Thread: Limerick 37 v Dundalk

Limerick 37 v Dundalk

Jaysus lads this forum has gone weird. Monday mornign after a top of the table clash on Friday and nobody has mentiobned it yet. Any chance of a few opinions?

Can't believe anyone needs to ask that question here!
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I thought it was a gutsy performance, but lacking in key areas. Firstly, and this is not a playing fault, but a huge contributor to some of the poor play by both sides, the pitch! Every time there was a back pass to either keeper then your heart was in your mouth.

The referee wasn't great. He was very whistle happy, and gave some very dodgy frees to Dundalk. Having said that, his failure to see Nigel Keadys blatant handball from a Dundalk corner near the end of the game was unbelieveable.

Why did he take Joey Maloney off? I thought he was doing fine, was good and busy and was worrying the Dundalk defence.

Chucka. He seems to be struggling for confidence at the moment. Dundalk targetted him with diagonal balls all day and the goal came down his side. Molan should have been brought in for him earlier I thought.

We are lacking a bit of creativity at the moment. In July I'd love to see Robbie and Moran up front with Carthy playing just behind. Carthy has a great eye for goal, but has proved that he can play in that position effectively, scoring a few and setting a few up as well.

If we scraped a draw out of it, you wouldn't have heard too much moaning from Dundalk. They got away with 3 handy points. Jimmy made some fine saves at the end.

Pitch aside, Jackman seems to be coming along nicely. It certainly isn't a place you'd be ashamed of any more. One suggestion I would make is that there should be ticket sellers at vantage points outside the railway station and up near the CIE club. People are always going to leave it late before going to matches, especially on Friday evenings, so this might help with congestion at the gate...seeing as there is only one gate at the moment.

some1 needs to shake buckley before the next game his way to laid back his taking his time with everything and its getting him into trouble.in saying that it took him afew games to get going last season aswell.with the obvious problems in midfield i think they should put waters into the middle until he gets someone in the transfer window.dundalk were the best team to visit jackman this season so far

My reply to a Dundalk fan in the general forum for you LFCIE

Was pretty entertaining stuff

Your goal was ridiculously poor from our point of view. Basically our left back tucked in to defend a free and our left winger never tracked back leaving your right winger a free run in to square it. Real schoolboy stuff.

Second half we had an awful lot of the ball and an awful lot of territory but never really looked like breaking you down. Could have punished us on the counter attack a couple of times but for some good saves by our keeper.

Having seen everyone bar Shels and Monaghan so far I reckon ye will waltz the division tbh. Some good players and very well drilled. For our part, depending on what happens in July we will be comfortably mid-table, possibly challenging for a play-off IMO.

I didnt think Dundalk were any better than us and certainly didnt deserve the win. A lapse in concentration led to the goal but we definitely had the bulk of the possession, especially in the second half, but lacked that cutting edge up front. Dundalk did have a couple of chances late on but thats just down to leaving 2 or 3 at the back when pushing for an equaliser.

Biggest crowd so far also with over 1500.
    18 times, and that's a fact.

buckley totally at fault for the goal,kevin didnt have to track back cos buckley WAS marking him until he decided to go for a ball he was never going to win

Quote Originally Posted by see's it View Post
    buckley totally at fault for the goal,kevin didnt have to track back cos buckley WAS marking him until he decided to go for a ball he was never going to win
    Have to agree with you entirely.Full back looks after the wide man.In fact he may have even interfered with the Limerick defender who was trying to clear.I think it was Finnucane.A complete rush of blood to the head.
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

some1 needs to shake buckley before the next game his way to laid back his taking his time with everything and its getting him into trouble.in saying that it took him afew games to get going last season aswell.with the obvious problems in midfield i think they should put waters into the middle until he gets someone in the transfer window.dundalk were the best team to visit jackman this season so far
    Thers a bit more to this midfield thing .If both defences keep lobbing the ball at each other over the midfield ,they are left with no option but to hold a position and watch the ball going back and forth over their heads.Alternativelively you sit back in front of your back four in case you might get a pass or run into the attack where you will be lambasted if your man doesnt follow you and you got caught on the break.

The issue is Limerick have to be brave and start playing the ball on the ground to their midfielders from the back as well as throwing the throws inside instead of allways up the line.If the midfielders then dont start passing through balls to the front men then they are at fault.I believe Limerick are good enough to to do this but it takes balls and encouragement from management to get it to happen.

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    Thers a bit more to this midfield thing .If both defences keep lobbing the ball at each other over the midfield ,they are left with no option but to hold a position and watch the ball going back and forth over their heads.Alternativelively you sit back in front of your back four in case you might get a pass or run into the attack where you will be lambasted if your man doesnt follow you and you got caught on the break.

The issue is Limerick have to be brave and start playing the ball on the ground to their midfielders from the back as well as throwing the throws inside instead of allways up the line.If the midfielders then dont start passing through balls to the front men then they are at fault.I believe Limerick are good enough to to do this but it takes balls and encouragement from management to get it to happen.
    Thats a bit harsh on the management, saying they lack balls and encouragement. I think that whenever possible, the ball is played , rather than hoofed. The pitch in Jackman simply isn't conducive to flowing football. The problem lies with the lack of creative talent in the middle of the park. Waters, Maloney, Rossi are all well capable of playing ball out wide and getting in crosses to the front two. There simply isn't anyone there at the moment who can make the killer pass. Thats whats missing, and its no fault of the management or anyone else. There wasn't time to sign one at the start of the season. The transfer window will present that opportunity and with Robbie and Carthy back, I think it will come good.

kevin waters played 3 good passes across field/over the top in the 1st half last friday i think he could do this more often if moved into the middle cos he can spot a killer ball.
    as for sitting in front of your back four,Vaughan had a field day playing with his back to goal he'd loads of time to bring others into it.the 'holding midfielder' needs to cut that out surely

kevin waters played 3 good passes across field/over the top in the 1st half last friday i think he could do this more often if moved into the middle cos he can spot a killer ball.
    as for sitting in front of your back four,Vaughan had a field day playing with his back to goal he'd loads of time to bring others into it.the 'holding midfielder' needs to cut that out surely
    Have to agree with all of that

see's it really does "see it"

46 Posts
    i posted the already twice about buckley that he is a way out of his debt in EL he has been so poor all season everytime he gets the ball he is either caught with the ball or gives it away. against dundalk finally one of his many many mistakes this season were punished. how long more is mcgee going to play him.look at the size of him he must be 6,4 and he was beaten in the air from a guy half his height for the goal...

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Thats a bit harsh on the management, saying they lack balls and encouragement. I think that whenever possible, the ball is played , rather than hoofed. The pitch in Jackman simply isn't conducive to flowing football. The problem lies with the lack of creative talent in the middle of the park. Waters, Maloney, Rossi are all well capable of playing ball out wide and getting in crosses to the front two. There simply isn't anyone there at the moment who can make the killer pass. Thats whats missing, and its no fault of the management or anyone else. There wasn't time to sign one at the start of the season. The transfer window will present that opportunity and with Robbie and Carthy back, I think it will come good.
    This was not meant to be a critisism at all ,more advice.I have seen many ist division games over the years and nearly all clubs use that option of kicking long ball forward.In the heat of each match people get afraid to loose and resort to this,I am saying take the bull by the horns and try and keep it down so that the midfield actually have the ball in an area where,if they are capable, have the opportunity to give a pass that favours the attacker rather than the defender and we might be surprised how successful that approach could be.From what Ive heard the pitch is actually better,and will improve,than most of the other pitches 37 have played on so far.I am fully supportive of Ski and his team because its just so important that Limerick have a serious football team to represent all the people who contribute to all parts of the game in the city and area.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    i posted the already twice about buckley that he is a way out of his debt in EL
    Surely being out of debt is a good thing

Did you watch much of him last season?? Give him a chance patch of bad form and all that

Surely being out of debt is a good thing

Did you watch much of him last season?? Give him a chance patch of bad form and all that
    Exactly, he's a good player, just having a poor start to the season, he'll come good again

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    This was not meant to be a critisism at all ,more advice.I have seen many ist division games over the years and nearly all clubs use that option of kicking long ball forward.In the heat of each match people get afraid to loose and resort to this,I am saying take the bull by the horns and try and keep it down so that the midfield actually have the ball in an area where,if they are capable, have the opportunity to give a pass that favours the attacker rather than the defender and we might be surprised how successful that approach could be.From what Ive heard the pitch is actually better,and will improve,than most of the other pitches 37 have played on so far.I am fully supportive of Ski and his team because its just so important that Limerick have a serious football team to represent all the people who contribute to all parts of the game in the city and area.
    Wall and Hayes are not playing long enough in the EL to grab the bull by the horns look at the difference between them and Marney the other night easily know his been around for afew years.
    as i said yesterday it took Buckley time to get into it last season aswell ive no doubt that he is well able for it

Wall and Hayes are not playing long enough in the EL to grab the bull by the horns look at the difference between them and Marney the other night easily know his been around for afew years.
    as i said yesterday it took Buckley time to get into it last season aswell ive no doubt that he is well able for it
    Noone can grab the bull (or for that matter the ball) by the horns if 2 defences are playing tennis between each other over the midfields heads!!

Buckley has been poor but I think he is capable of getting through this rut and getting back to the form he showed previously.Im not sure there are that many good left fulls out there??

to be honest lads i think limerick have done well so far. i wouldnt be going along bringing in too many players in july. how will that make the current squad look and feel.

robbie would be a big plus. personnaly i think carthy is finished. even playing junior soccer he does not look too great anymore. 2 midfielders, a striker and 2 wingers, would be the most to bring in.

there is cover for the backs. danagher and white who will progress but attacking wise more is needed.

Quote Originally Posted by young boy View Post
    there is cover for the backs. danagher and white who will progress but attacking wise more is needed.
    I'd want more than Danagher and White tbh

[QUOTE=young boy;672432]to be honest lads i think limerick have done well so far. i wouldnt be going along bringing in too many players in july. how will that make the current squad look and feel.

robbie would be a big plus. personnaly i think carthy is finished. even playing junior soccer he does not look too great anymore. 2 midfielders, a striker and 2 wingers, would be the most to bring in.

I have to agree considering there was little or nothing between L37 and dundalk who were reported to have prepared for the Premier for this season while L37 didnt exist.That was Cawley at left back for them also,who was full time with Shels last year.Certainly threw the kitchen sink at them in the last 15mins.to be honest I think Dundalk will walk it but I think from what ive seen so far L37 will be a good 2nd.

But thats no reason for complacency or no reason to try to keep improving.

PS I wonder what Ski sees in the m.irror.Would it be a case of"Mirror,Mirror on the wall who is the baldest man of all?"