Thread: Back to Back Champions

Back to Back Champions

Linfield has once again shown our superiority in the IL winning the league for the 47th time, although not official untill Saturday.

Hopefully next season we will see a stronger Cliftonville & Portadown.

I think Glentoran will need next season to get rid of a lot of dead wood and it could take a season or two to be able to get themselves a young athletic hungry squad to challange Linfield properly.

Also with Cliftonville replacing Dungannon in the Setanta cup, I would say the IL will compete a hell of a lot better next season.

Cliftonville are still the best footballing side Linfield has played this season including the LOI teams. They gave us a complete footballing lesson. So I would expect them to acheive greater things that Glentoran or Portadown did.(although not very hard to do)

Anyway, the 1st part of our treble acheived. Lets hope we can get a home draw in the All Ireland Setanta Cup.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

Congratulations on saturdays result. I thought the Glens could have maybe sneaked a win and made youse sweat a bit, but they seem as f*cked as we are.

How many Glens fans would you guesstimate?. Glentoran.net is giving the attendance as just under 7000 and if you had 4500 there then it doesnt leave much to go round!

Dungannon may yet make next seasons Setanta though they'd have to win the cup [i think]. Failing that it looks like Portadown will be in it again, and on this seasons performance i'm actually disappointed by that.

Quote Originally Posted by AnnaghRed View Post
    Congratulations on saturdays result. I thought the Glens could have maybe sneaked a win and made youse sweat a bit, but they seem as f*cked as we are.

How many Glens fans would you guesstimate?. Glentoran.net is giving the attendance as just under 7000 and if you had 4500 there then it doesnt leave much to go round!

Dungannon may yet make next seasons Setanta though they'd have to win the cup [i think]. Failing that it looks like Portadown will be in it again, and on this seasons performance i'm actually disappointed by that.
    Glentorans crowd was very dissapointing. Unfortunately Glentoran seen fit to restrict the away support rather than give us more of the ground share. We sold our tickets out and I know there was many who wanted tickets.

Well done to all the Linfield lads.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Bruce View Post
    Linfield has once again shown our superiority in the IL winning the league for the 47th time, although not official untill Saturday.

Hopefully next season we will see a stronger Cliftonville & Portadown.

I think Glentoran will need next season to get rid of a lot of dead wood and it could take a season or two to be able to get themselves a young athletic hungry squad to challange Linfield properly.

Also with Cliftonville replacing Dungannon in the Setanta cup, I would say the IL will compete a hell of a lot better next season.

Cliftonville are still the best footballing side Linfield has played this season including the LOI teams. They gave us a complete footballing lesson. So I would expect them to acheive greater things that Glentoran or Portadown did.(although not very hard to do)

Anyway, the 1st part of our treble acheived. Lets hope we can get a home draw in the All Ireland Setanta Cup.
    Cliftonville could be replacing Portadown rather than Dungannon in the Setanta. If Dungannon win the cup they are in again. If we beat Distillery next week, Dungannon are guaranteed Europe.

Oh and dcfcsteve, do you want the address to send that cheque to?

Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    Cliftonville could be replacing Portadown rather than Dungannon in the Setanta. If Dungannon win the cup they are in again. If we beat Distillery next week, Dungannon are guaranteed Europe.

Well to be fair to Dungannon, they deserve it, they haven't set the tournement a light but at least they weren't whipping boys like Portadown.

It will be good to see Cliftonville play the Southerners as I feel there style of play would create a lot of problems down there.

Well to be fair to Dungannon, they deserve it, they haven't set the tournement a light but at least they weren't whipping boys like Portadown.

It will be good to see Cliftonville play the Southerners as I feel there style of play would create a lot of problems down there.
    But of course, no harm to Dungannon, I don't want them in as it would mean we have lost the Irish Cup.

Agreed.

57 Posts
    A defeat in the Cup final to Linfield would guarantee Setanta and UEFA qualification for the Swits. If it is Distillery then they need to win.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    A defeat in the Cup final to Linfield would guarantee Setanta and UEFA qualification for the Swits. If it is Distillery then they need to win.
    I don't think runners up in the cup get a Setanta place if winners are already in, this is only the case for Europe. Setanta goes to next place in league which has not qualified, in this case Portadown.

105 Posts
    I don't think runners up in the cup get a Setanta place if winners are already in, this is only the case for Europe. Setanta goes to next place in league which has not qualified, in this case Portadown.

If the same qualification process applies to next season as this then Dungannon will be in the Setanta unless Distillery get to and beat them in the IC final. If Linfield win the IC, the IC Setanta place does go to the runners up.

Definately through to next seasons comp are Glentoran, Linfield and Cliftonville. The remaining place will be between Dungannon and Distillery.

I don't think runners up in the cup get a Setanta place if winners are already in, this is only the case for Europe.
    It seems to be the same as Europe, if someone does the double, the cup runners up get in. That's how Pats got in this year (Derry being considered for qualification purposes to have won the league after Shels collapsed).

Congratulations to the Blues on yet another Irish league title. As the wrestler on Soccer AM would say "Eee-asy, ee-asy". Yees must surely be getting bored of it all by now.....

I won't have the time to clear out my PM inbox for the next few days, so post the details up here (incl who cheque to be paid out to) and I'll fire it over after the weekend.

Cheers,

Steve

If you really want to send it address is:

Linfield FC
    Windsor Park
    Donegall Avenue
    Belfast
    BT12 6LW

Was only a bit of a laugh though.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Congratulations to the Blues on yet another Irish league title. As the wrestler on Soccer AM would say "Eee-asy, ee-asy". Yees must surely be getting bored of it all by now.....

I won't have the time to clear out my PM inbox for the next few days, so post the details up here (incl who cheque to be paid out to) and I'll fire it over after the weekend.

Cheers,

Steve
    Only a supporter of a team who hardly wins anything would say that. It never gets boring my friend.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    It seems to be the same as Europe, if someone does the double, the cup runners up get in.
    No way should the cup runners-up be getting into Europe, at least not since the demise of the CWC.

That said i hope results conspire to help us avoid next seasons Setanta.

Portadown simply don't have the resources to be competing on three different fronts at this time of the season.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AnnaghRed View Post
    No way should the cup runners-up be getting into Europe, at least not since the demise of the CWC.

That said i hope results conspire to help us avoid next seasons Setanta.

Portadown simply don't have the resources to be competing on three different fronts at this time of the season.
    That is a UEFA rule. There is a UEFA Cup place reserved for the cup since the demise of the CWC. The only exception would be if both finalists qualify for the champions league. I think we are still a bit off any league on this island gaining a 2nd champions league place.

Only a supporter of a team who hardly wins anything would say that. It never gets boring my friend.
    A team that hardly wins anything....? When I meet a Harps fan, I'll pass your sentiments on to them.

Being a fan of a team that won 2 out of the 3 trophies in their league last year - and only missed out on the clean sweep by goal difference - you'd be forgiven for expecting me to share the same view as you. But I would find no joy in DCFC romping the Derry and District League every year.

Being a big fish in a small pond is no great shakes. Come join the captive breeding programme in the pond next door. The water's lovely, the company is friendlier, and there's a lot more room to grow.....!

If you really want to send it address is:

Linfield FC
    Windsor Park
    Donegall Avenue
    Belfast
    BT12 6LW

Was only a bit of a laugh though.
    A deal's a deal David. Will get a cheque off later this week.

Bet you're gutted you didn't go for the double or quits option on Derry winning the EL this season......

Sorry to nosey in but

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    A deal's a deal David. Will get a cheque off later this week.
    What's this about?
    You're donating to the Blues because they won the league?
    Why would anyone bet against that?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!