Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: RTE's The Premiership in FourFourTwo

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Which means Milan only have to win 1-0 or 2-1 to qualify. Of course it's a big advantage.
    It's also very misleading. I was watching the match at home with my mates and cos of George going on about the away goals one of the lads got very confused. 'So, will the score be 4-2 at the start of the next match?' needless to say he's not my friend anymore!

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    On the game itself, an excellent show and what about our man O'Shea? I thought of the Man U back 4 he was the best. His distribution seems to have improved and defensively he did well (ok, he was caught up front for a corner and Milan scored from the break but that wasn't his fault). Anyone else agree he is making good progress.
    O'Shea has rarely put a foot wrong when playing for Man Utd in defence. His performances in recent weeks have been some of the best in his career IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    O'Shea has rarely put a foot wrong when playing for Man Utd in defence. His performances in recent weeks have been some of the best in his career IMO.
    here here

And you will notice that he has not played at left back in all of that time. maybe Stan was right to play him right back on his natural foot. It takes away from Finnan but he is a better player than O Shea and maybe can handle the switch better.
    In Trap we trust

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    And of course all the panel agree with each other about Benitez being a poor manager: didn't he win the CL a few years ago or is my memory playing tricks ?

Sure he puts out teams that don't exactly dazzle but he's an astute manager and better than the credit he gets from Messrs Giles and Dunphy.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    here here

where? where?

Yours, P. Dant.
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    And of course all the panel agree with each other about Benitez being a poor manager: didn't he win the CL a few years ago or is my memory playing tricks ?

Sure he puts out teams that don't exactly dazzle but he's an astute manager and better than the credit he gets from Messrs Giles and Dunphy.
    They were spot on about Benitez last night. Zenden FFS! Anyone with a brain would have yanked Zenden off, put Bellamy out wide and brought on Crouch. Benitez gets his tactics wrong a lot of the time IMO.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    They were spot on about Benitez last night. Zenden FFS! Anyone with a brain would have yanked Zenden off, put Bellamy out wide and brought on Crouch. Benitez gets his tactics wrong a lot of the time IMO.

I agree that looks obvious to most people but Benitez knows the system and players far better than you, me, Giles and certainly Dunphy. Not sure I would have liked to see him "yank Zenden off" but I am sure he had good reasons for not replacing him. Let's see how the second leg goes where I expect Bellamy to be out wide and Crouch to start.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Does Bellamy not have a problem playing out wide.
    In Trap we trust

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts

YEAH AGREE
    zendon, and why so late to bring on crouch
    if you give benitez millions he will blow it all away

and for that CL final...what about harry kewell going off, i seem to remember that changed that game big time, .question begs..why was he on playing in the first place!

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    YEAH AGREE
    zendon, and why so late to bring on crouch
    if you give benitez millions he will blow it all away

and for that CL final...what about harry kewell going off, i seem to remember that changed that game big time, .question begs..why was he on playing in the first place!
    I think taking Gerard out of the middle and putting Hamman on Kaka had more of an effect on the game.

794 Posts
    Dunphy and Giles again agreeing with each other about Benitez but at least Brady disagreed this time and had a slight dig at them in the end when he said "Benitez got his tactics right" on the night. He plays Zenden more for his energy around the pitch and his tacking back than for anything positive and it works. Not pretty but pretty doesn't win games.

And why does Dunphy like the arrogant Mourinho? He said (both he and Giles agreed with each other and tipped Chelsea at the start) that if Chelsea lose it would mean the end of Mourinho which would be a pity.

He also called him poisonous before so he changes his mind all the time. No consistancy.
    In Trap we trust

In fairness they didn't gloat about Ronaldo tonight, or about Kaka ramming 'the best player in the world' claims down his throat over both legs, and if I were them I would have, given the abuse they have recieved over maintaining Ronaldo is a good player, but not great.

Good comparison with Totti tonight, in so much he has talent, but loves himself too much and doesn't have the best footballing brain

Zenden was excellent last night and a cool penalty, so why would he take him off?
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by d f x- View Post
    Zenden was excellent last night and a cool penalty, so why would he take him off?
    That remark was made after the first leg, when Zenden was indeed utter ****e.

Dunphy last night; "Playing the likes of Sheffield United and Bolton gives you a false sense of reality. Reality, is Kaka." Twas a good one

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Dunphy last night; "Playing the likes of Sheffield United and Bolton gives you a false sense of reality. Reality, is Kaka." Twas a good one
    And does AC Milan playing the likes of Chievo, Messena and Ascoli not give them a false sense of reality?? Easy to scoff at the less fancied English teams.

They of course gloated over Ronaldo's poor game, and had the clips prepared. "Great player!!" they scoffed. But hadn't they also said that Rooney and Scoles were "great players" and they were equally ineffective as was all the Man U team but no snippets of them. Balance, balance balance: none as ever. Laughing Bill, well he just laughed like the gombeen he is.

I thought Heinze gave one of the worst performances I have ever seen by a Man U player. How he stayed on the pitch and O'Shea came off is beyond me. He perpetually gave the ball away and played Vidic into trouble for the second goal. Giggs seems to be a spent force and I am not sure if Fletcher will make the grade. Pity Man City will be without Barton for the derby game (I assume). COuld be spicey.

[QUOTE=OwlsFan;678072Pity Man City will be without Barton for the derby game (I assume). COuld be spicey.[/QUOTE]

why is it a pity
    In Trap we trust

794 Posts
    Because he's one of their best players and would make for a better game if he's playing. I would like to see City win and Chelsea beat Arsenal so that the Premiership become open again: makes for better viewing.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast