Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Atmosphere tonight

As far as I can see we do the Mexican Wave because we only have 4 songs or chants,ole,ole..stand up for the boys..come on you boys in green and ireland (clap,clap,calp),thats it.
    MOT

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    I liked the FAI seat covers in the Hill. They'll need a few more of them for the Cyprus game.
    They were FAI flags/banners not Ireland ones.

I got the Foot.ie flag laid out on the front (unsold) seats behind the goal at the Lower Davin end. Haven't seen the match on tv yet and don't know if it was seen (but Casso in an earlier post said that he saw it)

If the part at the Hill end is going to be kept to seperate away fans etc surely the FAI could make it a "flag zone" and let people put flags and banners there.
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by harpskid View Post
    Was just a couple of rows behind you 'Stu - you really should get a proper stick to hit that yoke with instead of the poor programme
    Thought I spotted you behind me alright. He was looking for another programme in the second half, don't think he got though.

Quote Originally Posted by GK for the Town View Post
    Nothing wrong with a mexican wave starting. Its part of the atmosphere aswel. Just cause it doesnt fit in to your prefect atmosphere doesnt mean ya have to start crying if one starts. It blended into a 'stand up for the boys in green' in the Davin which i thought looked and sounded quality.
    The whole thing about the mexican wave is that it takes everyone's eye off the game. On Saturday Dunne won a tackle and next of all everyone starts booin at the Wales fans for not continuing the wave. Now what's he meant to think. Again last night we're under pressure and these muppets start looking to start a Mexican wave. If you wanna do one go to a carnival.

The only reason it blended in with the Mexican wave was because people were standing up and signing trying to stop the wave!

Quote Originally Posted by casso36 View Post
    Bo ll ox!!!! ****ing about is what i would call it!!!
    I was on about standing for you boys in green, not the poxxy mexican wave

lower cusack setcion j seats 5 - 8. unreal atmosphere completely diffferent to saturday. everytime i saw the corner of the lower davin going i got up on my feet singing and everyone started getting up and singing.completely different to saturday wheni i was made sit down. our group started off a couple of chants as well that worked there way around the ground.

what i noticed today was there was 1 person every 6 - 10 seats away from eachother ( plants if you like ) that would get up, then the next guy 10 seats away would get up and so on and so forth, then the whole crowd would join in. brilliant. was this a ploy by the fai?

kingdom you mentioned you were in this section what seats were ye? there were a load of kerry boys in the front.

Thought the atmosphere was great and the lads responded to it!! As for the mexican wave anytime i see it at a game it's usually the dullest game ever (e.g. Sat). Was in the hill which was great but Davin stand looked like the place to be!! Heard a Few Ooh Aah Paul McShane chants aswell

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    UCD bodhran banger deserves credit.
    Bodhrán bangers, plural. Although I assume you're referring to Beavis, who was standing up a lot more than me.

Quote Originally Posted by harpskid View Post
    Was just a couple of rows behind you 'Stu - you really should get a proper stick to hit that yoke with instead of the poor programme
    Problem is I keep losing them under the stand in Belfield. The poor programme is in flithers now - only lasted an hour before the cover fell off into various different pieces. Had to move on to my guide book to Czechoslovakia, ironically enough!

Quote Originally Posted by casso36 View Post
    The problem is i souldn't have to stand because some inconsiderate ****ers decide to stand every 2 seconds!!
    Aw diddums. Did your poor legs get tired?

Don't think you're going to get any sympathy here. Stand up and stop complaining.

Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12 View Post
    As far as I can see we do the Mexican Wave because we only have 4 songs or chants,ole,ole..stand up for the boys..come on you boys in green and ireland (clap,clap,calp),thats it.
    Yeah, that's a problem alright. It's getting a bit better - Molly Malone and All You Need is Duff on Saturday, Super Kevin Doyle when Doyler went off last night, Super Keeper when Shay Given came down to the Davin at the end. Just need to get those started up a few more times and hope they catch on.

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    They were FAI flags/banners not Ireland ones.

I got the Foot.ie flag laid out on the front (unsold) seats behind the goal at the Lower Davin end. Haven't seen the match on tv yet and don't know if it was seen (but Casso in an earlier post said that he saw it)

If the part at the Hill end is going to be kept to seperate away fans etc surely the FAI could make it a "flag zone" and let people put flags and banners there.

Couldn't for the life of me see you last night, walked down a bit from where i was sitting and couldn't even see the flag. But when i got home last night stuck on the match and saw the flag at back of goal, now didn't get a great view of it. Then i fell asleep afte about 20 mins so don't know if a better view was available but will check tonight.

Upper Davin block 723 row P

Atsmoshere was definetly an improvement but having said that it was starting from a low base. a few comments

Choice of music before the game was ****e - the Proclaimers ? i would rather go to the dentist.

Anthem wasnt rushed made a big difference

2 people directly in front were different from Saturday as were the 2 to our immediate left.

Lots more singing/people standing up/shouting abuse/ encouragement generally giving a damn about what went on on the pitch.

Mexican waves have no place at a football match not even 3-0 up with 5 mins to go. They can however be negated by Stand Up for the Boys in Green.

Can whoever is in a large bunch of singers get The One Road going - it should be a great fan song but is rarely heard.

The band infront of Lower Davin - were awfull on Saturday and i think takes away from the fans themselves but i will admit they did get a few songs going. However it does feel staged and we really shouldnt need them.

Hopefully the FAI can resolve the tickets problems although i have absolutely no wish to move.

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    Can whoever is in a large bunch of singers get The One Road going - it should be a great fan song but is rarely heard.
    if you are starting an on-line unoffical petition of sorts on this can i proudly add my name. all that would need to be sung is the chorus. whats that 3 or 4 lines??

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    lower cusack setcion j seats 5 - 8. unreal atmosphere completely diffferent to saturday. everytime i saw the corner of the lower davin going i got up on my feet singing and everyone started getting up and singing.completely different to saturday wheni i was made sit down. our group started off a couple of chants as well that worked there way around the ground.

what i noticed today was there was 1 person every 6 - 10 seats away from eachother ( plants if you like ) that would get up, then the next guy 10 seats away would get up and so on and so forth, then the whole crowd would join in. brilliant. was this a ploy by the fai?
    I'm in the upper Hogan/Canal corner and everyone in my section seems to want to get up and sing. As soon as one person stand they're all up, it was the same on Saturday. Makes it much more enjoyable.

Change the words about a bit

We're on the one road,
    sharing the one load
    We're on the road to Switzerland
    We're on the one road, it may be long road
    but we're winning all the way..
    Doyler, Keano, Given and all!
    Dublin, Galway, Cork and Donegal!
    We're on the one road, singing along, singin' Irelands song

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06 View Post
    Change the words about a bit

We're on the one road,
    sharing the one load
    We're on the road to Switzerland
    We're on the one road, it may be long road
    but we're winning all the way..
    Doyler, Keano, Given and all!
    Dublin, Galway, Cork and Donegal!
    We're on the one road, singing along, singin' Irelands song

Not wanting to stray off topic but what is wrong with the original eg Belfast

Galway had a better powerpoint presentation so they got in. It's a whole new song after all.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    . It's a whole new song after all.
    Its a whole new song meaning better than the original. In the same sense of Scooby Doo and Scappy Doo being an improvement on the original

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Galway had a better powerpoint presentation so they got in. It's a whole new song after all.
    I don't agree. It's really hard to sing the lyrics to the tune of Right Here, Right Now.

Belfast isn't a county
    Antrim didn't sound good
    Ulster is already represented by Donegal

AND

I just wanted to put in Galway
    Last edited by Eire06; 29/03/2007 at 2:44 PM.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I'm in the upper Hogan/Canal corner and everyone in my section seems to want to get up and sing. As soon as one person stand they're all up, it was the same on Saturday. Makes it much more enjoyable.
    I was in the lower hogan/canal corner and have to agree as soon as a song got going or a group started standing up everyone got up and sang. Not sure if it is the better acoustics in Croke Park but the whistling at the end was deafining. Beats Lansdowne any day for atmosphere.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    We should try "The Greek" sometime...
    http://www.neufstream.com/tag/Derry/...ry-psg-derry:D

Its a **** but when they score 2 within a minute

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast