Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: P6 W0 D2 L4:

P6 W0 D2 L4:

United are 6 games into the new season and time to have a look at where they are at so far:

I have been to all 4 home games and watched the Cork game on TV so that is the basis of any points I put forward:

• Reggie Nootimeer: Is a brilliant acquisition who is the class act of all the signings.
    • Alan Murphy: Playing well week in - week out and attitude is top class and not fraid to get involved.
    • John Lester: Good ball player with a tremendous work ethic and never say die attitude.
    • Supporters: The atmosphere at Terryland this year has been excellent and makes the matches a very enjoyable evening.
    • Team Attitude: Whatever about the results and the way the team is set up, you cannot find fault with the commitment and effort of all the players on duty.
      Colin James: A good defender but can he do anything other than hoof the ball. I dont think I have seen him even try to play a pass this season. Under pressure, nobody objects to Row X or playing it deep into opposition territory but surely there are times when he can try and find a team mate with a pass.
      Rogers our keeper is not quiet there yet but I think he will develop into a good keeper in due course.
      Stephen O'Flynn is a good striker and with good service will continue to score goals for us. Again, he has a great work ethic on the pitch.

Overall, would be disappointed with our points tally to date but my biggest disappointment is the way we are playing. We have two ball players in Murphy and Lester in the middle of midfield but every time a defender gets the ball, the hoof merchant mentality kicks in and then O'Flynn and Barry Moran are looking to win flicks on with their backs to goal. They must have sore necks looking up in the sky waiting for the cannonballs to drop from above.

Lets get the ball down and try and play football on the ground. 3-5-2 would appear to be the best system but we need to play the football that suits the system.

Come on United!

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ShamTalk View Post
    we need to play the football that suits the system.
    The team cant be faulted for effort, but they do need to fix this problem... fast

3,491 Posts
    Yiz got promoted too early; simple as.

I know some Galway fans won't like hearing it, but there's a reason promotion and relegation are as they are, and that's to promote the teams with the best possible chance of staying up. You are, quite literally, out of your league and I can't see it being anything other than a long struggle for yez, unfortunately.

75 Posts
    Good post shamtalk.There is a lot of negativity because we didnt win on friday but I still feel we have progressed since last season and despite a small squad and Injuries we have only been outplayed once by Sligo in our first game back.

John Lester is still getting stick from some people and im flabbergasted at that as he has been outstanding and is up there with Reggi as our most consistent player so far. I for one was dissappointed that Dowdy didnt get a contract this season but the calls for bringing him back are strange as he is only making the bench for Athlone.

Ive great faith in Tony and I think we can finish out of the bottom three and build on it for next season and I think people should get behind the lads and stop panicking the time for that is if were in the same position with 6 games to go.

Yiz got promoted too early; simple as.
    actually i think we went full time too early!

it meant that we could only get in cheaper options than what we would have wanted or keep young lads who cost less. we lost most of our higher performers from last year and have basically a new squad. maybe they will 'gel' soon but for the short term we are struggling.

i said it at the start and i stand by it now: why did we have to go full-time in our first season? why couldn't we just have had maybe 8 or so players full-time (if we really needed full-timers) and the cream of last years crop part-time?

75 Posts
    Just wondering of the players that were released who would make a difference or improve the team at the moment?

o'dowd, raf, gethkins without even thinking

75 Posts
    the only one we could have held on to was Dowdy and he is only making the bench for Athlone.We matched Sligo's offer to Raf and Harps were looking for €30,000 for Conor. Its not Tonys fault that Raf and Connor Left so of the rest who would make a difference now.

if we were part time could we have afforded €30k for conor

dowdy may only be making the bench for athlone but with what he gave to us he would be there or thereabouts

I think one of the main reasons we are being reduced to long ball options is the state of the pitch. It looks lovely and all that, but it is very uneven and because of the fine weather we're having its very hard as well.
    There hasn't been a goal by any team playing there yet where there's been 4 or 5 passes on the deck followed by a shot. Murphy's v Drogs would be closest.
    We have a team capable of good passing football, but for now there is very little one touch passing and the players are taking the safer option.
    I know this is not something Galway Utd can control and the ground staff do all they can, but as always it wont be until all the junior and juvenile matches get finished before it gets sorted. Hopefully it wont be too late.

As for rating the players,
    Glynn will do well to score 2 or 3 goals.
    Moran doesnt do enough.
    Lester has surprised with his battling qualities
    Charles is not a captain.
    O'Flynn needs support. preferably from Murphy.
    Reggie good player
    O'Brien a threat(to my sanity). talented but frustrating.

[QUOTE=Gaillimh Al;666892]
    Glynn will do well to score 2 or 3 goals. AGREE
    Moran doesnt do enough. DISAGREE GIVES 100% ALL THE TIME
    Lester has surprised with his battling qualities AGREE
    Charles is not a captain. AGREE, Big time
    O'Flynn needs support. preferably from Murphy. AGREE
    Reggie good player AGREE
    O'Brien a threat(to my sanity). talented but frustrating. BEST WAY HE'S BEEN SUMMED UP YET!!!!QUOTE]

Stu I see your point and was of the same opinion until awhile back. We were not going to be able to stay too much longer down there and lose out on the progression of the "New" League and we have showed we can match the big boys now and I feel that given the right run with no injuries we could be the Premier Divisions answer to Sunderland. I'd put in a smiley except i'm fairly serious and if you'd seen all our games to date you'd know where I was comin from
    Last edited by Tir Oilean; 16/04/2007 at 5:12 PM.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Barry Moran. I know he tries his best and he's giving everything but it's not enough. He's limited and was beaten to the ball too many times against Longford. Just can't see partnership with O'Flynn producing much. Unfortunately.

Quote Originally Posted by Gaillimh Al View Post
    Barry Moran. I know he tries his best and he's giving everything but it's not enough. He's limited and was beaten to the ball too many times against Longford. Just can't see partnership with O'Flynn producing much. Unfortunately.

that is exactly the way I would see O'Dowd also, I know Im going to get slated for this, but, Dowd was a striker that could score 7 or 8 goals at the first division standards when he was playing at his best, that in the premier means nothing. We need a striker that can guarantee goals, if we cant buy one we have to look at loaning one out when its possible.

Someone asked who from last season? I have to say Gethins, that lad has what it takes and I think we should have gambled and paid what was needed for his services.

The sum of money that Finn Harps demanded was too far much for a First Division striker. For E30k plus wages over a two year contract you could get a McHugh/O'Flynn/Zayed calibre striker on a free or a player with UK experience.

[QUOTE=Tir Oilean;666903]
    Quote Originally Posted by Gaillimh Al View Post
    Glynn will do well to score 2 or 3 goals. AGREE
    Moran doesnt do enough. DISAGREE GIVES 100% ALL THE TIME
    Lester has surprised with his battling qualities AGREE
    Charles is not a captain. AGREE, Big time
    O'Flynn needs support. preferably from Murphy. AGREE
    Reggie good player AGREE
    O'Brien a threat(to my sanity). talented but frustrating. BEST WAY HE'S BEEN SUMMED UP YET!!!!QUOTE]

Stu I see your point and was of the same opinion until awhile back. We were not going to be able to stay too much longer down there and lose out on the progression of the "New" League and we have showed we can match the big boys now and I feel that given the right run with no injuries we could be the Premier Divisions answer to Sunderland. I'd put in a smiley except i'm fairly serious and if you'd seen all our games to date you'd know where I was comin from
    man ur seriously living in a dream world if you think thats trues!!... in 6 games we've only managed to score in 2, we've only managed 1 clean sheet, and id say maybe 2-3 other clear cut chances in those 6 games.....and i have been to every game this yr so not saying that as some1 whos only been to say for instance home games, we'll do well to get out of the bottom 2, ppl can say its early but we'r 6 games in which is a 1/5 of the season 2 more onto that is a 1/4, if we had 6 points from now outta 6 games i might agree a bit more but we have 2 measly points!. id actually be happy enough with the play-off although id obviously want more but we'r playing that bad id take it..
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

no need for panic.

i think there has been a very fine line in most of our games so far and if we were on the right side of it none of ye wouldve been complaining now.
    (1)if alan had scored his chance against cork early on then we could have held out for win as cork were poor that night.
    (2)if we hadnt conceded late vrs drogheda.
    (3)if glynn had scored his chance last friday night and we had gone 2 up we would have won out easy i think.
    these are just some examples of incidents that didnt go our way.if they had we would be mid table now and ppl wpuld be happy enough here.id be fairly confident we will finish above longford and waterford and maybe U.C.D.no need for panic yet but maybe in the july transfer window we might look at getting a striker and a winger on loan or something to add a bit extra for us going forward.

[QUOTE=gilberto_eire;667060][QUOTE=Tir Oilean;666903]

man ur seriously living in a dream world if you think thats trues!!... in 6 games we've only managed to score in 2, we've only managed 1 clean sheet, and id say maybe 2-3 other clear cut chances in those 6 gamesQUOTE]

not that it does make much of a difference but sunderland only had one win from there first 6 games and they were playing terrible football. but it shows that it doesnt take much to get up a head of steam and build confidence and get wins on the board
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Quote Originally Posted by GUISAUltra View Post
    not that it does make much of a difference but sunderland only had one win from there first 6 games and they were playing terrible football. but it shows that it doesnt take much to get up a head of steam and build confidence and get wins on the board
    sunderland got a new manager, bought a sh1t load of players and got rid of a lot of deadwood!

surely we should compare like with like or are you suggesting we do the same as sunderland did??

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    The sum of money that Finn Harps demanded was too far much for a First Division striker. For E30k plus wages over a two year contract you could get a McHugh/O'Flynn/Zayed calibre striker on a free or a player with UK experience.
    these players would never have come to galway. very few players will move to a club like ours at least until we are established in the division

[QUOTE=GUISAUltra;667178][QUOTE=gilberto_eire;667060]
    Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post

man ur seriously living in a dream world if you think thats trues!!... in 6 games we've only managed to score in 2, we've only managed 1 clean sheet, and id say maybe 2-3 other clear cut chances in those 6 gamesQUOTE]

ya but they had just DROPD a division, had a load of money to spend in a dire division and are a massive club.....
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast