Too many people sitting down though. Some aul one behind me was driving me mad in the first half telling me to sit down...
Think this deserves a thread of its own.
Started off slow, but by and large the place (or at least the Davin, where I was) was hopping for most of the match. Superb atmosphere. What was the difference?!
Very slack stewarding too! Saw one lad with a tin of beer in his back pocket, someone a few rows over was smoking hash, bags were never checked, etc. I like. )
Too many people sitting down though. Some aul one behind me was driving me mad in the first half telling me to sit down...
Atmosphere was way better than sat, i think because the team played with a lot more urgency. There were more chances in the game too. But the section in the Davin, Cusack corner where i was still kept tryin to start the mexican wave and singin who are yaat the davin when people didn't join in. Also heard the "easy easy" chant from them a few times. Little scumbags are watching too much soccer am (although it is a great how!)
I think there were more proper fans in attendance tonight. Mainly because the whole "first game in croke park" wore off a little.
I was in upper cusask and the atmosphere was better than Saturday but at the same time it was a little quiet at times.
Don't get me started on the mexican wave. Absolute disgrace at a stadium when match is in full swing. Can imagine it's a little off putting for our players at times too.
See my post elsewhere.
Stewards were "soccer" fans.
I know them all from over the years at junior football level.
Once they saw who was there didn't want to know or get involved, even when the southern city fans moaned to them about us standing.
UCD bodhran banger deserves credit.
Alcohol, Cans, baby powers, half bottles were in good supply, if needed or wanted....................
As for the smell of hash...........................................so much for a no smoking stadium![]()
http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg
"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004
Atmosphere immeasurably better tonight.
Midweek games are football nights, gahheads were clearly all playing bingo or some such diversion.
Despite all the crap from the FAI and their best efforts to withdraw tickets, the EL section still generated a lot of the noise, without the support of the (woefully mistimed) samba band.
PS Soccerc if I'd known quarter bottles of Powers were on offer I'd have swapped you a coffee![]()
Davin Stand was the palce to be for atmosphere last night!! Excellent.
THE ****ING WEXICAN WAVE!! ****ing disgrace, are you not there to watch football?, this i hate with a passion and OLE OLE Shi t!!!
And well done to Aidom, for organising the flag in the empty seats Davin end behind goal. Saw it on TV when went home last night.
Fell asleep watching hilights (Drunk) so not sure if there was a close up of it.
Atmosphere was great last night, really enjoy being at it compared to Saturdays lacklustre atmosphere.
Chanting and singing more or less throughout the whole match,like a landsdowne night it was, think the hardcore ireland support was there last night to cheer on the team, my opinion saturday just seemed to be full of corporate heads and people there on freebies just wanting to sit in awe at the stadium.
It renewed my faith in the ireland supporters last night,
Yeah great atmosphere. I was in upper hogan and everyone around me was well up for it. No comparison to saturday. The mexican wave started when we were under the cosh as well. How anybody can start that when we are under pressure is beyond me.
Have to say "Stand up FTBIG..." works really well. The Slovaks added to the atmosphere too. I love night games.
P.S. The performance helped considerably too.
There were a group of about 15 young fellas at the edge of the cusack stand beside the canal end that spent the whole time game trying to start the mexican wave and were signing "who are ya?" at their own fans a few times. I really pity the fans of some of the Dublin eircom league fans if they have to put up with these spotty ****ers every week. I was very disappointed in the Slovaks for joining in the thing, they seemed like a good bunch bouncing around hill 16.
WELL WHAT A NIGHT .
The voice has gone and thank goodness the coffee is strong as I am shagged out . The pubs around the ground seemed to be up for it before and after the match . Now as the lower Davin I am just so happy that I am in there it was a great night top Atmosphere the whole end was hopping , the last ten minutes we were all stood up at the back as nobody wanted to sit down .
Just to top it all off we were all singing on the way out of the ground
I one final note I am so happy we booked we have everything booked for the two games in September as I am sure everyone will want to go now .
It was a top notch athmosphere last night but jesus, what would we do if we had nothing to give out about?
We have little to be worried about if your concerned about the use of mexican waves and when and where OLE OLE should be sang. Maybe we should circulate a "How To Guide On Support"
If mexican waves and OLE OLE are some peoples idea of having a bit of craic and supporting their country, fair play to them - it all added to the athmosphere.
CROWD v WALES - 4/10
CROWD v SLOVAKIA - 9/10
Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?
I had my bag checked on the way in. And there were about 10 others who were getting their's checked at the same time.
Agree about the atmosphere last night - was a big, big improvement on saturday's for sure. Although what is the problem with the Mexican Waves and Ole Ole - if ye don't like it, don't join in!
Was just a couple of rows behind you 'Stu - you really should get a proper stick to hit that yoke with instead of the poor programme![]()
Finn Harps Dot Com
www.finnharps.com
Have to agree with that about the atmosphere and the whingers.Doesn't the latest edition of the Lonely planet say 'The Irish are never happy unless they're never happy'.How true that is these days.It was a top notch athmosphere last night but jesus, what would we do if we had nothing to give out about?
MOT
I don't join in!!!
I'm their to support my team and watch the game, not have people (who couldn't be ar sed) watching the game to start standing up and blocking my view.
Hope i don't sound like a moany git but thats just how i feel. If you want to do the Mexican wave, take a holiday there and support mexico!!!![]()
What a night! I think that has put a kick back into the campaign. The atmosphere was seriously different as well. It really shows who went on saturday, with all due respect, were probably there for the day. But every game needs to have the support that we had there last night. It did lift the team when it was needed (2nd half in particular). It probably looks like a bit of craic to us but I'm sure it rubs on the players. If it helps them get that inch further we'll I'll gladly give it!
'And Crouch must score'