Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: United Park capacity?

drogs will be in breach of their licence, on a number of conditions.

Safe Holding Capacity
    The stadium must have an approved Safe Holding Capacity of 3,000.
    The Safe Holding Capacity must be relevant and safe for all competitions.
    The Safe Holding Capacity should be defined in terms of individual seats, standing places and total number for each section of the stadium and for the stadium in total.
    The Safe Holding Capacity is certified by FAI through the FAI Stadium Certificate process. The FAI will issue Stadium Certificates to clubs based on endorsements by the Local Authority, Gardai, Fire Service and Health Board.
    Stadium Sectors and Segregated Areas

The stadium must be capable of being segregated into separate sectors.
    At least one segregated sector must be capable of being allocated to away supporters when necessary. The method of segregation should be agreed between the club and the Gardai.
    This segregated sector must be capable of accommodating a minimum amount of 5% of total capacity in a safe and comfortable manner. This segregated sector must be serviced by separate toilet facilities (see INF 1.25) and separate refreshment facilities (see INF 1.36).
    Now, if drogs restrict away fans to 75, they wont be able to segregate them, unless they leave a sufficiently large section empty.
    Last edited by Peadar; 29/03/2007 at 1:19 PM.

1,553 Posts
    In fairness, every club is meant to have at least 3000 of a capacity and all get there one way or another, so it's bizarre that Drogheda can't. United Park is not the new Wembley but it's better than a few other grounds in the league, Finn Park included. Something here definitely stinks. Either Drogheda are being screwed by outside forces, they're completely incompetent or they're bringing this on themselves as a method of pressuring people into giving the go-ahead for their big old move.

Something tells me this story will run and run.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    Now, if drogs restrict away fans to 75, they wont be able to segregate them, unless they leave a sufficiently large section empty.
    United Park can clearly hold a lot more than 1500 so putting only the 75 away fans into the away terrace wouldn't be an issue I would assume.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    United Park can clearly hold a lot more than 1500 so putting only the 75 away fans into the away terrace wouldn't be an issue I would assume.
    But why would you restrict the capacity of an isolated stand?
    Are they going to try and squash more into the other stand?
    I very much doubt that it's an overall number that they must stay within.
    It's more likely to be a specific limit on each stand, which amounts in total to 1,500.

But why would you restrict the capacity of an isolated stand?
    Are they going to try and squash more into the other stand?
    I very much doubt that it's an overall number that they must stay within.
    It's more likely to be a specific limit on each stand, which amounts in total to 1,500.
    I'm just guessing but given that the stands are big enough to hold a larger amount, the capacity may have to do with exits or something.

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    In fairness, every club is meant to have at least 3000 of a capacity and all get there one way or another, so it's bizarre that Drogheda can't. United Park is not the new Wembley but it's better than a few other grounds in the league, Finn Park included. Something here definitely stinks. Either Drogheda are being screwed by outside forces, they're completely incompetent or they're bringing this on themselves as a method of pressuring people into giving the go-ahead for their big old move.

Something tells me this story will run and run.
    Yeah i do believe someone has not recieved there envolope of the Brown kind. Rejected new stadium and now this. Someone has it in for you.

43 Posts
    Simple Maths here, but if we take our allocation of 400 people the home fans only get 1100 tickets? That's a disgrace. It's a fixture I always go to, but I'll give it a miss. I'd be taking a genuine supporters ticket. It looks like it is not the clubs decision but a protest of some sort should be made on Friday from the Drogs fans.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    Simple Maths here, but if we take our allocation of 400 people the home fans only get 1100 tickets? That's a disgrace. It's a fixture I always go to, but I'll give it a miss. I'd be taking a genuine supporters ticket. It looks like it is not the clubs decision but a protest of some sort should be made on Friday from the Drogs fans.
    I agree with you alright but how many 'hard-core' Drogs fans are there? The ones that not only turn up to the big games like Friday but to the ones against UCD and Longford too? Any Drogs fans with a rough figure? Its a disgrace if all of those dont get tickets

think there was 1,800 at the ucd game .All drogs as no away fans .

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    think there was 1,800 at the ucd game .All drogs as no away fans .

No way there are 1800 Hard-Core drogs fans. A few times last year you had attendances in the hundreds.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    Those two lines are contradictory. Don't you consider yourself a genuine supporter?!

The only option is to screw someone, either the away fans or the home fans. I'd say 250 tickets for Derry is probably enough, we won't bring the 500 odd we did at the end of last season.

Its hard to believe that this is completely unconnected with the bigger picture about the new stadium and the land re-zoning.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    No way there are 1800 Hard-Core drogs fans. A few times last year you had attendances in the hundreds.
    name me one game when we had fans in the hundreds

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    name me one game when we had fans in the hundreds
    I remember a game about 5 or so years ago where your fans didn't number in the hundreds. You had about 20.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Those two lines are contradictory. Don't you consider yourself a genuine supporter?!

The only option is to screw someone, either the away fans or the home fans. I'd say 250 tickets for Derry is probably enough, we won't bring the 500 odd we did at the end of last season.
    For my sins I have been a genuine supporter over the years. But seriously, I hear what your saying. Put it this way, I wouldn't like it if the shoe were in the other foot at the Brandywell. I know what it's like not being able to get a ticket for a big game ie Cork two seasons back and I appreciated the fact that it was a limited allocation. But a home game? I'd be well ****ed off. I'd rather not go than deprive a Drogheda fan - that's just my preference at the moment.

Anyhow, what's to say they won't reduce the away allocation when Derry fans get down there? I'll not take my chances about getting turned away in Drogheda. I don't like being shafted and I am thick fecker if someone tries to, so it's better for myself and the club if I stayed at home
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by robbiesdrogs View Post
    depends who were playing.aparently the latest word is away fans get 75 tickets and we get the rest
    What happens if use get us in the cup??? we could bring 1,500 easy. Use will have to switch it to the home of football
    One team in Louth, DFC

This is a run of the mill league game between two also-rans and it's on TV. The only reason there might be a crowd is if you tell people they can't get in.

Clubs should insist on their full entitlement of away tickets. 75 is a joke

82 Posts
    This is a run of the mill league game between two also-rans and it's on TV. The only reason there might be a crowd is if you tell people they can't get in.
    Peader packs his tackle for his first fishing trip of the spring.

Will he get many bites?

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Clubs should insist on their full entitlement of away tickets. 75 is a joke
    75 = 5% of 1,500
    That's the minimum any club is obliged to provide.

Quote Originally Posted by robbiesdrogs View Post
    yeah ye did.i only said 75 to wind up a few people for a laugh i needed cheering up yesterday and as for dundalk in the cup?why would we move the game all the way to wembley
    HA HA
    One team in Louth, DFC

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast