Thread: GUFC 2 Drogs 3

37 Posts

GUFC 2 Drogs 3

What a game! We were 1 - 0 down in the first minute and 2 - 0 down a few minutes later. But we bounced back with a goal at the nick of half time.

United dominated the second half and Murphy equalised. The visitors were reduced to ten men when Byrne was red carded but still managed a winner on 95 minutes. Drogs had 3 chances and scored from all three.

There were 2045 at the game and the atmosphere was electric. The standard in the Premier has improved a lot since we were last in it. The Drogs manager and players got out of jail and celebrated like they had just won the Champions League.

At the final whistle, some of the home fans were caling the ref a w@nk€R but in truth, he had a good game and didn't desrve the abuse.

If we have more games like this, then it will ba an enjoyable season. Drogheda aren't worthy of their Favourites tag based on this performance.

Last edited by Paddyfield; 24/03/2007 at 6:18 AM.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

in all fairness to the drogs they missing a fair few players.
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

gutted.

just in the door from a few post match drinks.i jokingly said to my friend just before they took the free kick that it would be just like galway utd to concede here and sure as F**k we went and did.
    the lads showed great heart though.even though we lost if we play like that in most games then we will be ok because not all teams will have 3 shots and score all 3 against us.but all 3 goals were from poor marking though so if we defend like that then we may have problems.
    did anyone see derek o.brien actually go around the outside of his man and beat him before pulling it back for the equaliser???????i blinked when i seen this.but it was back to normal a few minutes later when hemanaged to send a cross out the gate and onto the dyke road.thats why hes so infruiating to watch.
    great game though.we will be ok i think,no need to panic.

meant to add.

just wanted to quickly add well done to gufct and co tonight for the new system in place,it was far easier and less hassle and the stewards were great as usual.good job.
    right its off to bed as i have work in 5 hours .

1,552 Posts
    Did Rogers play? According to www.finnharps.com FIFA cleared him to play today....

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fried_Chicken View Post
    Yeah but you lost and still only have one point in three games. Enjoy the Premier while you can.
    Thanks for the kind words Fried_Chicken. And who do you support? I notice that you are not proud enough to put your Club crest on your post.

On a hunch, I reckon you've got are from the midlands... do you support Athlone Town?
    Last edited by Paddyfield; 24/03/2007 at 6:26 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Fried_Chicken View Post
    Yeah but you lost and still only have one point in three games. Enjoy the Premier while you can.
    If we play with passion and commitment as we did last night when 2 down we will be in the premier for many years to come
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Gutted after last nights game. Great game and we dominated the second half. Tony made a brave decision to go with 3 in the back at 2 down and it worked v.well. Two bad points though would have to be the stupid free kick we gave away, there was no need for it, and his subs. O flynn was out MOM and looked like he was still going strong when taken off and murphy was playing the best out of all of our midfielders. Unlucky result but if we can play with 2 up front with that kind of commitment then then i think we will definatly hold our own this season.

Robbed!!!!!!!!
    Yes you can have my autograph

What a night! I was happy the way we were playing even though we were 2 down after 30mins. We showed fight passed the ball and didnt panic after conceding. Cousins and the lads were visibly disappointed with the loss. If we can replicate this week in week out we'll have little to worry about. Roll on Rovers.

Well done to the stewards they had a good system in place tonight for the season ticket holders.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

37 Posts
    Match report from OFFICIAL Drogheda website.

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts...?FixtureID=658

Eamon Zayed swooped in the 94th minute to head a fantastic winning goal at Terryland after the Drogs lost a two-goal lead and had Stuart Byrne sent off on 57. This was an eventful match for a number of reasons. the most important one being that the mighty Drogs strike force of Fitz, Fabio and Eamo scored for the second consecutive match with three brilliant goals. It was also eventful for Stewart Byrne's sending of and for referee Buttimer's performance. Loath as I am to take quill in hand and criticise a fellow human being, I feel I must scratch the vellum to say that his performance was below par to put it kindly.

Annyway, it was a lovely day as we sailed forth, missing the slow bicycle race through Kilbeggan through our own unerring sense of direction and were soon ensconced in the Merlow Hotel with the amber nectar in hand and Ireland v. the Windies on the box and we made it to the ground in time to hear that Garto was ruled out. In came Shellyer to partner Jason Gavin and we fielded Richie, Robbo,Stewie and Ollie in the middle with Fabio and Fitzy up front and we were no sooner sittin' down (1.44 to be precise) when from and Ollie cahill free on the right Fitzy headed us into the lead. And we ruled the game for the first fifteen minutes and looked to be capable of unlocking the Galway defence. Robbo got carded on 15 , galkway had their first attack of not on 23 when a cross shaved the top of the bar, but thne on 26 we had a moment of pure magic when Richie Baker collected a great crossfield ball on the right wing, swung over a fabulous curling cross and Fabio headed expertly to the net for a two goal lead. The half went on, Jason Gavin got carded on 34 and just before the half time whistle Stuart Byrne was carded for a clumsy challenge. And just on the half time whistle, after some pressure Galway netted a soft goal from a corner.

In at half time and looking forward to the second, no changes after half time and almost immediately on the restart Charles flattens Richie with a very clumsy challenge and gets no card. This is the first of a number of challenges which went unpunished and then 12 minutes in Stuart Byrne comes in with another challenge and out come the red ! Jaysus !!! what are we going to go now ? . As Paul was getting Gavin Whelan ready to come on for Fitzy to fill the midfield gap, Dan collides with Jason Gavin and hasta limp off !. On comes Miko to our cheers, and over comes the corner and up he rises in the air like Kerry's own Micko to claim th ball !!. Galway pressed us and on 77 Murphy scored with a low shot after good work on the left. And we were soaking up the pressure well and Miko took charge of his penalty box. Ten to go , on comes Zayed for Fabio - our last throw for the points, and Zayed soon ships a heavy challenge from Lester (for it is he) which goes unpunished. Gavin Whelan looks very sharp with Zayed , time ticks on , up goes the yoke ---FIVE MINUTES additional time !!!. We almost make the breakthrough a few times and THEN - Charelkes fouls Richie on the right. Richie bends it over and Zayed heads a fabulous goal from 2 yards out on the Right. Were we delighted ???? We were delighted !!!!. Whistle blew. Justice was done, an unfortunate sending off but an early-season glimpse of some True Grit form the Drogs in this fabulous season of Oh Seven. Off we went, paid the two seventy and made Fusion before it was half full - wasn't that good goin ?

What's the story for tomorra ? Well, we're goin' over to Skinner for the rashers and Stella will be there with us all afternoon as we cheer on the Boys in Green and after that watch Ophir's Boys see off the brits !! - probably see yiz above in the Widda's later !!!

The lads showed real character in getting back into this game. Granted the two goals were pretty awful but like was said earlier if they perform like this for the rest of the season we will be O.K.

1,552 Posts
    It was also eventful for Stewart Byrne's sending of and for referee Buttimer's performance. Loath as I am to take quill in hand and criticise a fellow human being, I feel I must scratch the vellum to say that his performance was below par to put it kindly.
    That has to be worth an FAI fine surely?

By all means report those ****y match reports ,there are a fcukin embarresment .Enjoyed the trip to galway ,nice place ,good supporters and a tidy ground .Strange game with some diabolical decisions by the ref and linesman .you were robbed but then again we had a player sent off for nothing so thats the way it goes .All the best for the season .

Robbed!

I didn't want to share this with you all, but I feel that my disgust should be shared with you all, the free kick for the third goal should have been a throw, reggie made a great tackle, put his foot in between [drogs player]'s legs kicked the ball out straight at me before drog's player even knew he was there... dunno where the ref got the idea this was a free kick, maybe because he was behind reggie he just assumed, tho watching some of his decisions I think he assumed alot, [drogs player] was very surprised to get the free and [linesman] didn't make a comment but then again the ref had decided before he could say anything and I don't think he's allowed to change his mind so I won't fault him for this one, but he was fairly crap...

Onto how the players did, reggie is a real hero, thank god he'll be around for a while, I think the 3-5-2 was a great plan and we played a lot better when that change was made, i didn't really notice that there was one man less in our defense, wes played well, tho when he got booked for trying to mince baker, he was being provoked and if he was going to let it annoy him that much he shoulda made sure baker didn't get up(not advocating that kinda thing but if your gonna do somethin do it properly). thought our three man centre midfield was great, (as they were against cork).

All and all if they play like they did from the time the switched to 3-5-2, I think we'll be watching premier football next season, maybe even a few setanta cup games, can't wait for the short trip to Tolka Park...

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    That has to be worth an FAI fine surely?
    Hopefully - read the preview for the Setanta match on Monday and we will definitely get one.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

We were robbed can anyone tell me where 5 mins injury time came out of.
    there was 3 at most

Up side it was good to see the team play so well esp in the 2nd half,
    Keep it up lads there could be hope for us this season after all.

75 Posts
    It was Derek who gave away the vital free when he pushed over the drogs player when the ball was going out for a throw it was stupid and cost us big time.

We have to defend set pieces & crosses better, first goal last Friday was a gift.
    All goals we have conceded this season have come from either frees from the right or crosses from the right.

any opinions on the sending off lads ?