Do sections A & B in Div 2 play for the same cup?
Who knocked them out?
Sorry just checked the scores there on Aertel!!!
Last edited by irishyop; 30/04/2007 at 8:41 AM. Reason: Checkd Aertel
Castlebar Celtic
http://www.castlebarceltic.com
League Results
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/440-01.html
Mayo League Tables
http://inform.test.fai.ie/Clubs/port.../default.aspx#
Of all the defeats we have had in the last year and a bit, yesterdays was the hardest to take. I know this may seem like sour grapes but we should have beaten ye yesterday. We had all the possession in the second half and got all the 50/50 decisions from the ref. Hitting the crossbar and a goalline clearance in the last 5 mins but just couldn't put the ball away.Having got that off my chest, I thought ye were well organised and well managed. The gaffer brought on subs at good times in the game and brought on 2 flyers towards the end. Ye seem to have gained a few decent players since last year and got rid of a headcase at the back!
I see that ye will meet Hollister in the next round, Considering that ye have beaten them already in the league, ye must be confident of getting to the semi's for the second year running. Best of luck in the next round.
Yestarday was an enjoyable game as it was a keenly contested game throughout - it was very close for the first half in which we scored a well taken goal and the defence and midfield was solid! In the second it was 50/50 until the last 10mins which in fairest ye supply alot of pressure and was unlucky not to scored but in fairest - the goalie had his 2 guys on the posts and in fairest - he clear it well - kong fu kick like![]()
ye have a very strong physical team - no 6 in midfield - very strong player and good headed of the ball and the no 9 was very pacey! your no 10 was hard to deal with in the air but thankfully we kept him far away from the goals ..... most of the time! i taught the ref give ye everything in the last 10 mins! i never seen decision he give in my life!![]()
good luck to ye for rest of the season and look forward to playing ye x3 in the league.
Hollister are not a bad side and will be tough to beat in the quarter final
the bommes got an early goal in the game first few minutes 1-0 up, the bommers two centre back were the best players on the pitch they conceeded little and defended brilliantly, ingy managed to pull goal back with a net buster in the 70th minute from a through ball from Paul Maye finished brilliantly from a tight angle, there was a big scuffle between both teams both teams traded punches however suprisingly no red card for anyone, penalty shoot out jinkys missed the crusial penalty after cat and mouse shoot out.. bommers progress even though they were dominated through out
Yeah the game was played in good spirits, and any messing that went on was totally down to the ref not being able to make up his mind. Sometimes when the whistle went you really didn't know which way his arm was going to point(Don't think he knew himself until he caught up with the action.)![]()
Hopefully the next time ye come up the dressing rooms will be finished and the pub will be open on time!! Pity it wasn't open when ye were heading off but we always ask the publican to close the morning of a home game just to take away the temptation!!
I wouldn't say Castlebar dominated the game they maybe edged posesion 60/40 but had very few clear cut chances. Ingy finished excellently but that was the only time the Bomber keeperwas called into action. Hard, tough, physical game with a bit of handbags thrown in for good measure. Not high grade stuff but entertaining.
Any report on the erris v k+K united game?
dismal performance from K&K we were missing several players (local wedding always some excuse when traveling to bellmullet) but played v poor at the back, comical ur painfull at times depending on your point of view! after playin a few sides now Swinford should do well in cup.
Great site been lookin for local soccer chat for awhile
was talkin to a ballyvary lad yesterday who said they had seven first team players missing, three sixteen year olds playing, a stand-in goalkeeper, two old lads in midfield and more than held their own against a fancied town team who were lucky that one of their players escaped with his life after committing a terible off the ball challenge against one of the sixteen year olds. any one from town out there to give their report.
We were missing a few first team players alright through suspensions, injuries and lads doing exams - 7 might be overstating it however. The challenge by the CT player was a little cynical, but fair play to everyone it was put to one side once the initial bust up occured and the rest of the game was played cleanly - tough but fair. I think everyone knew they were in a match afterwards. Looking forward to the three league games!
The challenge by the CT player was a little cynical, but fair play to everyone it was put to one side once the initial bust up occured and the rest of the game was played cleanly??????? this should have seen at least 5 players red carded plus several members & supporters sent from the ground,it was a disgrace and so was the refereeing........................2 bad teams & a bad ref
what Sunday morning dreams are made of!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it
Div 2 teams have got some tough cup ties this weekend. Best of luck to everyone:
Mulranny Utd. v Cross Celtic 3.00pm
Ballina Town ‘B’ v Ballina Town 3.00pm
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd v Castlebar Celtic ‘B’ 12.00pm
Glenisland Utd. v Swinford 11.30pm
Castlebar Celtic ‘C’ v Snugboro Utd. 12.00pm
Conn Rangers v Hollister 2.30pm
Manulla v Castlebar Town 12.00pm
Straide & Foxford Utd.v Clew Bay Utd. 3.00pm
Ballyvary Blue Bombers v Ballinrobe Town 12.00pM
Snugboro Utd. ‘B’ v Killala 2.30pm
Straide & Foxford ‘B’ v Fahy Rovers 12.00pm
Bangor Hibs. v Erris Utd. ‘B’ 12.00pM
Swinford ‘B’ v Kilmore
To be sure all teams have their work cut out, how are Celtic B playing this year who should we watch out for?