Thread: Cork Game

Cork Game

Big game on friday. really really really really really need a good performance and a result. need to defend properly for once - for those who werent at the bohs cup game ur lucky, schoolboys would score against our defence.

Ant team news? how is clive?

Anyone interested we'l prob be going to the hibo before the match for a few drinks
    DEVO: 'we want to challenge for the league next season' - speaking at the player of the year awards nite 2005. boy was he so far wrong!!

saw cork twice this season hate to say it but i don't think we have a chance a point would be a great result, some of our players are not interested

24 Posts
    The first 3 games of the season were good but since then the spark has gone out of the team. We are defending like we did last season and are short of quality up front. Franco not been fully fit has had it's effect.

Not looking forward to this game. Imho, a clean sheet would be an achievment.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

well lads id say we wer worse last season and cork came to de carlsile twice an dey only got a point so its not all bad have to say tho i cant see us winin........

Will be tough, But ill be in the pub with ye
    www.braywanderers.ie (Club)
    www.braywanderers.com (supporters club)
    Sharks are as tough as those football fans who take their shirts off during games in England in January, only more intelligent.

Bout time we got a peno!!

It's so great to get that peno when we had two blatant ones turned down. I really felt we didn't deserve to get beat tonight. Good performance in the second half from the lads. I think the peno being over-turned just spurned them on. Well done.
    Extratime.ie

thought we dominated today shud hav taken our chances wer still missin dat bita extra quality up front.........ref was unbelievable but wer too gud to be goin off blamin de ref for not gettin results work rate from all players was very good bring on galway........

Its as good as a loss for City, losing Bray Waderers is never going to be good. Serious questions need to be asked now, what are we doing if they cant even break down Bray for god sake. We could blame the ref for sorting them out with a peno, but the short of it is, its a brutal result.

When you hit this low, then the only way is up, if thats any consolation

60 Posts
    It was hilarious watching Rico, jumping up and down with rage, big purple head on him- he made straight for the ref after the game but the ref wasn't to blame for the fact that Cork were sh1te. Wanderers were on top for most of the game and fully deserved the point. I still think we have problems up front, Delaney was our main threat on goal last night. Great performance by the team though.

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Its as good as a loss for City, losing Bray Waderers is never going to be good. Serious questions need to be asked now, what are we doing if they cant even break down Bray for god sake. We could blame the ref for sorting them out with a peno, but the short of it is, its a brutal result.

When you hit this low, then the only way is up, if thats any consolation
    Break us down? jesus you only managed 2 shots on target all night ! Bray didnt allow Cork to settle on the ball, they had a 10/15 minute spell but other than that we were the better side. We made Cork look very average and more than deserved to take something out of the game.

The decisions that went against us were just fcuking terrible ! we shod have had at least another 3 penos in the 2nd hald for handballs in the area and hittinng the post in either halfd as well. A draw was a great result for Cork considering..... Even little things like yellow cards went against us, Cawley gets booked for remenstrating with the lino when it went out off a Cork player, Devine gets nothing for going absolutelu ballastic twice at the ref. Cork defender should also have been sent off for handling Delaneys shot that lead to the peno. Bray will never get big calls against so called big clubs like Cork.

Referee called a penalty for handball but linesman set him straight because he was in a better position. A good referee would have blown the whistle for handball & waited a few seconds to get the nod from linesman whether the man was inside the box or not. Incidently this occured when City player was lying injured on the ground & your players refused to kick the ball out. The exact same thing happened a few minutes earlier & City kicked the ball out of play for Injured Bray player.

If a player walks up the to the linesman shouting in his face for 30-60 seconds he deserves to be booked.

I don't know where you saw 3 penalties for Bray as ye never got into our box.

"so called big club?" Relative to Bray we are a big club. Relative to Barcelona we are not.

(See - its easy to debate without insulting people)

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Incidently this occured when City player was lying injured on the ground & your players refused to kick the ball out. The exact same thing happened a few minutes earlier & City kicked the ball out of play for Injured Bray player.
    The laws state it's up to the ref to blow if he thinks the injury is severe enough. I personally detest it when ANY player puts the ball out in these situations. Play to the whistle and the rules, that's what Bray did. I personally would have no problem if Cork played on. I KNOW what the rule is, unlike the majority of football fans & players.

If a player walks up the to the linesman shouting in his face for 30-60 seconds he deserves to be booked.
    But when three or four players surround him stopping the game for a full two minutes it's quite alright, is it?

I don't know where you saw 3 penalties for Bray as ye never got into our box.
    I admit from your ****e position yez probably didn't see but I counted two blatant penos. The one that was overturned was clearly IN THE BOX. There was another handball when a Cork player clearly put his hand out to block the ball in the box. The peno that was given was given for a handball by Softic, not for a foul on Delaney like a lot of people thought, though in all honesty I didn't see it.

I personally feel it was an even game and a draw was a fair result. Neither team was better then the other, imo.
    Extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    I admit from your ****e position yez probably didn't see but I counted two blatant penos. The one that was overturned was clearly IN THE BOX.
    admittedly I wasn't at the game, but the commentators on the radio were fairly insistant that the linesman got it spot on and commended him for stopping the ref where often the linesmen in ireland wouldn't make that call. I'd imagine the commentator was in a good position.
    The laws state it's up to the ref to blow if he thinks the injury is severe enough. I personally detest it when ANY player puts the ball out in these situations. Play to the whistle and the rules, that's what Bray did. I personally would have no problem if Cork played on. I KNOW what the rule is, unlike the majority of football fans & players.
    Congrats on being so superior. You'd fit in down here. Meanwhile, most people know the rules and have some manner of decency in a game which is all too often bereft of such.
    But when three or four players surround him stopping the game for a full two minutes it's quite alright, is it?
    i know it feels like a long time when you're desperate to ge ton with something, but "a full two minutes" is a ridiculous claim.
    Last edited by GavinZac; 21/04/2007 at 2:45 PM.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    admittedly I wasn't at the game, but the commentators on the radio were fairly insistant that the linesman got it spot on and commended him for stopping the ref where often the linesmen in ireland wouldn't make that call. I'd imagine the commentator was in a good position.
    The commentary position is on the other side of the ground. They would've been looking through a sea of players, and seen as there's only one telly camera that is right above them, any replay would be an almost identical view. I'm adamant it was a peno cos where the ref put the free kick was definitely a bit away from where the handball took place.
    Extratime.ie

Congrats on being so superior. You'd fit in down here. Meanwhile, most people know the rules and have some manner of decency in a game which is all too often bereft of such.
    That is the FIFA rule. Like it or lump it. Blame Sepp Blatter if you want.

i know it feels like a long time when you're desperate to ge ton with something, but "a full two minutes" is a ridiculous claim.
    It was definitely two minutes and according to the Irish Times it was two minutes too. Conicidence?
    Extratime.ie

That is the FIFA rule. Like it or lump it. Blame Sepp Blatter if you want.
    don't get me started on FIFA
    It was definitely two minutes and according to the Irish Times it was two minutes too. Conicidence?
    indeed, if "definately" and "the irish Times" are the coinciding sources.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

don't get me started on FIFA
    Well you've no one else to blame. The rule is if a player goes down, the ref can blow up if he thinks it's serious enough to warrant treatment. Until then you play on. It mightn't be fair play but the Bray players did nothing wrong. They didn't cheat in anyway.
    Extratime.ie

Well you've no one else to blame. The rule is if a player goes down, the ref can blow up if he thinks it's serious enough to warrant treatment. Until then you play on. It mightn't be fair play but the Bray players did nothing wrong. They didn't cheat in anyway.
    No one said they cheated. However, playing by the book and playing modicum of decency are different things - ask a certain Shamrock Rovers player.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

No one said they cheated. However, playing by the book and playing modicum of decency are different things - ask a certain Shamrock Rovers player.
    I don't care about Rovers. It never annoys me when players play on, as the rule states. What does annoy me is this whole decency bullcrap. It's a man's game, they should expect a knock or two. If the other team are so worried about their player, they can win the ball back and put it out. Why should ANY team give up an advantageous position?
    Extratime.ie