Page 9 of 26 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo League Division 2 2007

So Terence is still there, heard something about him training with Boro at beginning of season, not true obviously. Robbie is still with ye? Handy man to have either up front or at the back, got a bag of goals with Celtic one season.

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    So Terence is still there, heard something about him training with Boro at beginning of season, not true obviously. Robbie is still with ye? Handy man to have either up front or at the back, got a bag of goals with Celtic one season.
    Ya there is a bigger squad and stronger than last season,only one player left (sammy earls) they have to cut the squad to 17 for matches is what i heard ,and there is good quality for a div 2 side from what i seen they should be there at the end of the season

Quote Originally Posted by couchpotato View Post
    in fairness, everyone that is praising cbar town seems to be slghtly biased. from a neutral position, they seem to be way overrated. they still havent solved their goalkeeper problem, new keeper way too small, weak and cant hold shots or crosses, star player jinx is four stone overweight although he still has the skill, the much praised cheeko in the middle of the park is going nowhere and now seems to get his buzz out off the ball tackles. take it from me, the town will be stuck in the depths of div 2 for many years to come!
    I also agree- spot on CP! They seem to rate themselves! What you hear from them is cockiness without the trophies. Players mentioned above have no ambition or desire, and dont know how to battle for a league title. They should take another look at why Ballyheane B beat them last year- wanted to win it more. Sammy had the right idea- what a competitor!

That is a scurlous statement, a Castlebar Town keeper been on foot.ie and posting about themselves!!!

Looking at the times of the 2 posts from the 2 Castlebar Town players........ nah that would be just too much
    Easy yop! - You dont want to get Another town keeper mad!!!

Who was the previous net minder? I thought Marcus was yer goalie?

For sure Jinx will add to your team without a doubt, he has bags of talent, but just needs to sort his head out and get off the booze a bit.
    Between himself and Paul Maye it will make a decent midfield.
    Is Terry Maughan still with ye?
    Marcus was. I hear his intimidation of his own players has come against him! By the way Yop I'm retired . The knees have finally given in!!
    Terry is still there, he's got a great shot on him just needs to learn to pass a bit more.
    They're fairly solid at the back Rob Moore & Quiggs are a good pairing with Steve Flynn at left. Right back needs to be sorted out tho.

Quote Originally Posted by mandarin frogs View Post
    I also agree- spot on CP! They seem to rate themselves! What you hear from them is cockiness without the trophies. Players mentioned above have no ambition or desire, and dont know how to battle for a league title. They should take another look at why Ballyheane B beat them last year- wanted to win it more. Sammy had the right idea- what a competitor!
    i was at that game that day and ballyheane were very lucky to come away with a win castlebar outplayed them and threw there own fault of not bein able to finish cost them the game neil ainsworth and johnny byrne should have started for the town that day

Quote Originally Posted by RuelFox View Post
    i was at that game that day and ballyheane were very lucky to come away with a win castlebar outplayed them and threw there own fault of not bein able to finish cost them the game neil ainsworth and johnny byrne should have started for the town that day
    i was at that game also. castlebar town were very unlucky. they just came up against a ballyheane keeper who played out of his skin that day. there was nothin getting past him.

no should have got game called off but cup not priority league the holy grail for this year we get promotion!

just to clarify genfitt had there own team got kicked out for busting a ball during a game was very dodgy pitch and very unhealthy to play on unless you worked for genfitt! Kiltimagh played on various pitches including kinaffe befor joining forces with knock gotta say pitch needs to improve as a player should be better.

Quote Originally Posted by secerts View Post
    played there a few times the less said the better moved to kinaffe (swinford) after that, then ballyhaunis, joined with knock after that & played on there pitch, was'nt great eather. great 2 have a right clubhouse & Pitch now.

Quote Originally Posted by town old boy View Post
    Marcus was. I hear his intimidation of his own players has come against him! By the way Yop I'm retired . The knees have finally given in!!
    Terry is still there, he's got a great shot on him just needs to learn to pass a bit more.
    They're fairly solid at the back Rob Moore & Quiggs are a good pairing with Steve Flynn at left. Right back needs to be sorted out tho.
    And wud u not head to America now to get the knees done?
    Didn't stop Paul Mc Grath.!!

So Marcus has feel out with Cbar Town, seems I am not that "crazy" so.

51 Posts
    Lads,

Great credit has to go to the Division 2 sides - 7 of them are into Round 2 of the AIB Cup and in all your talk - Castlebar Town and Erris Utd B were results of Round 1!

Also congrats to Cross Celtic!

Just want to add my congrats to all Div. 2 teams who progressed with some impressive results. Well Done!

Cool

in fairness, everyone that is praising cbar town seems to be slghtly biased. from a neutral position, they seem to be way overrated. they still havent solved their goalkeeper problem, new keeper way too small, weak and cant hold shots or crosses, star player jinx is four stone overweight although he still has the skill, the much praised cheeko in the middle of the park is going nowhere and now seems to get his buzz out off the ball tackles. take it from me, the town will be stuck in the depths of div 2 for many years to come!
    quinn / man of the match
    cheeko and jinks score two screamers.....
    any comment ??
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

pixie hows the league tables looking

Quote Originally Posted by gunner1 View Post
    quinn / man of the match
    any comment ??
    full credit to them, super result. defo the result of the day,seem c/bar town like this competion..

quinn / man of the match
    any comment ??
    c/bar town v the bombers next week-that should be a cracker and maybe a indicator as to which side is better equiped to be pushing for promotion. town had a good win over manulla at the weekend and will probably start favourites but ballyvary were unlucky not to edge out a impressive ballinrobe side who are top of the premier only going down in extra time. whos going to win it?

quinn / man of the match
    any comment ??
    well done to town on a mighty impressive win over manulla, i must say i was very shocked to hear the result, but everyone ive been talking to reckons it was deserved, but i stillfeel they will be too incosistent to push for a league title. there is no doubting a lot of their players have the skill, but a lack of concentration, a couple of short fuses and a few drink problems will cause them to lose games they should be winning. have been very impressed with their yound midfielder this seaso, johnny byrne.

Cool

well done to town on a mighty impressive win over manulla, i must say i was very shocked to hear the result, but everyone ive been talking to reckons it was deserved, but i stillfeel they will be too incosistent to push for a league title. there is no doubting a lot of their players have the skill, but a lack of concentration, a couple of short fuses and a few drink problems will cause them to lose games they should be winning. have been very impressed with their yound midfielder this seaso, johnny byrne.
    i would love to have your knowledge of the game , you would make a vary good manager (in the premiership in england)this is div 2 mayo league..
    you keep slating the town,whats the story??bye the way i not a town man i just love football

51 Posts
    Next weekend fixtures;

Sat 19th May – Div 2A

Castlebar Town v Ballyvary Blue Bombers 7.30pm
    Clew Bay Utd. v Erris Utd. ‘B’ 7.30pm
    Valley Rovers v Ballina Utd. 7.30pm
    Snugboro Utd. ‘B’ v Straide & Fox. Utd. ‘B’ 2.30pm (Sun 20th)

Sun 20th May – Div 2B

Ballina Town ‘B’ v Kiltimagh/Knock Utd. 2.30pm
    Cross Celtic v Hollister 2.30pm
    Glenisland Utd. v Castlebar Celtic ‘C’ 2.30pm
    Swinford ‘B’ v Ballyglass ‘B’ 2.30pm

Is the Glenisland Utd v Castlebar Celtic C game on next weekend lads?

i would love to have your knowledge of the game , you would make a vary good manager (in the premiership in england)this is div 2 mayo league..
    you keep slating the town,whats the story??bye the way i not a town man i just love football
    Some people just love to slate the Town and really don't want to see to see them do well under any circumstance. Certain people at Celtic and Ballyheane really go out of their way to make life difficult for a club which has enough hassles of its own! Are you from one of those clubs Couchpotato??!!
    Celtic have been after Towns ground for its youth teams for years. You would think they'd be delighted to have another local team trying to get serious about bringing through youngsters. Now that underage teams seem to be taking off for the Town hopefully it'll usher in a bright future!
    Great Result last Sunday. Always nice to silence the critics! Celtic in the next round.....you never know!!

Page 9 of 26 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast