Wow, some people on here are touchy![]()
Note the. It indicates messing.
I'm not trying to defend that cretin for a split second. He's indicative of a particularly Oirish breed of moron which to my horror our rural areas by the looks of things are still producing in impressive numbers
I was just pointing out that while reading this thread it dawned on me that there wouldn't be a hell of a lot to do living in Laois
They move to Dublin just to be able to go to a pub that has Sky!
Don't forget one of the sons of Laois has been playing well for us at the minute - Stephen Hunt.
There is life on Laois afterall!!!
Quoting years at random since 1975
I don't know if you read another thread I defend a guy from Meath for not supporting Drogheda. I grew up in Clare and in Dublin and have got back into supporting Bohs in the last 6 months or so now that I am back in Dublin. I understand what it is like for people in areas that do not have a football team. However its the guys attitude that I would have a problem with, not that he does not support and EL team.
He is an ignorant arrogant tosser from the posts he makes. To be honest when I was growing up in Clare I was jealous of people who could go to football week in week out by living in Cork, or Dublin or where ever there was an EL team.
In Trap we trust
I think this thread suggests that the league should be looking to get one team from each county, even if that means introducing a Division Two North and South (which is where we're going anyways).
Dub_er_lin
the overwhelming feeling of mediocrity and all that Ultra boll0x - a foreign import I decided not to subject my young son to this crap, so have been taking him to games in England since then. It was the best decision I ever made.
Can we get this **** for a foot.ie Q & A?
Who Cares?!
The lad from Laois though he is a bit over the top is right in a lot of ways. Really dont know why it bothers people so much to see the huge interest now in Sunderland . Ive been going over to sunderland for years and feel much more welcome over there by the people and has a much nicer atmosphere at games then when i was a season ticket holder with shels.
Cheers for offering that bit of perspective to your fellow EL fans Neil. I'm from Roscommon, nearest team is Longford so keep an eye out for their scores but wouldn't call myself a real supporter. (I live in Scotland and support Celtic now BTW, attending games regularly, but I reckon a lot of people on here would still consider me a joke for following the hoops)
I'm not defending some of the attitudes of those Irish Sunderland lads on that board, but the lack of understanding from EL fans on this site of Irish people who arent from Dublin/Cork etc and don't have a local club up the road from them does my head a bit. It's not always as black and white as supporting your local side or being a 'barstooler'. But I agree in a lot of cases it is.
The dude abides....
that thread is insane. The irony of the irish guys on there callin US the insular, narrow minded ones when they wont even give a chance to what is a very decent product on their own doorstep. Furthermore i wouldnt believe that the Duberlin guy was ever a eL fan. His problems with the league (and Ultras) are straight out of the Evening Herald school of thought. He obviously reads the mb here quite alot.
Anyway, fair play to the boys who took the time to register and challenge those idiots. In my opinion theyre far greater traitors than NQ ever was or will be. Well done.
Cos I moved to Scotland at age 17, and having a soft spot for Celtic, and with my new found independence I was able to start going to games and learn a bit more about the club than I was able to do in Ireland.
I've caught a few Town games on visits home since then, and reckon if I moved back to the midlands any time soon I'd go to the games regularly, but it's the attitude of dismissing all Irishmen who don't follow an EL team (and the attitude of many EL fans to Celtic fans) that gets to me.
On Sunderland, I've looked out for them consistently since I visited the city a number of years ago when my brother lived there but have had to keep that quiet since Roy moved in, me being on the other side in the civil war a few years ago....![]()
The dude abides....
Supporting your local team is not about whether they win or lose, or how many glamorous superstars they have on it. It's about a sense of community, and pride in where you're from. It doesn't make you any better than anyone else, and doesn't mean you have to hate what is overseas. If someone wants to spend their money flying to and from another country to follow some other league, let them. They're missing the fundamental point most of us here probably copped on to ages ago.
I don't know any Little Irelanders at the Carlisle Grounds. Nobody I know feels any shame in talking about the likes of the English Premiership...like a lot of things, it's just another topic for conversation...but there is a certain thrill to be got from being able to walk to your team's ground...or pass by it on the bus everyday. I think it gives you a more rounded sense of identity.
It has to be my favourite p-take. It like the ultimate metaphorical f**k off. A few years ago I met a man city from Kerry wearing a Kerry GAA shirt (and his g/f had a tri-colour) lost in the side streets around Anfield. I bet he got some greeting in the citeh end with that shirt on. It was the week after the anniversary of the Manchester bombing as well.
I equate it to walking into a GAA ground with a british/English jersey on wrapped in a union jack. Imagine the reception you would get.
Your man in the Kerry jersey and the tricolour was obviously a spanner, but that parallel is ridiculous. Are there ever any union flags at GAA or eircom League matches? No, because -- rightly or wrongly -- there would probably be killings. But there's tricolours (and Stormont flags) every week at Anfield and tricolours at loads of other clubs around England, despite KFS and whatever other clubs have. If people are regularly lynched they've kept it very quiet and the clubs have been quite negligent in not banning the offending flags.
I don't want to get into the politics of it all, but the fact is that loads of Irish flags are waved (by eejits) every week in English grounds without WW3 breaking out. They aren't the red rag to a bull that you're implying they are. To most people, anyway.
Don't stop there does he know Daryll Murphy scoring for HIS TEAM came from this league...Ward at wolves....Georgie at Ipswich
Smething is off the wall with that guy...maynbe itsa being able to count to 12
using his fingers
Maybe he feeels an affinity to sunderland as he is from Queens county.....hmmm
Bring back the plank