Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Flares at grounds

Here's a few examples from a uefa.com search

The problem with flares is the potential for causing serious harm. It just takes one eejit with a few bevvies on board to let one loose in a tight crowd and you're in trouble.

Unfortunately, UEFA can't go round trying to legislate for every exceptional circumstance. I'm not sure if there is leeway at all - in terms of 'controlled conditions' - but you'd like to think that there's always scope for common sense out there. Maybe I'm being unrealistic though.
    former (!) webmaster for sligorovers.com

Yeah but were not asking to throw flares or bring Rocket Launchers into grounds.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

FAI normally fine Pats €250 per flare
    Revenge for 2002

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Saint MacDara View Post
    Has anyone actually been injured by a flare in an EL ground recently?
    Without sand buckets to extinguish them in, they can explode if a mucksavage country bumpkin steward insists on it being put out on concrete or asphalt rather than being left to burn out.

And yes, it did hurt.

75 Posts
    The FAI are fining clubs week in and week out for this.Sligo and Pats were fined for letting off flares in Galway one for Sligo and Seven for Pats and 4 people were ejected from the games.

This league is cash strapped enough without fans costing their club fines of up to €2000 euro for lighting flares. Yes they are dangerous in a confined space ive had 2 jerseys destroyed by them and have seen numerous others have their clothes destroyed or hair burned when some muppet lets off a flare behind them.

I have suffered personal abuse from our own fans in Terryland over our regulations in relation to flares but they are the ones as laid down by the FAI who now control our league.

Should a club be fined for there fans setting them off at away grounds, how is the club supposed to police that?

75 Posts
    Well we actually do Searches in Terryland on the way in at both entrances for Home and Away Fans but flares are so easily concealed that a full body search is the only way around it.

By fining the clubs who continually do it ie: St. Pats. it will eventually lead to the club banning the perpetrators from their games.

Rovers and Athlone got huge finesafter last years cup game and both clubs have cutrailed the use of flares since. Its not the clubs who introduced the regulations but its part of the participation agreements we all signed up for so every club should enforce the rules.

123 Posts
    sorry but there is far to much potential danger involved in using them and to provide buckets would be to condone there use., i also think that some of the people who would use these would not be the most safety consious people in the first place
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

The reason that flares are banned is simple. They're illegal to use except for in an emergency.

The reason the cops couldn't sanction the Pats/Bohs fans to light flares during the tribute to wws was because they can't sanction something that's illegal.

We just lit them anyway and the stewards didn't hassle anybody given the circumstances.

Flares: If you can't stand the heat, get off of the terraces!!

123 Posts
    maybe if the FAI was to provide people to read the instructions on the side of the flares to the users it may make them more safe

Quote Originally Posted by LukeO View Post
    nde

Not by the FAI they weren't. In fact some bitch of a Garda confiscated two flares offs a Bohs fan despite the fact the situation was explained to her regards the tribute display for wws. Miserable ****.

Its amazing how the guards hassle real supporters yet when there's real hassle in a ground, i.e. two sets of "schooligans" ****ing bottles etc. at eachother, they run and hide.

IMO if a club has a procedure in place for the safe use of flares at games (such as what we had at Bohs a few years ago until the FAI over-ruled us) then the said clubs should be given special dispensation to use them. But the FAI seem intent of following the UK example of sterile, boring, atmosphereless all-seater stadiums. If they bothered to look to the continent rather than England and Scotland, they'd soon realise how much more enjoyable a game's atmosphere can be.

The clubs should be campaigning on supporters' behalf on this issue.

completley agree with you

flares available on http://www.tifo.it

They are localized chemical fire and extremely dangerous!

Sooner or later someone will get badly burned by them, especially those cheap ones tifo.it sell as opposed to be proper more expensive ones sold in the sailing shops

;-)

blind eyes being turned some weeks by some FAI inspectors is a joke. either have a complete ban or do them safely on the edge of the pitch

bhs

123 Posts
    if only the people using them could get burned then id support them

123 Posts
    [QUOTE=gerrycarr;667775.it will be a while before you will see one let off bye a rovers fan[/QUOTE]

except if he.s at sea

Pats are allowed to use flares because Richmond Park officially falls under maritime jurisdiction due to the river. Old Dublin Corporation bye-law apparently.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Pats are allowed to use flares because Richmond Park officially falls under maritime jurisdiction due to the river. Old Dublin Corporation bye-law apparently.
    But does their not have to be a genuine emergency?

There's always the chance that someone fishing the Camac might catch a passing Sligo fan with their hook so it's as well to have the flares on hand.

It seems the general trend here is for the anti-flares people to be the ones who don't have much call to use them. Sour grapes is all it is. As for people are in favour of their use being less safety conscious thats rubbish. I'm very safety conscious, however I'm also very atmosphere conscious and what gets people coming back to games, far more than the football is the atmosphere. That was certainly what hooked me. Most of us here in favour of flares want to see them used safely with propper safety procedures in place for their use. Yes mis-use should carry fines for clubs and bans for fans involved but their correct use should be applauded. To quote charliesboots
    Quote Originally Posted by charliesboots
    Flares: If you can't stand the heat, get off of the terraces!!
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    i also think that some of the people who would use these would not be the most safety consious people in the first place
    Ah will you go on out of that, Ive let off many a flare with nothing but the intention of creating colour and atmosphere or part of a display. Like I'm sure everyone else here who's used flares, I never used them in a dangerous manner or threw it or anything. Since we've been in the first division we've used a few and havn't been hasseled so far, but since the club are getting fined, with poor finances already, we've cut back latley. By the way, some places flares arn't even illegal to bring into a ground, France for example. And to those saying they are dangerous to those around, the most risk is with the person who lets it off.
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

123 Posts
    joey im not saying all fans are ******* but ive met some "fans" around the crountry who would gladly use flares as a weapon if the opprtunity arose. and for a club to allow them could crucify them with compo claims

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast