Thread: Flukey Bets

Flukey Bets

me and my mate were in today and the league trophy was on.

20 mins in to et.. odds are pretty much equal for both teams..i take doncaster
    he takes bristol rovers..

€1 apiece for the craic.

i turn around and just i finished puttting on the bet doncaster scored...legendary!

Did an unlikely Acumilater a few years back
    was grand national saturday and fa semi weekend
    so my self and a colleague decided €10 each on red maurauder to win the national, Prince Nazim Hamid to get beaten that night , Schumi to win the GP next day and Liverpool to win the FA Cup
    got something like €1200 back on the €20 not bad for a days work

my best was a 400/1 seven timer on an international friendly night some years back. we were playing the US, the doc headed the winner with ten minutes to go, holding a special place in my heart since! other heroes on the night were luxembourg who came from 3-0 down at home to liechtenstein to snatch a miraculous draw. some may say flukey, my local,non-chain, bookie was certainly of that opinion!

3,488 Posts
    dmandmythdledge was just inches away from scooping a grand on the Sligo-UCD game - E5 on Alan Mahon to score the only goal at 175/1, along with side bets (us to win, Mahon to score and us to keep a clean sheet) all adding up to a return of E1,068 on an initial E40, I think.

Course, the free hit the post, and then Sligo got a last-gasp winner...

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    dmandmythdledge was just inches away from scooping a grand on the Sligo-UCD game - E5 on Alan Mahon to score the only goal at 175/1, along with side bets (us to win, Mahon to score and us to keep a clean sheet) all adding up to a return of E1,068 on an initial E40, I think.

Course, the free hit the post, and then Sligo got a last-gasp winner...
    How would that have been a fluke?! Pure genius...

115 Posts
    Best fluke for me was in the golf.
    US Open, end of the eighties (golf was great value in those days, some bookies surprisingly weren't too clued in), got me da to put on a couple of bets while I was away, one of which was supposed to be Tim Simpson, who was in a bit of form, but I fecked up the names and told him Scott Simpson instead (he was the same price and all), who went on to win and I had him at 66/1!
    Only three quid each way on him though, not much of a gambler.
    Last edited by stann; 03/04/2007 at 1:02 AM.
    more bass

Always have a token bet on Olly in the Masters since I backed him at 50/1 the last time he won it.

All accumulator bets are by their very definition fluky!

Wasn't so much a fluke but a calculated gamble. I had €10 on Milan Baros to be the leading scorer in Euro 2004 at a cool 50/1.