Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Derry v Cork on Monday evening

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Hynes signing for Derry was the most shocking signing I've seen in this league.
    I was surprised to see him replace Beckett when McHugh still on the bench.

Football fans by their nature are fickle.

Decent challenge for Fenlon to prove himself & turn things around as Derry City should be able to make top 4 in the league with ease as those below are poor. Losing at home will always turn fans on the manager - would be better off getting thumped away from home.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    ...would be better off getting thumped away from home.
    That will happen too, give him a chance...

Fenlon was a great manager for Shels but he also spent a lot of money,he could have almost any player in the league at one stage,those funds aren't at his disposal this year and it seems he is being found out but i also agree that a few Derry players don't look bothered when they are playing.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    Fenlon was a great manager for Shels
    I wouldn't say that with certainly. A lot of people - myself included - would argue that the fact he could outspend any club in the league by a distance covered over the fact that he wasn't a great manager with Shels. His start with Derry seems to be bearing that theory out.

675 Posts
    Very few of the players have come out of the last few games with any credit and all the pre-match huddles in the world arn't turn things around.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

43 Posts
    If we had a decent keeper we would not be having this debate. Jennings and Tidman are awful. The defence has had no confidence in them at all therefore we have been shipping goals. Tidman deserved his start as Jennings had to be replaced. Tidman now deserves the boot. Fenlon should give young Ferry a chance and in July get either Gerard Doherty from TNS or Saul Deeny from Notts County, two local lads who will be proud to play for Derry. It'll be our only chance to avoid doing a Longford in Europe by getting one of these guys.

However, Fenlon has to take the blame for the way the team are performing and the fact he failed to sign a quality goalkeeper.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

I agree 100% with lofty9, our defence has no confidence in our goalkeepers abilties as do most of the fans and eugene ferry should be given the chance.

As for dcfcsteve i canot argue as you clearly demonstrate a know it all attitude. I was just saying what i heard last night. And im sure you were speaking to kevin derry about his injury and saw him last night otherwise you would not have responded as you did. For the records i have never been on derry city chat...but i suppose you knew that too.

Quote Originally Posted by elliott06 View Post
    As for dcfcsteve i canot argue as you clearly demonstrate a know it all attitude. I was just saying what i heard last night. And im sure you were speaking to kevin derry about his injury and saw him last night otherwise you would not have responded as you did. For the records i have never been on derry city chat...but i suppose you knew that too.

For "know it all attitude", read "fed-up to fcuk with the ridiculous number of rumours flying around" at the moment....

But sure - you keep on spreading them, if it makes you feel important to tell people that you've heard something they haven't from a nameless, faceless source you couldn't possibly reveal........

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    I say he knows more than that even
    Certainly more than you anyway RT......

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    Fenlon should give young Ferry a chance and in July get either Gerard Doherty from TNS or Saul Deeny from Notts County, two local lads who will be proud to play for Derry. It'll be our only chance to avoid doing a Longford in Europe by getting one of these guys.
    Why do we need a Derry-born keeper ? The team's packed full of Derry people at the moment, and they're not exactly exhibiting much pride in the cause....

I don't give a feck where a new keeper comes from, just so long as we get a decent one.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Why do we need a Derry-born keeper ? The team's packed full of Derry people at the moment, and they're not exactly exhibiting much pride in the cause....

I don't give a feck where a new keeper comes from, just so long as we get a decent one.
    Coleraine Keeper Davy O'Hare is a very good keeper and is capable of keeping you in a game single handedly.

He might not be a long term solution, but he would certainly do for 2 seasons. I reckon you could get him for next to nothing from Coleraine, who are unlikely to turn down any sums of money as they are in dire straights financially.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

I wouldn't say that with certainly. A lot of people - myself included - would argue that the fact he could outspend any club in the league by a distance covered over the fact that he wasn't a great manager with Shels. His start with Derry seems to be bearing that theory out.
    The crap himself and the players went through last year and they still managed to win the title,i don't think another manager in the league would have done that.

3,491 Posts
    Maybe, but then look at the previous year, for example, when Shels were down in mid-table for a large chunk of the season and only ended up third; with the squad they had, they should have been walking away with the title the past three years, but haven't.

I'd put Fenlon in the same category as Doolin to be honest; a manager who's doing well, but more because of the open chequebook in front of them rather than their own ability.

Both have had relatively open cheque books but Fenlon has largely delivered so i think unfair to lump together, I know Doolin won the Setanta Cup & at the risk of been accused of being bitter even Matthews won a few cups with Longford.

64 Posts
    Is no one going to give Cork a bit of credit for their performance? Once again Rico doesn't go against his principles, win or lose his team will always try to play football. Derry haven't got the players for the type of game Fenlon wants to play, which is the reason for their slump imop. I guess for Derry fans it's a case of which side of the fence you're on, the one where you want the days back of playing 'effective' football under Stephen Kenny and want Fenlon out, or are willing to give Nutsy time to get the players in he wants to see a more fluent style.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

3,491 Posts
    Maybe pete, but Fenlon seemed to have a larger chequebook, and so did better with it (although Drogs are racking up Shels-style losses, so maybe not). But they do share the woeful eye for a signing it seems (Tidman, Hayes from reports here, Fitzpatrick, the numerous rubbish signings Doolin made for us, Alan Cawley at Shels and Pat Sullivan at Drogheda who were both subsequently hardly ever played, etc), and a tendency (from what little I've seen) to play excessively defensively - Fenlon seems to play the same 4-5-1 for Derry that he did for Shels in Europe which frustrated the hell out of many, while Doolin's formation usually involves putting ten men behind the ball and then hitting you very fast on the break. Neither manager ever really seems keen to let the team play to its potential.

So yes, Fenlon's won more, but I think in a broad sense, they're very similar managers.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 10/04/2007 at 5:30 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    or are willing to give Nutsy time to get the players in he wants to see a more fluent style.
    He made a dog's arse of signing new players before the season started - completely failing to solve the critical lack of a first team keeper, most importantly - so how much time are we expected to give him...?

Steve it appears to me that you have too much to say for yourself here.

Without bringing people into it, deery was supposed to be on the sub bench last night and i assume young mc glynn also however they were sent home for confrontation...that dosent mean they have to go home, they can watch the game still. He isnt injured. That is also reliable information from a member of the board for Derry City. Now lets leave it at that.

Also to be fair hoopy even though Cork played some decent stuff last night they wernt all that much to get excited about. They got three goals as a direct result of 3 errors from the city gk and derrys own degrading performace made cork seem so much superior. Its not a case of how good cork was but how terrible derry were. But im gonna give credit to some players who played well like farren; despite his frustration he ran himself into the ground and has been so far this season and eddie mc callion was playing with a positive attitude.

The game last night produced some good goals especially Behans which was a cracker..5 goals in any match makes good tv viewing .I think Derry City are unsettled at the moment and I think Cork City played them at a good time ,I reckon in time Derry will start putting a good run together(hopfully around the time there in Champians league)...Im delighted with last nights result,I think Darragh Ryan is slotting into Danny Murphys position brilliantly good signing by Rico..
    Last edited by A face; 10/04/2007 at 10:14 PM. Reason: Typo

First half hour or so was good viewing OK, while it was still evenly balanced, but Derry started to disintegrate once McCourt went off and they'd no plan B except to lump it long - no creativity in the middle and while Farren ran himself ragged, he was always chasing lost causes.

Second half was muck, Cork basically just had to see out the game and pick off a couple of handy additions to the goal difference. Behan's finish was good though.
    Revenge for 2002

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast