Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Tonights Setanta cup scores

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    No, teams like Portadown that have embarrassed themselves by being hockied this season.

No, my point is that they are supposedly regulars in the top four of your league, and you're beating them 5-1 away. Our little preseason kick about hardly constitutes a comparison to your lot taking pride/pleasure out of beating 15 rubbish teams.
    You can only beat whats in front of us and we do it very well. In fact when we are playing so called big LOI clubs, we manage to beat them to. So really does it matter? We have beaten both of your league favourites already this season.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

yes, name the other 3 teams in the setanta cup, it shows how much you know. face it, the league you're in is a joke, and you're happy to wallow in it because a challenge might mean you can't brag about beating some of the worst footballing teams this side of georgia.
    Our league is bad we accept that, but your league is hardly La liga now is it?

I accept your league has more depth. But your top teams are certainly no better than Linfield. I don't think any of your teams would find it easy to beat Coleraine, Ballymena or Portadown(just to name but a few) on a cold winters night in November on a heavy pitch.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Bruce View Post
    Our league is bad we accept that, but your league is hardly La liga now is it?

I accept your league has more depth. But your top teams are certainly no better than Linfield. I don't think any of your teams would find it easy to beat Coleraine, Ballymena or Portadown(just to name but a few) on a cold winters night in November on a heavy pitch.
    Nor would we want to. But the attitude of the average linfield fan, they you're happy as a pig in muck being a football team in, well, muck... it both confuses and frustrates me. If you are as good as you say you are, would facing our greater depth not be beneficial to linfield as you would gain greater experience, face better quality of football, and not have to play in ballymena on a heavy pitch.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    ****hole of a league.

Ye can stick yer Irish League up yer hole!! We're now playing with the big boys of Irish football, a challenging match every week, unlike pathetic easy victories at Loughgall, Limavady etc...Aye sure you bask in your 47th Mickey Mouse league win and we'll continue to face European giants of football
    Continue? It was a one off. You will win no more than one game this year I would say. As for this pathetic league, how have you fared against playing teams in it. Let me see

Played 8
    Won 2
    Lost 3
    Drawn 3

If our league is pathetic what does that make Derry City. Surely with two "pathetic" Irish League teams in your Setanta group you will have qualified comfortably both seasons.

Nor would we want to. But the attitude of the average linfield fan, they you're happy as a pig in muck being a football team in, well, muck... it both confuses and frustrates me. If you are as good as you say you are, would facing our greater depth not be beneficial to linfield as you would gain greater experience, face better quality of football, and not have to play in ballymena on a heavy pitch.
    Why do you not aspire to playing in the English Premiership?

Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    Why do you not aspire to playing in the English Premiership?
    we'd get slaughtered?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

we'd get slaughtered?
    The SPL then? Or the French league? No because you are playing in the league of your country just like we are.

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    Continue? It was a one off. You will win no more than one game this year I would say. As for this pathetic league, how have you fared against playing teams in it. Let me see

Played 8
    Won 2
    Lost 3
    Drawn 3

If our league is pathetic what does that make Derry City. Surely with two "pathetic" Irish League teams in your Setanta group you will have qualified comfortably both seasons.
    When did i ever call Linfield pathetic? Everyone knows Linfield are the only good team in that league. What i dont get is that Linfield fans know this but still refuse to accept that they are winning a competition that is amateur at best. Linfield had 2 games against each team in the Il to prove that they are better. We've had eight, lost 3 deservedly, drawn 3 we maybe should have won and won 2 we did deserve. Now, should Derry City be playing in the IL (or any of the top LOI teams for that matter), then over a season, i'm sure we'd show that we could do what Linfield can. From my point of view, jelousy reeks from Linfield fans. The fact that we Derry City had a magnificent European run and the fact that the BBC covered us in our magnificent European run and not Linfields abysmal European run. Ever since Linfield fans have had a grudge against Derry City and our fans because of this. The fact is Linfield fans know the truth, and it seems the truth hurts by their reaction.

Enjoy your squabble in YOUR( ) amateur league!!

22 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    When did i ever call Linfield pathetic? Everyone knows Linfield are the only good team in that league. What i dont get is that Linfield fans know this but still refuse to accept that they are winning a competition that is amateur at best. Linfield had 2 games against each team in the Il to prove that they are better. We've had eight, lost 3 deservedly, drawn 3 we maybe should have won and won 2 we did deserve. Now, should Derry City be playing in the IL (or any of the top LOI teams for that matter), then over a season, i'm sure we'd show that we could do what Linfield can. From my point of view, jelousy reeks from Linfield fans. The fact that we Derry City had a magnificent European run and the fact that the BBC covered us in our magnificent European run and not Linfields abysmal European run. Ever since Linfield fans have had a grudge against Derry City and our fans because of this. The fact is Linfield fans know the truth, and it seems the truth hurts by their reaction.

Enjoy your squabble in YOUR( ) amateur league!!

Once again Linfield shows the superiority we have even over the best LOI teams by topping the group with the supposed 2 best teams in the LOI.

That's 3 tournements in a row we have topped our group.

Also why would we be jealous? Sure you had a good run, well done. We would like to replicate that but jealous? Na. We win trophies every season, even when you where in our league and even when we had Belfast Celtic and even when the IL was streets ahead of the LOI. We always win trophies.

The IL will eventually close the gap between the two nations that is certain. But it's going to take some time. If the LOI experiances a massive lull in the next 5 years are Cork or any LOI team going to jump ship? Of course not.

definitely going to head up for the Linfield game.

Blah, blah, blah.....
    More importantly than all that sh!te, have youse got a spare keeper?

3,491 Posts
    What a God-awful game of football tonight. Two teams who are supposedly among the best in the league, and they can't string two passes together for the most part, can't control the ball, can't take it down, can't give it to a defender without him hoofing aimlessly up the pitch... Derry couldn't even manage a back-pass properly - Oman's headed attempt where he injured himself and Rogers' suicidal pass for the goal were comical.

Thank God Zayed won be twenty quid at the death, or I'd be asking for that last 90 minutes back...

22 Posts
    Once again Linfield shows the superiority we have even over the best LOI teams by topping the group with the supposed 2 best teams in the LOI.

Havent played us yet and in our 1st seaosn we have nearly scored as many goals as you in all 3 of yours.

How is Jennings a professional keeper, fair enough one or 2 mistakes a season are acceptable even Ryan makes mistakes but 2 every game is shocking.

kdjac

Drogheda didnt come to play.

At least Derry tried.

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants View Post
    More importantly than all that sh!te, have youse got a spare keeper?
    Our reserve keepers a good keeper but you cant have him

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    What a God-awful game of football tonight. Two teams who are supposedly among the best in the league, and they can't string two passes together for the most part, can't control the ball, can't take it down, can't give it to a defender without him hoofing aimlessly up the pitch... Derry couldn't even manage a back-pass properly - Oman's headed attempt where he injured himself and Rogers' suicidal pass for the goal were comical.

Thank God Zayed won be twenty quid at the death, or I'd be asking for that last 90 minutes back...
    Dont know what game you were watching but i thought we played quite well up until the mistakes by PJ. Pizza was excellent and Molloy looked steady when he came on. I was happy with our performance

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    How is Jennings a professional keeper, fair enough one or 2 mistakes a season are acceptable even Ryan makes mistakes but 2 every game is shocking.
    In Jennings' defence, I'd have to say the first took a deflection and was possibly a free out (though he should have held the ball having gotten that much on it), and the second was a hospital pass from Rogers that Jennings had to run out of his box to try and clear, and the ball bounced badly for him. Could have done better for both, but I'd be looking at Rogers for the second goal way before Jennings.

Trust me CTID - it's one tihng when you're involved in the game, quite another as a neutral! That was a shocking 90 minutes of football. Seriously.

Linfield arn't a good team but they can still win the 'group of death' two seasons in a row,so much for the galactico's of la eircom liga.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blueman1886 View Post
    Linfield arn't a good team but they can still win the 'group of death' two seasons in a row,so much for the galactico's of la eircom liga.
    Shall we get t the final please dont insult us with Galacticos....we`re patselona!!!!!

kdjac

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast