Thread: Who do the Irish Media Think they are?

1,928 Posts
    Giles in the past has talked about his astonishment when he use to do the job for almost no salary and how media perceptions of him were twisted resulting in personal abuse by supporters. People can easily pontificate about how others should handle this media poison.
    We know the (almost) silent treatment doesn't work. I hope Stan finds his way to deal with it. I thought he handled the post match stuff quite well.

The interpretation and isolation of Carsley's comments from even the so called good journalists were farcical. What happens in the minutes before you go out onto the pitch I'd expect are no different from any other team or manager and what last minute words does one say to Carsley about his game. Other players interviewed, at the same time as Carsley was, talked of their roles that they were to play in the game.
    It's clear that Carsley's comments on Sunday were a truer reflection.
    The evidence of the game was that the the team were prepared and over focussed on the Welsh strengths.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    The interpretation and isolation of Carsley's comments from even the so called good journalists were farcical.
    Have you heard the interview? What was farcical was Staunton's reaction.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Have you heard the interview? What was farcical was Staunton's reaction.
    I have heard the post match interview with Carsley and heard the post match interviews with the other players. The question of roles/preparation was put to Kilbane, he answered it to satisfaction, no doubts whatsoever.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Just as a matter of Interest how many times have we scraped by wales before.

The hysteria and baying for blood has become a national sport with some of the Papers the Sindo and Sunday World were definitely gutter journalism at its wors on sunday.
    was making this point at the weekend. during our supposed golden era of late 80’s and 90’s we beat them 3-0 in wrexham but lost in ’86 1-0, again lost 1-0 in the RDS in the early ‘90s, won 1-0 just before wc in 1990 and again won 1-0 in tolka park. hardly an overly impressive run of results!

the media think that they are what its all about and the football is second!

It has to be remembered though that this Welsh performance was incredibly bad. I've never seen a weaker performance by them. Not just me talking. Listen to what John Toshack said himself in his lengthy and honest post match press conference.

It should be pointed out those games were friendlies, where a lot more slack is available

Quote Originally Posted by tblade View Post
    It has to be remembered though that this Welsh performance was incredibly bad. I've never seen a weaker performance by them. Not just me talking. Listen to what John Toshack said himself in his lengthy and honest post match press conference.
    It was an awful performance in an awful game, but i do think that Wales get over-criticised sometimes. They're struggling for players at the moment (not including Toshack's Savage/Thatcher vendettas), so when players like Gabbidon, Koumas and Earnshaw are unavailable, ie. the spine of the team, then what can you do?.. I suppose one answer would be to hope your best player, Giggs, actually turns up

Nice one Stan. Nothing like showing who the gaffer is. That's them sorted now.

85 Posts
    The media are just that. A medium between them as the senior team and us as fans. As long as it's not counter productive to the teams efforts they should be used as such. Now as a fan Stan answered any query I would've had on Ireland and Given. Anything else would've have been counter productive to the teams efforst in terms of A)Giving away strategy and B) the Media's abuse of their roles recently. They're more and more like the english tabloids now and it's fvckin sickening. Kerr himself cited incidents of time and effort in setting up an open night for journalists to provide insight into their efforts under his tenure... A couple showed. Yet they were out in force like vulutres when the easy pickings came.

The disdain for the media from the irish set up has to stop though. It's further alienating us as fans from those within the set up, players and management alike. If our only medium is the ninety minutes on the pitch it's perfectly reasonable for us to assume given recent performances that it's as bad off the pitch too. But it's chicken and egg really in terms of who started it. The tabloids are rags but condeming the entire media to punish the hacks is not the way.

A media relations advisor of some capacity should be first on the agenda after the Slaovakia game. The senior set up should choose a couple of journalists very wisely and use them as a focal point of contact for extended interviews and endure the required press conferences as a necessary evil.

are .The Sun came out with a rare one today about Stan turning his back on the Nation because he wouldnt give the scavengers anymore than 30 seconds and this after the way they have behaved since he was installed as manager. As ive said before since Saipan the Irish media have lowered their standards to an alarming degree and some of the bile spewed as comment these days wouldnt lokk out of place in the sunday sport.

Get a life lads ye are far too full of yere own importance.

Stan made great efforts to get the players to do interviews with the press after the trouble Kerr had with the media. Fat lot of goodwill they gave him for that...........

I agree that the media (Broadsheets included) have not shown much desire for the team to develop with their abuse. Critique involves saying something positive sometimes....

it was a brierfing on injuries not a press conference. He gave them the situation about Given and Ireland end of. There is a Press Conference today and no doubt stan will get laced at it again.

Its very hard for a man to deal with people who camped in the back garden of his Parents home in Dundalk trying to peer through the windows and jam their feet in the door after the cyprus game.
    And not to forget - write front page headlines about his ill father even though Stan had already asked to leave his family business alone.

People should also remember there are two desks in a newspaper - sport and news.
    The news desk is the real bottom feeding scum, but sport is different.
    Example today - the sun's news angle is Stan turns his back on the nation
    Sports is more positive with Carsley and Keane being positive.
    All the real negative press is more often than not on the front pages of papers, and the news guys obviously dont care about the sports journos who then have to face Stan and the team.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I have heard the post match interview with Carsley and heard the post match interviews with the other players. The question of roles/preparation was put to Kilbane, he answered it to satisfaction, no doubts whatsoever.

Ye I'm sure Mr Kilbane was well groomed to face the media.
    Stan's good mate and the only reason he is playing AGAIN tomorrow night.

Quote Originally Posted by craig7042 View Post
    Stan made great efforts to get the players to do interviews with the press after the trouble Kerr had with the media. Fat lot of goodwill they gave him for that...........

I agree that the media (Broadsheets included) have not shown much desire for the team to develop with their abuse. Critique involves saying something positive sometimes....
    And what positives can you take from Cyprus, San Marino and that display on Saturday? Really, you can't be postitive for the sake of it. I'd rather a realistic view on things.

Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    The media are just that. A medium between them as the senior team and us as fans. As long as it's not counter productive to the teams efforts they should be used as such. Now as a fan Stan answered any query I would've had on Ireland and Given. Anything else would've have been counter productive to the teams efforst in terms of A)Giving away strategy and B) the Media's abuse of their roles recently. They're more and more like the english tabloids now and it's fvckin sickening. Kerr himself cited incidents of time and effort in setting up an open night for journalists to provide insight into their efforts under his tenure... A couple showed. Yet they were out in force like vulutres when the easy pickings came.

The disdain for the media from the irish set up has to stop though. It's further alienating us as fans from those within the set up, players and management alike. If our only medium is the ninety minutes on the pitch it's perfectly reasonable for us to assume given recent performances that it's as bad off the pitch too. But it's chicken and egg really in terms of who started it. The tabloids are rags but condeming the entire media to punish the hacks is not the way.

A media relations advisor of some capacity should be first on the agenda after the Slaovakia game. The senior set up should choose a couple of journalists very wisely and use them as a focal point of contact for extended interviews and endure the required press conferences as a necessary evil.
    Exacty, good post. Stan needs to realise that these guys have column inches to fill and by alienating them he's not going to get any support from the few people that actually CAN influence the publics perception of him. This mess with the media is partly of his own making. I'm sure most of you have heard the phrase 'keep your friends close, and your enemies closer'. You get nowhere by creating conflict and ill feeling, especially with these guys.

A childish move by an immature man

Still longer than his pre-match team talk apparently

Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post

A media relations advisor of some capacity should be first on the agenda after the Slaovakia game.
    Did you not see said "advisor" after Staunton finished his so-called briefing? As the camera panned out you could the highly paid, ineffectual FAI press ofiicer. The media management has been astonishing in its incompetence - even for the FAI.

Kerr lost the media and then lost his job. Staunton is half way there....

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by Mento View Post
    And not to forget - write front page headlines about his ill father even though Stan had already asked to leave his family business alone.

People should also remember there are two desks in a newspaper - sport and news.
    The news desk is the real bottom feeding scum, but sport is different.
    Example today - the sun's news angle is Stan turns his back on the nation
    Sports is more positive with Carsley and Keane being positive.
    All the real negative press is more often than not on the front pages of papers, and the news guys obviously dont care about the sports journos who then have to face Stan and the team.
    i agree here. i read the sun during lunch and the sports journalism was in fact more positive than most conversations i have had with supporters on sat and since. the negatitive was the front page and he cause that himself by doing a joke of 30secs of an interview/comment.

the teams performances have been shambolic since he took over yet he blames the media for the critism. wake up, the fans are critising you too.

Quote Originally Posted by Nailer77 View Post
    And what positives can you take from Cyprus, San Marino and that display on Saturday? Really, you can't be postitive for the sake of it. I'd rather a realistic view on things.
    I've put positives on my blog...

No, there were no positives in Cyprus. That was the low point. Chile, and Holland were bad, but they were friendlies at very bad times of the year. San Marino was poor, but it was a win and we were lucky.

Again...I've put positives on my blog. I really believe people are simply unwilling to give him any credit at all though.....

www.theboysingreen.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by craig7042 View Post
    I've put positives on my blog...

No, there were no positives in Cyprus. That was the low point. Chile, and Holland were bad, but they were friendlies at very bad times of the year. San Marino was poor, but it was a win and we were lucky.

Again...I've put positives on my blog. I really believe people are simply unwilling to give him any credit at all though.....

www.theboysingreen.blogspot.com
    I read the blog and I'm sorry but I don't buy it. Any manager with half a brain would be bringing these players through so why he specifically deserves credit for it is beyond me. And don't forget the McShane selection was forced upon him, it wasn't a master stroke. Likewise with the recall of Carsley which was also forced upon him and no Carsley's a fixture in the team.

And what do you mean bad times of the year as far as I'm aware the Dutch league season runs to much the same schedule as the Irish, English and Scottish so how were they fresh and we weren't, that almost as good as Stan's 'we don't play well in February' remark.

And no a win is not a win, thats not an excuse, its not a positive and its not good enough.

36 Posts
    i don't particularly care for hearing what the management have to say except possibly on the telly after a match - even then I can live without it - I don't particularly think they ever actually explain anything in real terms anyway

I like reading analysis of matches but you rarely get any of that from players or coaches- more likely to get platitudes or banal rubbish of some sort.

If they play, it gets reviewed then I'm happy - the odd interview about someone's career is ncie but otherwise they can swing.