Thread: Most annoying DJ's

Tony Fenton, Ruth Scott and Ray Foley all wreck my chops.

I'm a big fan of Matt Cooper, Ray Darcy and above all Tom Dunne

Also - fair play to Darcy for slagging off the Catholic Church. Not enough people do it.
    Last edited by finlma; 11/04/2007 at 8:43 PM.

Like many others I gave up on 2FM at least 10 years ago. Are the DJs still twice the age of the listeners? This topic brings back memories of Gerry Ryan manufacturing audiences with wind up attempts so lame they wouldn't work here. Still can't understand what the purpose of 2FM is as a public service broadcaster in receipt of tv licence money.

I used to listen to Today FM but moved to Newstalk when they started. If I want music switch to MP3 player. I don't get to listen to him as much as I would like but Sean Moncriff is best radio show host by some distance. Radio is the perfect medium for his humour.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I don't get to listen to him as much as I would like but Sean Moncriff is best radio show host by some distance. Radio is the perfect medium for his humour.
    Agreed.

Ernie on Q102's "love zone" late night show (Mrs Raptor listens to it in Bed ) sounds like a feckin' paedophile

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Sean Moncriff is best radio show host by some distance. Radio is the perfect medium for his humour.
    yep!!

144 Posts
    Ann Marie Kelly irritates the hell out of me with her catch phrase
    "And coming up in the next hour"

D'Arsey is also a bit painful.Tries to be everybodys friend but I can't help thinking there is something more sinister in that mans make up.

Don't mind Gerry Ryan, The only radio I listen to is Ian Dempsey and Tom Dunne and of course Trevor Welchs Big Red Bench at the weekend.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Gerry Ryan and Tony Fenton I hate them, they should be shiped off to Mid West Radio! Think the Ray Foley show is good gives a change to the afternoon.
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

Women DJ's in general are very irritating... it's the whole 'i think i'm funny' thing that gets me.

Basically anyone on 98fm in Dublin too
    "People say football is a matter of life and death, I believe it is much more important than that".

250 Posts
    Tony Fentons fake accent does it for me.
    John Clarke = zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

112 Posts
    Johnny Vaughan on Capital FM over here is a cretin. Some female dj’s are grand, but its the laugh along with your jokes type on breakfast radio that annoy me. Take a bow, Jenny Kelly, Brenda ODonoghue et al.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Pretty much only listen to talk radio these days, if I listen to music I prefer my own choice (think this how older people get out of touch!). If I was to listen to music, it'd be phantom. Don't think I even have 2FM tuned in.

The sport on the Newstalk breakfast show is just about keeping it on in the morning. Clare Byrne is the most irritating person on radio - always trying to be smart when she clearly isn't, and always trying to be controversial. Being top notch eye candy doesn't really cut it on radio. Kinda flick between that and Morning Ireland these days.

Like Anne-Marie Kelly in the early breakfast show, but it just doesn't seem to work when she stands in for others later in the day. Dempsey should've retired 5 years ago. Don't mind Darcy to be honest, but wouldn't be listening that often and can see where the irritation could come from. Ray Foley is okay to listen too, but would say he could get irritating after a while too.

Really enjoy the Moncrieff show, when I get to listen, but wish he'd give longer to the features. Always seems to rush the finish. Would've listened to Hook most in Drivetime, but now he's just double jobbing as the Dick Roche and Michael McDowell fan club. Really disappointing that he doesn't see through two of the biggest spoofers in politics and gives them so much of an easy ride they are falling over themselves to be on the show. So kinda between Matt Cooper and him now.

Evening's would've been Tom Dunne, but Off The Ball easy winner since Newstalk went national.

Love newstalk, particularly moncrief, and the lads on off the balls...that ger gilroy is an annoying smug git

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    Love newstalk, particularly moncrief, and the lads on off the balls...that ger gilroy is an annoying smug git
    I agree. Its great Gilroy gone to morning radio as he gone before my commute.

You can't have female DJs for the same reason few female comedians. Its the guys job to make jokes for women to laugh at.

Colm & Jim Jim, can't stand them.
    They are pure ****e TBH and i'd say most People change stations when they come on the radio,well at least we in work do.

There was just an add for their show on the radio as i write this...Terrible stuff.

Best DJ has to be Will Leahy.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

The chat shows on any local radio are awful.
    There was a woman on Neil Prendeville today complaining about vandalism at her families grave.
    When Prendeville said security should be tightened, kids have no respect etc etc . . . . . . she said they should move it.
    Move the feckin graveyard.

How the fcuk would that work?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    Actually think he's alright. 2FM is by far the best raio station if you want to listen to any new music (phantom excepted but not always a great reception).

Tom Dunne's grand in the evenings but rubbish when he's in for D'Arcy, which is saying something as I detest D'Arcy. The morning guys on Spin make me laugh more than they should. Don't know why. Used to listen to hook but he's believing his own hype now and irritates me more than he should

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    Yeah i like him all right.Used love the Saturday show he used do.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months