ball rebounds to safety! Me heart! Where's me tablets?? And the shouts of the Pats crowd, you'd think they'd won.' - Drogheda United's official website's unique description of Stuart Byrne's missed penalty in Monday's Setanta Cup win over St Patrick's Athletic.

How embarressing...

Wonder is that more damaging to the league than the comments of Maribor Kev on the Derry site (and BTW that example is one of the least excruciating)
    Reads like a fun fan piece to me, TBH, although a Drogs stream of consciousness does present its challenges!

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Give the guy a fanzine or something.
    If a fanzine had that sort of writing, I'd be asking for my money back.

Yeah, we were wrong to celebrate a player missing a penalty in the last minute of a cup semi final. Granted your not used to hearing crowds over 1,500 in Drogheeda but still
    Weve had consistently more than 1500 so far this season , and it was the only time we could hear you was when byrne missed the penalty .

and again, after the Corkies complained

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independe...issue_id=15575

FOLLOWING our reference to Drogheda's website last week, we were contacted by irate Cork fans who expressed their disgust at the site's match reports.

No doubt, they read the summary of Friday's 2-2 draw between the sides with great interest particularly the description of Sami Ristila's equaliser.

"Wait til I tell yiz how it happened, y'see, Zayed was pressing the Cork defence . . . closed down Devine . . . and Devine's clearance cannoned off Eamon . . . and there was the brilliant Sami to head home. As they say in Collon, it beh all!"

We await further correspondence.

"Wait til I tell yiz how it happened, y'see, Zayed was pressing the Cork defence . . . closed down Devine . . . and Devine's clearance cannoned off Eamon . . . and there was the brilliant Sami to head home. As they say in Collon, it beh all!"
    Seems to be a sort of hybrid Dublin-Drogs language? Got Drog native at work & he does not speak like that. Maybe he would be able to translate...

As i have said countless times thats fine for posting on a Drogs forum (would lead to infraction) here but its pitiful on official website.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    As i have said countless times thats fine for posting on a Drogs forum (would lead to infraction) here but its pitiful on official website.
    And yet you don't believe that Joe Gamble did anything wrong with his rant the other night .................
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

And yet you don't believe that Joe Gamble did anything wrong with his rant the other night .................
    How is an official website report in some sort of gibberish language the same as a post match interview? (btw i have not heard that interview)

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=59547&page=3

How is an official website report in some sort of gibberish language the same as a post match interview? (btw i have not heard that interview)
    You heard the quotes he made and see no issue. BTW how do you know he spoke the truth if you didn't hear the interview

am only going on the quotes but I don't think Joe Gamble has insulted anyone as he spoke the truth & its hard to disagree with him:
    So our match reports are pitiful becase they are on an official website (agree there), but Gamble saying that Cork molested Linfield, Linfield do not deserve to be in the final, most EL teams would beat them, is not saying anything wrong never mind insulting anyone?(Do not agree there).

Pete you are as consistent as an EL referee in this debate.

Anyway thanks for beating Pats - back on top tomorrow
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

You heard the quotes he made and see no issue. BTW how do you know he spoke the truth if you didn't hear the interview
    I was at the game so could see more than tv viewer how much we dominated.

So our match reports are pitiful becase they are on an official website (agree there), but Gamble saying that Cork molested Linfield, Linfield do not deserve to be in the final, most EL teams would beat them, is not saying anything wrong never mind insulting anyone?(Do not agree there).
    Obviously Linfield won't be removed from the final but it is possible for teams to be in finals & win things without deserving it. I thought Linfield were fairly ok team until saw them live where we stopped them from playing. Drogs will beat them in the final easily.