Ma and Da is what we call them at home.
Ive a young 6 year old and he has always called me and the wife by our first names.
Ive never heard of it anywhere before.
As section 46, sub section 3 of the North Dub school of etiquette states:
When paying someones mother a complement you declare "Yer oul wans a brasser!!"![]()
Quoting years at random since 1975
Ma and Da is what we call them at home.
Ive a young 6 year old and he has always called me and the wife by our first names.
Ive never heard of it anywhere before.
If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later
FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT
Who Cares?!
Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months
I know a couple who have a young fella of 1 n 1/2. They have him calling them MAMA and PAPA, what the hell is that all about![]()
If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later
French surely.
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
Are they, respectively, an extremely fat female singer reputed to have obtained her talent for hitting the high notes after banging her head and a slim, moustachioed singer-songwriter, both deceased? If not, then that's outrageous.
Na, that would be grand if they were French but their Irish and Scotish,
I'll have to ask them what the story is cause its a bit stupid imo, can you imagine the young fella when he's older calling them MAMA and PAPA,he's in for some stick. Then again, my young fella calls me by my first name.
I always refered to her as Ma.....
as Dylan said on his theme talk radio show recently ".... a Mother is the only person that can have nine children and love them all equally.." for me that summed up what my Ma and your mum, Old dear, Mam,Old lady, Old Wan stands for and never forget it as you'll miss her when she's gone
Mums not the word
The reason why they probably say 'mam' in the North of England is because 'mam' is an old Celtic word that has survived into modern Welsh and Cornish as well as in regional dialects across England.
Just to shed some light on it for you lot.
I have no idea why they use 'mom' in the US, though.
"Mam(a)" is almost universal in Indo-European languages, though. The suckingesque "mama" seems to be the sound an Indo-European human kid will automatically make, all other things being equal, when it's feeding time and it wants its mother to 'present'. Hence mamma, 'breast', and all that cognate jazz.
always been mum for me
This is similar to the cake thread last year.
Always been Mum. I don't think she would answer to mam. Always felt it a common. Mam seems to be urban or very rural. Its possible Mum is middle class.
Its possible Mum is for people who think they are/want to be middle class
Perhaps. Lots of bona fide middle-class people call their mams "mum", though. And no hip youngster, if his finger is to be on the pulse, wants to be middle class or falsely portrays himself so to be in this day and age; the middle class is the pariah majority (and "mum" be its shibboleth).
Anyway, it's mad to think that people would try to pretend to be middle class (if theyr'e not) when they're talking to their own mothers. (Not that I would put it past them, most people being strange feckers.) How far can you climb, socially, in your mam's house, like?
Ma if I'm talking to her. Mam or Aulwan if I'm talking about her
The equivalents for the aulfella too.
Little Miss Dodge calls hers Mum. She's working class from Inchicore so its not a class thing (Her mam is from Wicklow...)
always been mam for me , that what she called her mam ( RIP )
if i called her anything else she would be shocked i reckon !
Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
I woke, and found that life was Duty.
naivety, perhaps, on your part I mean? It is not a question of one trying to be elitist to his/her mother, but the mother that dictates her beliefs onto son. Think about it.Anyway, it's mad to think that people would try to pretend to be middle class (if theyr'e not) when they're talking to their own mothers. (Not that I would put it past them, most people being strange feckers.) How far can you climb, socially, in your mam's house, like?
one sperm is not produced on its own.Little Miss Dodge calls hers Mum. She's working class from Inchicore so its not a class thing (Her mam is from Wicklow...)