Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: The Ronaldo Debate

A disgraceful article which insinuates that it is ok to kick a player but not dive.

WITH talk of a world-record breaking bid from Real Madrid in the summer, Cristiano Ronaldo signed a lucrative new deal with Manchester United last week. He's being crowned anything from United's greatest ever number seven, to the world's best player, to one of the true all-time greats. It seems as if nothing could go wrong for him at the moment, but it's not just the RTE panellists who aren't fully behind him.

Middlesbrough's captain George Boateng famously issued Ronaldo with a bit of advice - cut out the showboating or you'll get yourself hurt. Showboating is great to watch, but more often than not, it is done at the expense of an opponent. Given there are so many defenders out there already on the receiving end of countless step-overs, nutmegs and backheels, it's fair to say Boateng is not alone in his thinking. In fact, I know he's not.

There was one occasion last season in the Premiership when United's opponents, who shall remain nameless, clubbed together to offer a reward to the player who could kick him highest in the air. It was the players' idea, with each one contributing £100. The overall pot of a little under £2,000 was paid to the 'winner' at training the next day. I'm sure many fans would be appalled at the idea of the most skilful, entertaining players being targeted in this way. It is the old-fashioned way to deal with skilful players but, despite the tighter restrictions on the pitch, it still has its appeal.

As the season has progressed, the hype surrounding Ronaldo has seemingly peaked. He is receiving the ultimate accolade. We are now being told on an almost daily basis that Ronaldo is the greatest player we have in the world today. Alex Ferguson has said it and anyone else at the club who has been asked has agreed with him. To be fair to them all, though, if you're asked that question by reporters about your team-mate, it is very unlikely you'd respond saying you preferred Ronaldinho or anyone else.

For Patrice Evra to compare Ronaldo to Maradona, Best and Pele is a step too far in my mind

Their opinions are worth listening to because they are perhaps best placed to judge his talents, for they work with him all week. They can see how he performs in training and how hard he works in the gym. They've seen and heard all the criticism and abuse he has received at away grounds following his role in Rooney's World Cup sending-off, and more importantly they've seen his superb reaction. But for Patrice Evra to compare Ronaldo to Maradona, Best and Pele is a step too far in my mind.

He may be very entertaining to watch, but there's a side to his character which infuriates. On too many occasions we have seen Ronaldo diving and cheating his way through games. Many within the game call it professionalism, or 'showing experience', and maybe if I was still playing I'd be calling it the same. However effective it is in conning referees, though, it looks terrible and sets the lowest standards to aspiring footballers. It's disappointing that one of the few players in the Premiership with enough genuine pace and skill to beat any defender in Europe should act this way.

Whether or not he's the world's best is obviously a matter of opinion, but it's certainly not mine. Ronaldinho, Kaka, Cannavaro and Henry can all do things in ways others cannot, but the player I would pay most to watch is Wayne Rooney. There is a real work ethic there, an awesome talent and an attitude I would instil in every young player. No cheating, diving or play-acting, and a willingness to defend when the need arises. Though not at his very best right now, he is a real footballer.

As a striker, playing alongside Ronaldo would bring with it a fair amount of frustration, simply because you'd never know when to dart free from your marker in anticipation of a cross. Beckham at his peak, for example, played the position the way it should be played in my view. He took one touch, looked up, and picked out a team-mate with incredible accuracy on most occasions. Nowhere near as entertaining, but when you're on a pitch, winning is the primary objective.

We've all been impressed with his dribbling, his pace, his strength, and his overall skill levels, but Ronaldo has yet to get anywhere near the standards set by United's previous number seven when it comes to delivery. Call them right-sided midfielders or wingers, but for all their entertainment value, they should be judged solely on their output. This is an area he needs to improve on considerably before he can be compared to players of true greatness.

He is immensely talented, and at such a young age it would be safe to assume he'll get even better if he keeps his head

He is immensely talented, and at such a young age it would be safe to assume he'll get even better if he keeps his head. He will most likely be voted the PFA Player of The Year, and has been the most in-form player this season. But to crown him the world's greatest, never mind hint he belongs in the company of Best or Pele, is far too premature. He may one day prove himself to be of that calibre, but we were told the same thing about a young Ryan Giggs, and a year ago the same was being said of Wayne Rooney.

He would do well to heed the words of Boateng, an experienced pro who knows that you cannot further your career or develop as a player while sitting on the treatment table. I doubt he will, though, which makes it a lot more entertaining for us all.

richiesadlier@hotmail.com
    In Trap we trust

214 Posts
    I don't even think Ronaldo dives nowadays. He was guilty of it earlier on in his Man Utd career but other than the Boro game (FA Cup game this season) I cannot recall many instances since he returned from Germany. His speed and momentum more often than not makes him tumble. He doesn't roll around like Drogba and Joe Cole, he jumps straight back up.

Yesterdays game was a disgrace, Drogba was screaming in pain - I thought he had broken his ankle but once he got to the touchline he was fine!!! He infuriates me at times.

I do hope UEFA consider sending players off for play acting and rolling around. It would be an unpopular decision but would hopefully deter players from doing it.
    Last edited by shakermaker1982; 16/04/2007 at 2:44 PM.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

I think Boateng is more of a disgrace to be honest but something in our minds think its ok for hard men players but not ok to dive.
    In Trap we trust

Anyone who thinks Ronaldo doesn't dive anymore should have a chat with a Middlesboro supporter

Why they are seeing things through their viewpoint which is hardly impartial. Middlesbroughs comments about Ronaldo by Boateng and by Southgate were a disgrace.
    In Trap we trust

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Anyone who thinks Ronaldo doesn't dive anymore should have a chat with a Middlesboro supporter
    I presume you're referring to the FA Cup game, where if you are you're talking bullshít if you think he dived for the penalty.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Why they are seeing things through their viewpoint which is hardly impartial. Middlesbroughs comments about Ronaldo by Boateng and by Southgate were a disgrace.
    Fair enough, I'm a Sheffield Wednesday supporter, we've never even played against Ronaldo, and I'll say that he's still a diving scumbag.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    I presume you're referring to the FA Cup game, where if you are you're talking bullshít if you think he dived for the penalty.
    I was more talking about the league game, but if you ask me Ronaldo went down pretty easily in the FA Cup too, even with watching it again

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    A disgraceful article which insinuates that it is ok to kick a player but not dive.
    Spot-on article. In my opinion it is FAR worse to dive/feign injury/indulge in playacting to gain a free/penalty or get your oppenent cautioned/sent-off - it demeans the entire sport. Worst thing you can do on a football pitch (much worse than spitting too, despite the cliché )
    SIGNATURESCOPE

I am sure you would have not said that if Dessie Byrne had of ploughed into Joey Ndo on Friday night or Hunt pole axed Fahey with a two footer.
    In Trap we trust

but if you ask me Ronaldo went down pretty easily in the FA Cup too, even with watching it again
    When you're going at that speed even the slightest contact (and that wasn't slight) will knock you over.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    When you're going at that speed even the slightest contact (and that wasn't slight) will knock you over.
    Especially when you're a diving piece of garbage?

..... and a chance to out himself against Ronaldinho, Messi and possibly Kaka next season in a 'who's better' contest
    Is it not looking like Ronaldinho will be headin to Milan next year. I read a report on Skysports that suggested he want's to move to Milan to Kaka and Ronaldo rather than Kaka goin to Spain.

Either way I think Ronaldo should stay where he is. I wouldn't mind hearin what the Dunphy and Giles have to say when he reaches his peak.
    "1 day i will start hand.ie"
    Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.
    Hibs goin up!

Ronaldinho said two weeks ago he was staying for the remaining 3 years of his contract. It sounded like he'd leave then.
    At 29, that would still be a huge transfer.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Especially when you're a diving piece of garbage?
    Typical idiotic response from you, but I don't why I should have expected anything different.

How many of ye lads still play football, or have even played football competitivly?

Eh way to stay on topic feo.
    No way Ronaldo could have done what the worlds best young attacking midfielder did in the Nou Camp today or ever will.
    Here. Should be on youtube by the morning

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Eh way to stay on topic feo.
    No way Ronaldo could have done what the worlds best young attacking midfielder did in the Nou Camp today or ever will.
    Here. Should be on youtube by the morning
    i dont think you can compare them so he scores a cracker that doesnt make him better!. i scored a cracking scissors kick from outside the box a few mths ago and im not the worlds best!.
    ronaldo is the complete player he can tackle,dribble,shot,head,pass
    im a united fan and i can honestly say if he got injured at all this yr united wouldnt be where they are now thats for sure!. how do any of ye watch those gits on RTE they havent a clue on soccer, ronaldo is the best player in the world, if he plays like he is now for 4-5 yrs he will be equal to maradona same kind of players i wouldnt say he is now because things change but if he continues like this season for a couple more years theres no doubt.
    zidane??.... great player would call him a legand but not like top 3 best like i see here i.e maradona,pele,zidane........
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

I honestly think Messi is already the best player in th world. His main problem will be keeping fit. His performance against Real madrid a few weeks ago was unreal, his goal tonight even better.

I've thought the same myself for a while (definitely as an attacking player) but I think within two years, it'll be unanimous.

Why can't you compare them Gilberto?
    He's 19 aswell so if you're saying Ronaldo has some developing left, think about what he was like when he came to Man U at 19.
    They play the exact same role and position for their teams.
    Nobodys saying its just this goal either.
    Wouldn't have Cristiano down as a good tackler.

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    I've thought the same myself for a while (definitely as an attacking player) but I think within two years, it'll be unanimous.

Why can't you compare them Gilberto?
    He's 19 aswell so if you're saying Ronaldo has some developing left, think about what he was like when he came to Man U at 19.
    They play the exact same role and position for their teams.
    Nobodys saying its just this goal either.
    Wouldn't have Cristiano down as a good tackler.
    im not saying he's a center back kind of tackler he could easily play wing back.... i think ronaldo can play....both wings, center mid,striker and wing back... i mean you cant compare them just all-round didnt mean it literally....
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast