Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Apologies

64 Posts

Apologies

Could I ask those in charge not to bin this post. Firstly apologies to the Drogs fan for not taking his word earlier today. Secondly, having had it confirmed what went on last night I'm totally sick to the stomach. Can't believe any person could do something like that, let alone a fellow fan. If I personally had've heard this at the time I would've risked a ban myself to deal with any individual who would stoop so low. To the player himself, fans and everyone connected to Drogheda Utd, heartfelt apologies from myself and every other genuine fan of our club
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

clearly it was few absoluate idiots and anyone with any sort of humanity in them would condone this shameful, absolutely shameful behaviour. Your post is fair enough for you as an individual as you made a mistake (fair enough as it wouldbe hard to think that other people could say such things) but we are waiting to see your clubs reactions.

I am sick in the stomach when I think of this low level for our league. I am a married man and I would be devastated if something happened my wife and the thoughts of some mindless morans then throwing her passing in my face - well lets say Webb has more strenght then me.

What happened?

48 Posts
    Seems Simon Webb was given an extremely rough time over his wife, who passed away a while back.

Once again, a small section of Rovers fans let the club down. Lets hope they're not allowed near the next fixture, or any other game for that matter.

Sound of you to come on here Hoopy and apologise. Not enough soccer fans like that.

Simon Webbs wife passed away last season after fighting cancer. Some Rovers fans decided hurl personal abuse at him about this sad event and loss in his life.

I see an apology on the rovers website shamrockrovers.ie from their directors - its a start. I don't blame their directors or real supporters (as real supporters would never disgarce their club like this) but the task is now on them to burn the f***ers out of their club and if the word is true that one of their players was at similar stuff on the pitch, then he should be thrown out of the club with Scully making an apology to Simon Webb - thats my opinion for what it is worth.

I thought the grief was from a player, rather than the fans?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

defo from fans but there seems to be talk (and I stress talk) that a rover splayer was at it as well - I am sure it come out if true (again stress "talk" that a player was also at it.

43 Posts

Apology on Rovers website

Apology to Simon Webb (Drogheda United FC)
    21 Apr 2007.On behalf of the club's membership and the entire Shamrock Rovers community, we wish to issue a public apology to Simon Webb for the heartless and highly personal verbal abuse he was subjected to from a tiny minority of the attendance at the Shamrock Rovers-Drogheda United game at Tolka Park on April 20. Those responsible should be ashamed of themselves and are certainly not welcome at Shamrock Rovers. An investigation into the incident has begun and those responsible will be dealt with in an appropriate manner.
    Shamrock Rovers FC Board of Directors

I hope Rovers fans are currently giving the names and details to the directors.

Fair playHoopy for coming on and apologising , Im sure you and 99% of Rovers fans adhore what went on last night. Lets hope the Rovers board are serious about the last line of their apology and get to the bottom of it. Mind you I dont see any mention there about the abuse that was hurled at Eamonn Zayed as well - no place for that in sport.

what happened was wrong and an absolute discrase.. but i have to comment that it is not apprioate for hoopy to apoligise for something he didnt do... but fair play to him.. look all i gotta say on thus matter is................. rovers i feel have the best suport in the country they really saved their club from the **** and they usually have big travelling support..... BUT as with most clubs they have a minority tht are scum but n my experience they have a minority of utter scum that is pretty large... im from cobh and before our game last yaer at the end of the season i was working (in apub) and was warned not to let rovers fans in but being an el an myself i sed **** this and left the door open approx 15 fans came in over the few hours andeveryone of them was excellent and they were decent people. in went ti the match adn i also bumped into more fans who wanted directions to the ground and walked to the ground with them and got a prematch int with these lads.....

after the game i had tp go back to work in the pub and worked the night away but the boss was there so we were only open to which i taught was wrong but on saying that there was troublke in another pub a few doors away from us where the gardai had to be called...

after work i went to the chipper where i met a rovers fan and had a chat about what next season would offer with the new format of league and this lad wasnt wearing colours of any sort we both got verbally attacked by two louts who were total knackers.... the lad with me tried to explain i was ok and that he was a rovers fan but they were having none of it...... which prob illustartes that the club has genuine fans and scum fans who are totally difernent groups..

after this i decide decided to walk home.. jhad to pass the local night club ob the way home.... there was a group of rovers lads(i wont even call them fans) outside so i kept the head down and walked briskly past but one of the lads grabbed me and threw me to the floor and started shouted and threating me about throwin a bottle at his son earlier in the night i was on the ground surrounded by louts honestly ****tung it until a bouncer from the club came out and helped me and took me inside... i was left out the side the door of the club to encounter some of the same lads who duely cornered me and accsuded me again of doing stuff i did not do as i was at work at the time and left me with a black eye sore nose and balls.... brave men

in conclusion i feel rovers have an element of fans who are decent honest and true fans of the club but i fell that these lads although plenityful on here are a rariety in reality.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MojoPin View Post

in conclusion i feel rovers have an element of fans who are decent honest and true fans of the club but i fell that these lads although plenityful on here are a rariety in reality.
    It's the other way around. Take last night for example it must have been a maximum of 10 or 20 scumbags out of a crowd of 2000 who were responsible for those sick chants because nobody I know actually heard these chants. The rest of your post I agree with.

Quote Originally Posted by MojoPin View Post
    what happened was wrong and an absolute discrase.. but i have to comment that it is not apprioate for hoopy to apoligise for something he didnt do... but fair play to him.. look all i gotta say on thus matter is................. rovers i feel have the best suport in the country they really saved their club from the **** and they usually have big travelling support..... BUT as with most clubs they have a minority tht are scum but n my experience they have a minority of utter scum that is pretty large... im from cobh and before our game last yaer at the end of the season i was working (in apub) and was warned not to let rovers fans in but being an el an myself i sed **** this and left the door open approx 15 fans came in over the few hours andeveryone of them was excellent and they were decent people. in went ti the match adn i also bumped into more fans who wanted directions to the ground and walked to the ground with them and got a prematch int with these lads.....

after the game i had tp go back to work in the pub and worked the night away but the boss was there so we were only open to which i taught was wrong but on saying that there was troublke in another pub a few doors away from us where the gardai had to be called...

after work i went to the chipper where i met a rovers fan and had a chat about what next season would offer with the new format of league and this lad wasnt wearing colours of any sort we both got verbally attacked by two louts who were total knackers.... the lad with me tried to explain i was ok and that he was a rovers fan but they were having none of it...... which prob illustartes that the club has genuine fans and scum fans who are totally difernent groups..

after this i decide decided to walk home.. jhad to pass the local night club ob the way home.... there was a group of rovers lads(i wont even call them fans) outside so i kept the head down and walked briskly past but one of the lads grabbed me and threw me to the floor and started shouted and threating me about throwin a bottle at his son earlier in the night i was on the ground surrounded by louts honestly ****tung it until a bouncer from the club came out and helped me and took me inside... i was left out the side the door of the club to encounter some of the same lads who duely cornered me and accsuded me again of doing stuff i did not do as i was at work at the time and left me with a black eye sore nose and balls.... brave men

that's both disgusting and cowardly!

Feel sorry for the genuine Rovers fans.

It's unfortunate that proper Rovers fans,who are some of the best in the Country,have their name tarnished by morons.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

I haven't posted on this forum for a while, but feel very strongly about this particular subject. I'm all for the banter and the slagging etc (which admittedly is wrong in itself), but last night's carry on is disgusting, absolutely disgusting. For f*** sake, we're talking about a human life here. I cannot comprehend this behaviour at all.

i don't give a ****, something, whatever, something calous and evil was said to SW last night.

Just hearsd it now and i can't type fast enough to convey my fury. I feel that all SRFC should be banned from our ground for this season, i don't give a **** that it will punish the inniocent, they have turned a blind eye to the scum for too long, **** them all, **** them all i say. ****S every one of them.

I'm not ashamed to say that i shed a tear when Anelli died, even though i didn't know her. i just felt for Simon, he is of a similar age to my self and i just kept putting myself in his shoes. I felt so sorry for them that they could be seperated so young.

I am calling on our board to take the step of banning SRFC from our ground, they need to be thought a lesson. ****ing rovers, never our fault, small minority, press persecution, a few idiots etc etc etc etc etc. We've all heard it before and are sick to the back teeth of it. It is my sincere wish that you club should fold and never be heard of again, you are a blight on Irish society.

Quote Originally Posted by StarandCrescent View Post
    I feel that all SRFC should be banned from our ground for this season
    Although what happened last night is 110 PER CENT WRONG and absolutely inexcusable - you Sir, are a gobdaw.

Quote Originally Posted by khoop View Post
    Although what happened last night is 110 PER CENT WRONG and absolutely inexcusable - you Sir, are a gobdaw.
    I have to agree with Khoop and i'd like to think if that were the case that all Rovers fans were banned,fans of other clubs would boycott Drogheda games.

Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    I have to agree with Khoop and i'd like to think if that were the case that all Rovers fans were banned,fans of other clubs would boycott Drogheda games.
    I dont think rovers should be banned from utd park but why would all fans wanna botcott drogs games for .A bit extreme considering it was one of our players who got abuse over his dead wife ,and eamonn zayed was apparently called a muslim *******

For a start i'm a Shels fan and i can tell you there is no love lost between me and Rovers fans but what he is suggesting would threaten the very future of the league and the fundamental right we have as fans,which is going to see our team play. If it were to come into place,it wouldn't be just an issue for Rovers and Drogs it would be an issue for every single club,in both divisions. As i said,what happened was disgraceful and there is no excuse for it but banning all fans of a certain club because of a 0.2 minority is a very dangerous precedent to set and it would be one from which this league would never recover.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast