Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Vs. Sligo Rovers

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kelly-is-God View Post
    a few stupid students walked bye us kissing creasts,hand jestures,shouting up at us.that nerd with his top off was
    How immature do you have to be to get riled up by something like that? Wouldn't expect anything more from a 15-year-old though, to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    i was behind where one of these bottles were thrown...an empty, plastic 250ml bottle that wasnt thrown in malice or intended to harm....
    While, as Aberdonian Stu and schumi have pointed out, the fact that there wasn't any harm intended is utterly irrelevant, yer man has actually acknowledged this point. He said he didn't mind the first one - he just tossed it back - but the second one was full, nearly hit him and was thrown by someone who'd been over looking to start trouble during half-time.

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    no it wasn't, i was in the front row right in front of him and there was a blue water bottle thrown, then a similar one which was half full was more lobbed than thrown
    Well, I gave yer man a lift home after the match and he was quite adamant that it was a full Lucozade bottle which had been flung, not lobbed, at him. Given that he'd have more reason to be keeping an eye out on it than you, I'd go with his version of events.

And yes, the season long ban may be a bit harsh, but than I'd be much happier with my club's handling of the issue than yours. Why that scumbag with the Celtic top was allowed in the ground after trying to start trouble at half-time and then throwing a bottle is beyond me. Not to mention the fact that your head steward was very unhappy with the stewarding, and another chief steward apologised for the excessively rough handling yer man got from the stewards.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    How was it thrown then? In a friendly manner?
    Over-reaction or what , i rember the bad old days when the trains used to stoned going into Connolly and there would be a mini riot in the station and fights on the way to the grounds in Dublin and to think people get upset about empty plastic bottles nowdays.

I'm not interested in how bad things used to be Grandpa, the fact remains that throwing a bottle at someone is unacceptable and given that the same person tried to start a fight at half time, the stewarding in the Showgrounds is a joke. Stewards were more interested in trying to antagonise us than in doing anything about Sligo fans causing trouble.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by londonred View Post
    and to think people get upset about empty plastic bottles nowdays.
    While not trying to take anything away from schumi's post, it was the full bottle which was causing particular anger, as previously noted.

My apologies to Stu, I am not denying, as you states the SR Forum, but I honestly did not see the bottles being thrown, and I was sitting the entrace side of the singing Rovers fans. Your fellow was a muppett but SR "fan" who thre the bottle should be banned. What will happen now is fans will be segregated and we will have to sit in the red stand and away fans in the blue. I hate sitting over there!
    Suppose if the football wasnt so poor, the iditos wouldnt get bored and start the trouble. Its the teams fault

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    a seasons ban from ye're home games...very harsh!
    I don't agree. If you travel to a game you have to bring a basic level of cop-on with you, which he didn't. There's no point in waiting for something more serious to happen before taking action.

Also, I don't think the ban will run out at the end of the season.

just curious, do UCD fans follow UCD even after they leave college?

20 Posts
    Yes. Indeed some of us end up hanging around the college itself several years after we "leave" college.

I'm a firm believer in punishments that are harsh enough to act as deterrents so a season long ban isn't a big deal and he should know better afterwards.

Again how anyone can defend throwing a bottle just because it's not as bad as the 'good aul days' is beyond me.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

ucd fans broke 3 ground regulations in the first 5 mins they were there and they continued to abuse people for the rest of the game fulled by th e bag of cans they were drinking during the game.They have to remember were football fans not hooligans.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bomber82290 View Post
    ucd fans broke 3 ground regulations in the first 5 mins they were there and they continued to abuse people for the rest of the game fulled by th e bag of cans they were drinking during the game.They have to remember were football fans not hooligans.
    Were you the steward with the cap by any chance?
    Last edited by DmanDmythDledge; 02/04/2007 at 6:05 PM.

812 Posts
    Which three would these be? Was one swearing? Please let it be ****ing swearing.

There was no bag of cans. One lad had a pair of cans, which were taken off him. That's it.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Which three would these be? Was one swearing? Please let it be ****ing swearing.
    Number 2 is presumably standing in a seated area.

3,491 Posts
    I'm sorry, you're talking nonsense.

One person had cans. They were taken off him. There was no bag of cans. None of the confiscated cans were in a bag. Also, he wasn't drinking in the first five minutes.

Continued to abuse people for the rest of the game? If you count "Paul Doolin, you're a ******, you're a ******", then yes, you may have a case. Otherwise, there was nothing more than you should really expect from football fans, despite the stewards' protestations to the contrary ("Won't somebody pleeeeease think of the children!")

Your last sentence doesn't make any sense, even with correct grammar.

What were these three regulations then?

71 Posts
    Oh dear. Sure myself and John83 don't drink and two of the others who do drink weren't drinking on the trip as a whole at all as they were driving home.

812 Posts
    There was no bag of cans. None of the confiscated cans were in a bag.
    Actually, one of the more entertaining actions of the (plainly inept) stewards was to search Poor Student's bag for cans. They found a book on Roman history, and no cans.

3,491 Posts
    That's right!

Course, if they'd done their job properly at the turnstiles, the cans wouldn't have been an issue in the first place. My bag wasn't searched on the way in for one.

How immature do you have to be to get riled up by something like that? Wouldn't expect anything more from a 15-year-old though, to be honest.

While, as Aberdonian Stu and schumi have pointed out, the fact that there wasn't any harm intended is utterly irrelevant, yer man has actually acknowledged this point. He said he didn't mind the first one - he just tossed it back - but the second one was full, nearly hit him and was thrown by someone who'd been over looking to start trouble during half-time.

Well, I gave yer man a lift home after the match and he was quite adamant that it was a full Lucozade bottle which had been flung, not lobbed, at him. Given that he'd have more reason to be keeping an eye out on it than you, I'd go with his version of events.

And yes, the season long ban may be a bit harsh, but than I'd be much happier with my club's handling of the issue than yours. Why that scumbag with the Celtic top was allowed in the ground after trying to start trouble at half-time and then throwing a bottle is beyond me. Not to mention the fact that your head steward was very unhappy with the stewarding, and another chief steward apologised for the excessively rough handling yer man got from the stewards.
    im sorry lads but have to agree with all that pineapple said..
    the full lucozade bottle was way over the line...

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    im sorry lads but have to agree with all that pineapple said..
    the full lucozade bottle was way over the line...
    33% further FACT

812 Posts
    Very good.

It seems that the Sligo mods don't like us very much. Anyway, the quest continues to get more than one Sligo fan admit that pathetic stewarding and a couple of their own fans were also at play yesterday.

I think we're over reacting here.

1 or 2 UCD fans acted out of turn and have received the appropriate punishment. 1 or 2 Sligo fans acted out of turn and I presume Sligo will deal with the issue. I agree it soured the game a little but in the grand scheme of things taking off your shirt or throwing a plastic bottle aren't that big a deal.

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast