Thread: Shamrock Rovers...always a big draw!

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Agreed, seems like there will be a nice cosy love in at Turners Cross tonight
    Poor Raheny Red.
    Ya want a hug?
    Don't despair.
    I'm sure Shelbourne Monaghan will be electric.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Bruce View Post
    Why would I notice you

What two teams are you refering to

And also I find it rather amusing Cork City fan giving stick to othe teams and there support when Cork has struggled to keep a team in existance for long enough. How many reincarnations did Cork actually have in there history??

And going by your attendances, your attendances are certainly no better than Linfields. If anything I think our attendances are on average considerably higher.
    Not Judging by the 80% empty stadium every week. What crowds do you pull in? 1500/2000 max. Pathetic.

Is the game on the radio anywhere tonight?

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Not Judging by the 80% empty stadium every week. What crowds do you pull in? 1500/2000 max. Pathetic.
    Are you talking about a stadium that hold 14500 seats compared to your 6000?(or whatever it holds) Course the stadium looks so empty. And maybe I have got my math wrong here, but 20% of 14500 is 2900. Which to me is quite healthy and if your judging every week then you must be missing out our games against Glentoran. Also other games like Cliftonville and Portadown. So that would bump up our average even further.

We have 1728 season ticket holders for a start.

Also the part of the ground you see on tv is the Away stand(north Stand) and the bottom of the Kop which is closed off.

What you don't see his the 3000 seater stand behind the camera that is 80% full and the 200 - 400 hundred in the kop. And that is when we play unfashionable sides like Loughgall and Distillery. We get considerably more when we play Cliftonville, Coleraine, Ballymena and Portadown.

When we play Glentoran there was over 12,000 at it. Name me a single league game you can boast a crowd like that?

We have just sold out our 4,000 allocation to the match on Saturday, tell me when you last had 4000 go to any away game?

We had well over 2500 travel to Newry on Tuesday past. Which was just a bog standard league game.

So Pablo, come back when your small fry club starts winning things on a regular basis and starts getting crowds even close to 12,000 at least once a season.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

Quote Originally Posted by srfc-1901 View Post
    Is the game on the radio anywhere tonight?
    presume the radio coverage will be of tonight big game in Inchicore!

You not heading down for your love-in?

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Also could you answer the question, how many different Cork clubs has there been including the current one?

Who cares?

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Who cares?
    To be honest mate, I have an interest in Irish Football on this island and it is something I do not know, so that's why I am asking.

It just so happens that I asked the question in a response to an arrogant post by a cork city supporter.(who as a club I have no feelings for one way or another, but I am hoping we get you in the next round of the Setanta as you seem to be in good form and we haven't played you yet)

Here
    End of squabble.
    Looking forward to that too, although I might find it tough to get to Belfast.
    Would have been good to have ye at the Cross.

Yeah Rovers are always a big draw....for Guards

That's not what he meant.

He meant it'll be 4-4.

We could yet get a good old fashioned Bohs-Rovers-Cork-Derry-Linfield flame war here, as Dodge is away.
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

57 Posts
    From memory so open to correction

Fordsons - 20's early 30's
    Cork Bohs 30's
    Cork 30's
    Cork City (old one) 30's
    Cork United 40's
    Cork athletic 49-57
    Evergreen 51-59
    Cork Hibs 57-76
    Cork Celtic 59-79
    Albert Rovers 76/7
    Cork Albert 77/8
    Cork Alberts 78/9 (last 3 really the same club)
    Cork United 79-82 (no relation to 40's team)
    No team from 82-84
    Cork City.84-to date

Years roughly reflect when in the league

So at least 14 depending on whether you count name changes.

57 Posts
    More clubs than the winning Ryder Cup team tbh
    Kom Igen, FCK...

What is the (gist of the) reason for so many collapses and rebirths?

Quote Originally Posted by Erstwhile Bóz View Post
    What is the (gist of the) reason for so many collapses and rebirths?
    Good on the field, ****e off it basically! CCFC is now the Oldest Club and still going strong.

Worry about the Present and Future lads. Thats my advice to ye!

399 Posts
    Are you talking about a stadium that hold 14500 seats compared to your 6000?(or whatever it holds) Course the stadium looks so empty. And maybe I have got my math wrong here, but 20% of 14500 is 2900. Which to me is quite healthy and if your judging every week then you must be missing out our games against Glentoran. Also other games like Cliftonville and Portadown. So that would bump up our average even further.

We have 1728 season ticket holders for a start.

Also the part of the ground you see on tv is the Away stand(north Stand) and the bottom of the Kop which is closed off.

What you don't see his the 3000 seater stand behind the camera that is 80% full and the 200 - 400 hundred in the kop. And that is when we play unfashionable sides like Loughgall and Distillery. We get considerably more when we play Cliftonville, Coleraine, Ballymena and Portadown.

When we play Glentoran there was over 12,000 at it. Name me a single league game you can boast a crowd like that?

We have just sold out our 4,000 allocation to the match on Saturday, tell me when you last had 4000 go to any away game?

We had well over 2500 travel to Newry on Tuesday past. Which was just a bog standard league game.

So Pablo, come back when your small fry club starts winning things on a regular basis and starts getting crowds even close to 12,000 at least once a season.

Just to pick up on a few poinst here, I moved to Newry a few years ago, 1/ this game was effectively a title decider for Linfiled, not a bog standard game. 2/ It was a public hol in N.I (3pm kick off) 3/ The distance from Belfast is 38 miles.

To be fair to Cork their closest away game in Waterford, (100 miles ?), the furtherst Linfield have to travel for any away game would be possibly Omagh (maybe 80 miles) and their avg travel distance for all other games would be around 30 miles, so hardly a fair comparison. Also 2,500 for an away match for an effective title decider is nothing to boast about.

Finally 12,000 is an excellent attendance for Linfield v Glentoran but this is only achieved when both are doing well and its a flash in the pan compared to the norm.

Linfield need to get out of the Irish lge or start a campaing to switch to summer football, otherwise their very poor european record will only continue.

399 Posts
    I forgot to say I was at a 12,000 crowd match in Cork once, 1991, a last day title decider for both clubs (which we won)

Also I`m sure they had close on 10,000 for a Derry City game 2 years ago ?

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post

Also I`m sure they had close on 10,000 for a Derry City game 2 years ago ?

Officially 8,000 but that was just to shut up the H&S Id say. We could have sold 20,000 for that game Id say.