Thread: Call To Arms

Call To Arms

Lets not get into an argument about the team, the manager, the FAI etc.

This is our football team, the fans. Nobody else matters in comparison to how we feel about the football team and the joy that comes from seeing them win.

Lets get behind the team on Wednesday night. Make it a night to remember. Croke Park, under lights, midweek. This should be a special night, but circumstances out of our control(for now) are turning it into a chore to go to the game.

Get your singing voices out. Get your Flags and Banners out. Get them behind the Canal goal. Lets make the Canal end intimidating to the opposition. Lets make it inspiring to our boys.

Lets enjoy the night and stop moaning. If a player misplaces a pass, sing louder, don't get on his back.

Come on you boys in Green. This is our football team. Nobody elses.

good man , i second every word of that
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RogerMilla View Post
    good man , i second every word of that
    me too. only way we can actually have an impact so lets not waste it

I'm with that.

Put those banners and flags out to be seen. To fu&k with stewards and sponsors. Nothing better than seeing a see of tricolours at an Irish match.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Agree 100%. Fook the moaners and begrudgers and support the team. The players on the pitch last Saturday looked like they were giving it their all to me. It's not there fault Delaney appointed an inexperienced manager
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

100% - Players will respond to a crowd. And no doubt that they need us now.

Enough with the moaning - sadly this site, lansdowne and croke park is all too full of it. Myself included.

If you are there to support your country, support em. Leave the moaning until after 90 minutes. I remember not too long ago the crowd got a 9/10 for the czech game. Saturday would have been a 4. Lets make it a 10 tomorrow.

Ole Oles , Barstoolers, Eircoms and Premiership boys and girls welcome. Tri colours with Chelsea on em, GAA boggers, stand up or sit down, Mexican waves. Bring it on!

No regrets!
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    100% - Players will respond to a crowd. And no doubt that they need us now.

Enough with the moaning - sadly this site, lansdowne and croke park is all too full of it. Myself included.

If you are there to support your country, support em. Leave the moaning until after 90 minutes. I remember not too long ago the crowd got a 9/10 for the czech game. Saturday would have been a 4. Lets make it a 10 tomorrow.

Ole Oles , Barstoolers, Eircoms and Premiership boys and girls welcome. Tri colours with Chelsea on em, GAA boggers, stand up or sit down, Mexican waves. Bring it on!

No regrets!
    Is Right!

Maybe less of the Ole Ole's, and mexican wave???

By the way, every seat had a flag on saturday and nobody, well only a few bothered to wave them, so think it will be hard to get people to do it tomorrow.

What I think is powerful is Celtic/liverpool scarfs/flags aloft over the head behind the goal while singing Never Walk Alone or the Fields of Athenry. Really simple and a strong show of unity when everyone gets involved.

Im sure we did it in a play off against holland in anfield for Charltons last game too. Lump in throat, chills up the spine stuff.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

No problem lads
    I will have a few pints and will be ready for battle again as allways . Just 27 hours until kick off , can't wait .

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hp123 View Post

This is our football team, the fans. Nobody else matters in comparison to how we feel about the football team and the joy that comes from seeing them win.

Lets get behind the team on Wednesday night. Make it a night to remember. Croke Park, under lights, midweek. This should be a special night, but circumstances out of our control(for now) are turning it into a chore to go to the game.

Get your singing voices out. Get your Flags and Banners out. Get them behind the Canal goal. Lets make the Canal end intimidating to the opposition. Lets make it inspiring to our boys.

Lets enjoy the night and stop moaning. If a player misplaces a pass, sing louder, don't get on his back.

Well said hp123

Let's make the 12th man work tomorrow night.

Exactly. Let's do it

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    What I think is powerful is Celtic/liverpool scarfs/flags aloft over the head behind the goal while singing Never Walk Alone or the Fields of Athenry. Really simple and a strong show of unity when everyone gets involved.

Im sure we did it in a play off against holland in anfield for Charltons last game too. Lump in throat, chills up the spine stuff.
    portugal do the scarf thing during their national anthem and is really impressive.

what gets me is that there is a general perception out there (self proclaimed really) that we are the best fans in the world. would probably apply to our away fans ok but when you compare the usual home atmosphere with that of celtic, liverpool, turkish and greek clubs etc its generally like a sunday junior league match atmosphere in comparison with the odd exception

WELL PUT FAIR PLAY!
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

my sentiments exactly...do what we did against the czechs in landowne, get behind the lads....

NICE ONE - no more to be said.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

yeah the czech game was deadly some more of that would be good!!!

Hopefully get everyone singing same song at same time. I was in Davin upper and noticed at one stage the cusack and hogan singing totally different songs
    Just hope people can stop the negativity during the match

turn up the volume Wed night

Sick of hearing all the negative **** about the manager, team etc etc.Get behind the team Wed night and sing and get a proper atmosphere goin like the czech game.When the Lower davin stand start off the songs, will everyone join in properly.Last sat at croker was full of day trippers just wanting to be in croke park for the day....I was in lower cusack and the view was good, but the atmoshphere terrible...Turn up the volume for Wed lads....

Hang out the flags and banners

Oh ya, also dont mind the stewards or the sponsors, hang out the banners and flags.Its not a GAA match were at...its international football.

Well said. I agree 100%. There comes a point in time when you get sick with all the negativity of something. I think we're at that point. Never mind Staunton, we've got 11 players to give support to tomorrow night. Hopefully it will be a special one!
    'And Crouch must score'