Thread: Galway 1-1 Longford

Galway 1-1 Longford

Very disapointing. To lose a stupid goal after they were down to 10 is very worrying. We did well in the first half until they changed shape and matched us with 5 across the middle. After that we were lucky to go in level. Good header from O Flynn for the goal, but we should have scored again even before the red card. Not clinical enough.
    Russell did well after he came on, sharp with his passes as always. Marx brothers defending for their goal with Reggie shuffling his feet on the post. Penalty was harsh. But he's got to score. Terrible effort, nice height for keeper and rebound was a great chance as well but knocked wide.
    Hopefully we'll revert to 4-4-2 when he gets Alan Keane back.
    At least the other teams just above us are not pulling out of sight.

Quote Originally Posted by Gaillimh Al View Post
    At least the other teams just above us are not pulling out of sight.
    Thats the exact same way we feel but its still worrying that we arent taking our chances on a more regular basis. Last night we arent at our best and but for Seamus Kelly god only knows what the score could have been. I think we had to be ahead at half time. GUFC had a load possession but did fcuk all with it while we crteated 3 or 4 decent chances from a spate of corner kicks midway thru d haf. In the second half it was all galway up until the sending off while thereafter we seemed to get second wind and really went at it. When the ref gave that peno I was tempted to run onto the pitch and thump the pr1ck. I had a feeling Kelly would save it cos he was having a good game!

never was I so relieved to get a point. we played well first half first time but let Galway back into it second half. After we let in the goal i thought we were finished but fair play to the lads to get back into the match. when we finally scored i hadnt a clue who scored for five minutes! its not often we score anyway! i thought the sending off was harsh and the penalty was harsh! delighted shay saved we just had a feelin that he was goin to save it!

big pats on the back for the all our vocal support it was electric! it got us back into the match! and also thanks to the galway u fans for the big welcome they gave us before and after the matches in foxes! ye are very welcome to join us in john joe reillys when we cum to longford!

also lovely talkin to gui signon and galway girl!

55 Posts

Longford Goalie

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

was excellent to be fair. First half seemed drab, But we did change the formation in the middle after we scored to what seemed like some type of diamond shape, very fancy alltogether, we created many chances but the goalie was on top. Strikers need to be coached to hit the second they see the sight of goal, barry is always trying to tee it up. Slip up again at the back for a corner between wes,reggie and the goalie. Still think it was a fair enough performance in the second half although frustrating in the end.
    Lester is not up to premier footie in my opinion just yet he still needs 10 games to get premier fit he has some talent and he gives it all but i cant see how colin fortune was worse than him

I'd like if someone could explain why Dave O'Dowd was let go we seem to be struggling badly in that Department . Also our wing play is very weak

last night.

it deffo wasnt a peno anyway,he got the ball.what i frustrated me was that alan use to blast his penos down the middle but for some reason he didnt do that last night and it was a weak effort.
    longford annoyed me because they were soooo synical and were wasting time from the first 10mins of the game.their number 2 was the biggest culprit and deserved his first booking for persistent time wasting and his second was a synical trip.
    even when we went 1-0 up the crowd were not too noisy because there was a nervousness in the crowd that seemed to affect the players too(or was it vice versa) . if we had taken one of those chances straight after we scored then all nerves would have gone i feel.
    tony should make all strikers and midfielders do 1 full session of just shooting practice and as someone said of shooting on sight too.our finishing this season has been very poor(remember alans chance in the first 5 mins vrs cork) and thats not including all the chances weve missed at home.
    im not panicked yet though.still plenty of time.keep the faith.

and also thanks to the galway u fans for the big welcome they gave us before and after the matches in foxes! ye are very welcome to join us in john joe reillys when we cum to longford!

also lovely talkin to gui signon and galway girl!
    Cheers 4 the invite Martinho, we'll take ya up on that.
    Great 2 meet u 2.....

Felt we deserved the draw considering some of the chances we missed, although our keeper kept us in the game after ye went one up. Penalty decision was a disgrace, and we should have had one ourselves when Charles handled in the box, but we scored from the resulting corner anyway. Officials were a disgrace in general though. Robbie Martin was put through 1 on 1 in the last minute and was at least 5 yards onside, and the linesman put his flag up. One of the worst decisions I've ever seen.

All in all we will take it, we didn't play well but had luck on our side for the 1st time this season. Was well worth the trip and fair play to galway fans you's put on good spread. See u all in Longford, were we will take all 3 points from you's
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

Overall , a draw was a fair result. we really need a goalscorer, Murphy has to start playing further up the pitch. Missing that penalty was a sickener. fair play to the Longford fans who were good craic, even had a few dodgy songs about dodgy water! it was a good night in Foxs as far as I can remember!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

55 Posts

peno

it was a definite peno two longford players tackled him together one from behind. there was no intent to take him down it was genuine valiant defending in a desperate situation but the tackles were fouls and the ref had no choice.

where the longford full back was sent off we had 3 more the far side of murphs ready to pounce (whether they would have scored is another story)

I thought murphs played really well and is beginning to reach a bit of form he was our most dangerous looking player. Peno's are like that you couldnt judge him to harshly on the miss

Spot on. Murph is playing with all the conviction he had in the past. We are struggling up front and Army is a big loss. Barry is running his b.....! off but needs a finisher up there as well. Flynny is deceptive , he looks like he is not fit but is starting to fit in. The commitment and passion is definitely there and the lads really deserve more than they have gotten up to now. We really need to get something on the road in the next two games! If ye can at all please get to Dalymount and Bray and let the lads know we are and always will be behind them.....

288 Posts
    Ya, longford lads were good craic, fairplay. Will see yee in reilly’s

cheers lads i will let tom the barowner know ye will be callin in before our next match!