Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: What was the story with flags on saturday

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    So obviously flags on a stick are OK then but you won't get the big ones in with UEFA rules. Presumably they don't have banners at games then as there should have been no issue hanging banners on saturday once they didn't block hoardings. It is normally flags on a stick at rugby too.
    There was a drum full of bamboo sticks on the checkpoint outside Cusack. I took this to mean that all sticks were removed from flags ?

A mate of mine who had a camera bag suggested when saw nothing was searched to fill it with cans for Wednesday.........good thinking !

where i was sitting a lad was drinking a can of bulmers....i have a plan too!

also there were some funny coloured coke bottles!

Quote Originally Posted by andrew1977 View Post
    ...How did the idiot with the tricolour with CHELSEA daubed on it manage to get that up, on the davin stand towards the cusasck side. Someone should have ripped it down.
    Was that any worse than the big tricolour draped along the very last section of the Lower Cusack at the Hill end that had CELTIC on it?
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    where i was sitting a lad was drinking a can of bulmers....i have a plan too!

also there were some funny coloured coke bottles!
    As long as its only cans, they won't be smashed on anybody's head ! Wouldn't mind sneaking in an auld lsix pack of large cans between the 3 of us, a can a half Respectable but bridging the gap between the pre and post match drinks. The friendly matches in LR with the terraces where great for that as couldn't see in if were standing anywhere in the middle. A spiked bottle of coke may be the way to go though, will sort myself out in town before walking out.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Was that any worse than the big tricolour draped along the very last section of the Lower Cusack at the Hill end that had CELTIC on it?
    Are you serious? What would the reaction be if someone had rangers on the tricolour?

All this talk about "someone should have ripped it down". Well why didnt you?

Apparently the guy is from london but obviously not the full schilling as he doesnt realise how offensive his flag despite numerous posts about it. Why he doesnt just put London Irish or something on it beats me. He knows well the treatment he'd get if he hung that in the bridge.

That flag wont last long.

I would have needed to have been been stretch armstrong to reach that flag ..I was in the Hogan stand towards hill 16 !!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Are you serious? What would the reaction be if someone had rangers on the tricolour?

Apparently the guy is from london but obviously not the full schilling as he doesnt realise how offensive his flag despite numerous posts about it. Why he doesnt just put London Irish or something on it beats me. He knows well the treatment he'd get if he hung that in the bridge.

That flag wont last long.

I find an Irish flag with the name of any British or non-Irish club team plastered on it equally offensive whether it is Chelsea, Rangers, Celtic or Man.Utd. or anyone else and would argue that none of them have any place at an Ireland game. What has allegiance for any British club got to do with supporting Ireland?

In respect of 'that flag' not lasting long, well in this campaign so far it has been on display in Stuttgart, Cyprus, San Marino, Lansdowne Road and now Croke Park, so whoever owns it is certainly either keen on watching Ireland or causing offence!

75 Posts

Thumbs down

Any news on where we can hang our flags tonight there were more welsh than irish flags in croker last saturday surelysomeone in the FAI has some cop on and will let all the flags up tonight.

Quote Originally Posted by andrew1977 View Post

I would have needed to have been been stretch armstrong to reach that flag ..I was in the Hogan stand towards hill 16 !!
    I have faith in you!

reder
    So we have celtic, the now regular Chelsea flag, Tranmere was in the Davin upper and Liverpool was at the end of the Cusack (stand to the right of the Davin lower as you face the pitch).

Huh, thankfully the PL/SPL fans made the effort to add some colour. Didnt see one EL banner anywhere all day!!

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Not sure which is worse. You suggest the first for the obvious stupidity involved but the second is just as weird to me. Good luck to him if he likes Chelsea but putting the name of something he likes on a tricolour and bringing it to an Ireland game is pointless. What next, people waving Ireland flags with

TAKE THAT!,

THE SOPRANOS

or

CHINESE FOOD

written on them
    ...why not? There's enough with the names of pubs, sandwich bars and nightclubs on them. Frankly I find the idea of having the name of a nightclub (I love nightclubs by the way) on a flag far more vulgar and cynical than that of a location which coincidently happens to be the name of an EPL football team.

Why stop at CHINESE FOOD? Why not get performance arty, philosophical and existential ...you could have one that says FLAG or MESSAGE or WORD ...or you could collaborate with others to spell out a dirty word right across croker.

On closer inspection, I can see that you wished DEATH upon the Chelsea fan

A bit harsh, but on reflection, probably a fair comment.
    Touché!

Now there's a reasonable question. In my opinion ...No.

Hypothetically -If there was one that had say LEEDS IRISH ON TOUR would anyone have a problem with it? Or a Coventry one that had SKY BLUE AND GREEN? I'd hope not but suspect there might be a few who would.

But if it's just Wifey McBeatys Genuine Irish Pub, Amsterdam that's grand.

In respect of 'that flag' not lasting long, well in this campaign so far it has been on display in Stuttgart, Cyprus, San Marino, Lansdowne Road and now Croke Park, so whoever owns it is certainly either keen on watching Ireland or causing offence!
    Well said.

Let the man fly his flag I say ...as if ye could do something about it without being bigger jackasses anyway.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

[QUOTE=Lionel Ritchie;654729
    Let the man fly his flag I say ...as if ye could do something about it without being bigger jackasses anyway.[/QUOTE]

If you or anyone else here cant see how stupid it is to have a club who have supporters who hate all things Irish printed on a tricolour then you should leave it at that.

There's no bigger jackass than anyone who puts an english club on a tricolour.

If you or anyone else here cant see how stupid it is to have a club who have supporters who hate all things Irish printed on a tricolour then you should leave it at that.
    That's a ridiculous catch-all argument NYH.

That Chelsea have an odious element in their support is not at question ...but nor is it materially relevant as virtually all clubs have similar troglodyte elements in their support bases. This individual Chelsea supporter and/or resident obviously doesn't "hate all things Irish".

There's no bigger jackass than anyone who puts an english club on a tricolour.
    Nonsense again ... does the same apply to Scottish Clubs then?
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    That's a ridiculous catch-all argument NYH.

That Chelsea have an odious element in their support is not at question ...but nor is it materially relevant as virtually all clubs have similar troglodyte elements in their support bases. This individual Chelsea supporter and/or resident obviously doesn't "hate all things Irish".

Nonsense again ... does the same apply to Scottish Clubs then?
    Nonsense to you. I'm not a celtic fan and I'm certainly not getting into celtic are/are not Irish debate. But if you know anything about the game you will know that celtic have obviously Irish links. While chelsea are the same as rangers.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    So we have celtic, the now regular Chelsea flag, Tranmere was in the Davin upper and Liverpool was at the end of the Cusack (stand to the right of the Davin lower as you face the pitch).

Huh, thankfully the PL/SPL fans made the effort to add some colour. Didnt see one EL banner anywhere all day!!
    We were too busy sabotaging the mexican waves to be dealing with flags.

In a previous life we did bring flags and lots of them, but that feels a long time ago now.

214 Posts
    I spotted two Chelsea flags Saturday - Chelsea written on the tricolour and the Chelsea Irish one. They didn't last long but it's a sad sight to see.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

....While chelsea are the same as rangers.....KOH
    They both wear blue, so what???

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    I spotted two Chelsea flags Saturday - Chelsea written on the tricolour and the Chelsea Irish one. They didn't last long but it's a sad sight to see.
    The Chelsea tricolour lasted the whole game. It was on level 5.

Nonsense to you. I'm not a celtic fan and I'm certainly not getting into celtic are/are not Irish debate. But if you know anything about the game you will know that celtic have obviously Irish links. While chelsea are the same as rangers.

...and if someone wants to come a to an Ireland match with a tricolour that happens to have a Rangers crest on it -then bully for them too. That it's not likely is beside the point. There's a principle involved.

If you're there to support Ireland and want to deface our flag to make some statement about who you are, what you are and where you've come from then you should be free to do so whether you're Davy Keogh, Monaghan Boys, some nighclub from the midlands, a plethora of pubs or a Chelsea/Rangers/Celtic/anyone else supporter.

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    ...and if someone wants to come a to an Ireland match with a tricolour that happens to have a Rangers crest on it -then bully for them too. That it's not likely is beside the point. There's a principle involved.

If you're there to support Ireland and want to deface our flag to make some statement about who you are, what you are and where you've come from then you should be free to do so whether you're Davy Keogh, Monaghan Boys, some nighclub from the midlands, a plethora of pubs or a Chelsea/Rangers/Celtic/anyone else supporter.
    You obviously just dont get it do you

Sad sight to see. And by letting it hang the fans there are just as ignorant.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast