While you have a point, they did the exact same thing with John Harbison and it didn't get him killed.
Another day another murder.
Some lad in Dublin was killed last night and, while I haven't seen an RTE TV news bulletin yet, I'll take any bets their coverage includes footage of Marie Cassidy getting out of her car (showed the reg plate and all at least once). Is there any good reason for this as it seems kind of reckless? We know the state pathologist goes to murder scenes. Do they have to tell us every time and worse again show the woman -whose evidence I assume is going to be crucial in securing a conviction? No other news broadaster I know of does this.
Are they actually trying to get her whacked or is this just an RTE quirk (like not giving out LOI first division results)?
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
While you have a point, they did the exact same thing with John Harbison and it didn't get him killed.
Fair comment ...though John Harbison pleaded for an assistant (and got Marie Cassidy hired) in case anything happened to him exactly because there was any number of cases that were going to be relying on evidence gathered by him to secure convictions. In that context where so much depends on so few it does seem reckless and feckless to keep pumping the profiles of the crucial individuals involved.
I read on Aertel it was Marie Cassidys assistant who went to todays scene ...which again had me wondering "do we actually need to know that?". Don't get me wrong I'm not advocating a police state where people are convicted by faceless, nameless individuals fully kitted out in trenchcoats, crombies and shades ...just a bit of basic cop on.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
Don't get me wrong either, I think RTE are morons for doing it, I was just making a point. RTE newsies are a bit thick sometimes.
I can only assume that she hasn't complained about it herself yet, so it can't be a particular threat or anything.
At the same time security isn't her bag ...she's a pathologist and she shouldn't haveto be complaining.I can only assume that she hasn't complained about it herself yet, so it can't be a particular threat or anything
I wonder has the topic ever come up at any level in RTE -editorial, sub-editorial... I know a couple of people in RTE -might be worth an e-mail just to see what they say.
Incidently - saw an RTE bulletin earlier with footage from the crime scene. Marie Cassidys assistant must've popped out of a man-hole because he/she was conspicuous by his/her absence. Proper order too.
No, but if she had an issue with it, you'd have to imagine she'd have raised the issue a long time ago.
It's a grim murder in some sinkhole in Darndale or Moy Ross, RTE need a bit of glamour to keep people form switching over to American Idol.
Come on... Dr. Marie Cassidy... I would.
Cogito ergo Bohs
The camera loves her or something.Plus not featuring First Division results or information is also a quirk of the Irish Times ( no longer the paper of record on that basis alone)
Woah dudes. That's only one step away from necrophilia.
Revenge for 2002
If Marie has OT built in to her contract she must be pure raking it in at the moment. Salad days indeed in North Dublin for the State Pathologist.
www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football
It reminds me of that Zen Buddhist question...."If a state pathologist gets murdered in the forest, who examines the body"
"I just came in to buy a stamp"-Padraig Pearse, April 24th 1916
No i wouldnt she is wrecked.Come on... Dr. Marie Cassidy... I would.
http://www.dcu.ie/news/2006/apr/images/mariecassidy.jpg
Last edited by pete; 26/04/2007 at 10:31 PM. Reason: quote fixed
(i know someone will say its only a film/show etc.... but these big-time criminals are arrested a few times in real-life and would also know the detectives that are dealing with them) in fairness when watching films before id often wonder why certain cops who we'r onto an individual wouldnt be killed like they know his name(could easily find out his address etc...) i think its a case of ''well shes not interfering with me directly'' kind of a thing!. you'd hardly go and kill her because it MIGHT affect you sometime...... most crims are too brainless anyway to think of killing her!!.... plsu how many even watch the news??
wonder is she as good as quincy??... many a murderer Quincy un-velied in his days!!.... he made the job cool(they are both the same right??)
There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D
just resurrecting this thread.
They've (RTE) now gone and made a 3-part documentary about her.It's on Mondays at 9.30 (might've started last monday actually ...if so I missed it).
This is getting close to fetishist. I'm no securocrat but I do believe that woman should be able to run onto the set of the main evening news, happy-slap the newsreader and be unidentifiable to all but the 'branch.