Wasn't there an ad for Sky Sports before with Fergie celebrating a goal at Old Trafford, and a fan wearing a Limerick GAA jersey can clearly be seen behind him?
The tricolour is not offensive to Brits, why the hell would it..the fact that a good proportion of people are decendants of irish immigrants helps also..there is always loads of people wearing soccer jerseys at GAA matches..utd, liverpool, celtic shirts its quite common...dont know why people get so offended...wh ofoockin cares
Maybe Arsenal had the right idea when they banned National flags of any description from being flown at the Emirates. As far as I'm aware, only "Arsenal" flags are allowed.
"If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.
You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!
Did anyone else share my joy in Sunderland being well beaten on the weekend ?
Now - I'm no Sunderland hater by any means, and would usually be apathetic towards their results.
But there was something deeply satisfying in them losing to a shockingly unglamorous team from a town that most of the new-found Sunderland fans in Ireland probably weren't even aware had a football team (Colchester), let alone were in the same division as the mighty Black Cats, and who I would guarantee 99% of them would have no feckin idea where it is in England.
Champions league and Premier titles in 5 years ? Perhaps they should be a little more concerned with tackling the likes of Colchester first....![]()
dcfc I am with you all the way , I hope they don't make to the preimership and nothing will please me more than to see see they and their over rated Manager getting beat to Burnley on friday night , come on the CLARETS .
The above quote was taken from the official Sunderland website forum about the trip to Ireland for pre season friendlies and posted by some deluded fool from Ireland who thinks Sunderland have the fourth biggest fanbase over herethe english league is as big over here in ireland as it is in england so i suppose in fairness, it would be stupid not to capitalise on this, in terms of numbers supporting sunderland they would be fourth behind man u, liverpool and arsenal mainly because of keano and his legendary status.
MOT
You'll see many tricolours at the Stadium of Light these days. The local 'symbolism' there is that it simply shows support and thanks for the strong irish influence just now - Niall, Roy, Drumaville, and several Irish players. There will be an occasional supporter who interprets the symbolism differently (e.g. as might be at a Rangers game), but generally they're rare.
Similarly you will also see the odd Trinidad & Tobago flag if you look around - we have three Trini players in the squad just now.
Well the interests of the international team are best served by its players playing in the top league. Given there are a few at Sunderland, your joy conflicts with the best interests of success at international level.
Still better that yourself & Claret Murph can feel superior to Sunderland supporteers than half a dozen Irish players get the chance to play at the top level.
Precisely.
And why should I be chastened into altering my views on this, dependent upon what's allegedly best for the ROI team ?
Bull-sh!t - I care more about Irish club footbal, than I do for it's International variety. You may wish to force a contraditction upon me, but I sure as hell don't accept that there is one myself....![]()
For the most part in this forum we discuss the players who are in or around the national squads at all age levels.
I have mixed feelings, from sneering at the overblown hype and wishing the players get through to next level and then the dread of even more hype. I just can't listen to it. If the Sunderland shop sold Keane árse wipes I might order a few packs.
I'd be curious to see if Keane's public endorsement of the superiority of Connolly and Miller over other members of our team has even a grain of sincerity from Keane.
why are ye all so bitter towards Sunderland,?? The old Irish begrudgery is out in force again...If your so committed to your own EL club why would what Sunderland are up to even concern let alone offend you..I only care about the fortunes of the Irish National team, and Sunderland getting promoted is pivitol in this.
Im sick of all yer ****ing ****e about the Eircom League, its not Roy Keanes(greatest irish player ever) fault that its an absolute shambles of a setup...sickens my hole
Last edited by gustavo; 25/04/2007 at 12:31 PM.
How precisely is Sunderland's potential promotion "pivotal" to our future success , lets face it if and when they do get promoted I think you will find that Keane will be showing Connolly and Kavanagh the door or at least replacing them with players that are better , some of whom , shock horror , mightnt even be Irish.
I'm not bitter towards Sunderland. I used to do voluntary work in Sunderland, have been to see them play at home this season (I watch a lot of football), and have a number of Mackem friends.
I just find it hilarious that they lost to lowly Colchester, as their legion of nouveau Oirish fans will be scratching their heads and wondering who the fcuk Colchester are and how teh hell they were alllwed to beat their new team ! I mean - losing to lowly unheard of Essex clubs wasn't on the packet when they bought the Sunderland hype....
Surely you can see how this is amusing without a hint of bitterness involved ?!? I'm not bitter in any way about Posh Spice, for example, but it would make me titter if she found herself in some misfortune caused by her endless pursuit of fame without talent. Things like that are just funny.....
TBH I usually check their results to see what Irish players played & hope for a lose. Many may not agree with me but I do like to see Sunderland lose.
I just don't know how else to react when Aer Arann start a Galway-Newcastle service & advertise as suitable for the Sunderland bandwagon.
Keane will do well to get them promoted but Mick McCarthy achieved that a few years ago with such a poor team they out of their depth in the Premiership.
So you'd rather a team run by English, managed by English and full of English players beat a team run, managed and with a playing staff full of your own countrymen? Good one.
You're not by any chance a mate of EalingGreen are you?
Keane is a tit but I'll always support Irish players playing abroad above players of other nationalities particularly when their success can have a direct effect on the International team.
Last edited by youngirish; 25/04/2007 at 12:46 PM.
yip it's true. most of the irish players can expect to be release if sunderland did get promoted. the only ones that would prob be kept on would be murphy,stokes and miller. so it's hardly pivotal to the irish national team.
Also,there's been too many posts on this sunderland thing. people here will look out for their results becuase of the whole irish thing and i doubt there's much wrong with that. I hardly think people who go to the EL games are gonna stop and go to Sunderland. There'll always be those arm-chair supporters who jump on any bandwagon and those same people will never be EL supporters. Seems to be a fair degree of paranoia from some people on here for whatever reason. I'll always support the EL. Another thread title reads 'Irish UK Club Football Bangwagon Jumpers -Irish Footballs Number 1 enemy ' - From reading all the stuff about it on here then maybe Irish footballs number 1 enemy is Irish football itself.
Last edited by neutrino; 25/04/2007 at 12:48 PM.