Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Derry v Cork on Monday evening

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    Jesus - and people think we're fickle and prone to rumour-mongering. Not that I'm not delighted for Pat; He should have taken the Bohs job - might have been just as hated by fans but at least he'd be in Dublin.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    Jesus - and people think we're fickle and prone to rumour-mongering. Not that I'm not delighted for Pat; He should have taken the Bohs job - might have been just as hated by fans but at least he'd be in Dublin.
    Jennings must be ****ing himself laughing Dropped for THAT!

And UCD might get more than a dozen fans2

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    I wouldnt say we're fickle, more a case of disgusted at having to watch that every week. From the minute i heard Fenlon wanted to commute from Dublin told me he wasnt going to give the job full commitment. Derry are garbage to watch!! Its not so long ago that this forum was delighted that we were beating Gretna. We were a good team then. Good teams dont become bad overnight, unless your shels!! Fenlon also got a bit of stick from fans behind the dugouts and reacted badly to it, had to be restrained from Tony Gorman. There is a difference between having a poor spell and things getting worse, at the min things are getting worse.

Fenlon should have known better but it shows that he cares for the club and Im sure he along with his management team are bursting there balls to try and turn things around. They are winners and Im sure they aint one bit impressed with the way things have gone. It might take the year to turn things around but fans are fickle especially in Derry suppose you could add Bohs to that2

Oddly enough, I remember a conversation with another Bohs fan on the first day of the season; we were talking about who we expected to win the title, and when I said it should be Derry, he said that the Fenlon would never be able to do anything with that team, and that he'd be surprised if he lasted the year - his point was that Kenny and Fenlon were completely different kinds of managers and a team which had been successful with one wouldn't be able to deal with the other. He reckoned Drogheda would win the league because they are the only one of last seasons top 4 with the same manager and as strong - or stronger - a squad.

Good point! Probably not far away there!

74 Posts

We'll i'd agree with that. IMO you can add Cork if they get Farrelly and Healy playing. They are a good side as it is and those two will improve it. We'll be lucky to win anything this year

Don't know about Healy, but they'll be lucky to get 2 consecutive games out of Farrelly

Dont go jumping down my throat- Have for personal reasons soft spot for Derry. Have more of an interest in Irish soccer than whats over hear. As stated by CITYTILLIDIE they dont become a bad side overnight, but who was their manager last year ? It may not be proved for a few years but Ill say the last 2 seasons will one of the most entertaing sides they've seen, ever.History is already proving he gave Longford their most succesfull team ever (though early, they will go down and could midland power base be begining to be switched to Athlone). What do you say about Bohs ! Dunfermline were down when he arrived . The Eircom will be the apprentaship arena where one who will become the special one started-he no doubt has not even started. Thats the shame about Derry the level he took them to should at all costs be seen to be maintained. No way after what he achieved should the relegation dogfights of prior to the real special ones arrival, be returned to. Fortunes change from season to season but DERRY with their stature should be top 4 side wether 12 or 10 team league.

We'll i'd agree with that. IMO you can add Cork if they get Farrelly and Healy playing. They are a good side as it is and those two will improve it. We'll be lucky to win anything this year
    What's with all the hype about Farrelly, he's not that good!

Healy on the other hand...

Quote Originally Posted by cestlavie View Post
    fans are fickle especially in Derry suppose you could add Bohs to that2
    A lecture on supporter dynamics from a new member with 6 posts to his name and not even a whiff of what team he supports....

I've finally found something to fill that gap after the word 'irony' in my dictionary with....

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Great win eventhough City didn't play that well. Good to see so many inexperienced players playing well. Can't remember last time scored 4 in the Brandywell.
    Derry City very poor. Not the attacking threat they were at home last season.

April 2000
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

Good stuff, Keely should sign him up - I reckon he could do a job in the First Division in center midfield
    Who Cares?!

82 Posts
    Watching Derry last night brought back memories of a few years back when a few of the senior pros managed to single-handedly get rid of 3 managers in a short space of time.

Fenlon isn't the only one who has to take a cold hard look at himself.

Shocking

Last night was simply embarissing...over the past few matches derry have failed to impress on many levels however the problem is throughout the team.
    Take ola tidman for example if you search into google "ola tidman bad" you will see approx 10 sites illustrating how terible he is as he was selceted as the worst keeper people have seen for shefiled wednesday.!! His catching ,decisions & kick-outs was terrible. Suppose we never appreciated the contribution forde made to the team.
    Fenlon`s signings this season have been strange to say the least. Rogers being the only decent addition however hynes seemed a decent addition to the squad last night. We sign kyle moran for the year and two days later we let him go for the year?!?!?!?
    Team morale has dissapered...gareth mc glynn & kevin deery sent home before the match last night for arguing. During the match also some players did not seem interested.
    And least to say fenlons tactics cannot be justified!

Fair play to fenlon however as he approached the board and said that he undersatnds we are a big club which needs results and he isnt providing. He said he will understand if the board go in search for another manager.

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elliott06 View Post
    Last night was simply embarissing...over the past few matches derry have failed to impress on many levels however the problem is throughout the team.
    Take ola tidman for example if you search into google "ola tidman bad" you will see approx 10 sites illustrating how terible he is as he was selceted as the worst keeper people have seen for shefiled wednesday.!! His catching ,decisions & kick-outs was terrible. Suppose we never appreciated the contribution forde made to the team.
    Fenlon`s signings this season have been strange to say the least. Rogers being the only decent addition however hynes seemed a decent addition to the squad last night. We sign kyle moran for the year and two days later we let him go for the year?!?!?!?
    Team morale has dissapered...gareth mc glynn & kevin deery sent home before the match last night for arguing. During the match also some players did not seem interested.

Fair play to fenlon however as he approached the board and said that he undersatnds we are a big club which needs results and he isnt providing. He said he will understand if the board go in search for another manager

Were did you hear this???

Quote Originally Posted by elliott06 View Post

Fair play to fenlon however as he approached the board and said that he undersatnds we are a big club which needs results and he isnt providing. He said he will understand if the board go in search for another manager.
    A post straight out of the master-manual on rumour-mongering there Elliot.

Deery sent home for arguing ? You didn't stick around on the Derry forum for long enough to read past that rumour and see that he didn't play as he's injured, and ratehr than be sent home he was in fact watching the game from the old stand last night.

Fenlon saying to the board 'Aye, no worries if you want to look elsewhere. Sure I've only moved half way across the country to work here...'

Which taxi firm do you drive for.....? Spreading nonesense like this doesn't help anyone.

Not to rub anything in, but just so yis know, Peter Hynes is rubbish. For the calibre of player that Derry should be looking to have on their books following their strides in the last couple of years, Fenlon signing him is baffling.
    He is a very ordinary 1st Div player at best.

When Hutton was interviewed by Setanta before the game the reporter asked him "How much of a boost is it to have Peter Hynes available for tonight" the response was something along the lines of "Eh...well he's a big lad...so he gives us an option...ye"

Hynes signing for Derry was the most shocking signing I've seen in this league.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast