I have a picture of yer man with his top off standing in front of us all, what made him do that? He needs to work on his guns a bit before giving out tickets to the gun show like that![]()
"he tries his best.... but I was a proper player".
Think it was intended as a bit of craic. He got two bottles thrown at him though, so he ended up getting removed from the ground as for inciting the home crowd (not that the home security did anything about the Rovers knacker in the Celtic jersey...)
Don't agree that Sligo "deserved" the win. It was a poor game from two poor sides. We hit the post twice, I think Matt Gregg made two good saves and that was it. It had draw written all over it, and Sligo were just the ones fortunate enough to nab a goal at the death.
First win in 12 years, I think. Enjoy it! We'll be back...
That's the bottle green Celtic away jersey in the back row of the singing section to be precise.
By the way, the Sligo security saw the second incident, which resulted in his expulsion, coming a mile away in one of the greatest displays of ineptitude I've witnessed before my eyes. There was three stewards in front of us and one behind us. The three called the guy behind us to go after him. By the time he got round from the back to the front he decided he couldn't be bothered. All four of them made a vein attempt to summon the steward on the halfway line to no avail and they just stood stationary and watched from afar as trouble flared up again. Sheer laziness prevented any of them from moving to do anything. A comedy of errors.
Last edited by sligoman; 01/04/2007 at 10:38 PM. Reason: got it wrong...
I was just sitting there at half time when all of a sudden he's there behind me threatning me...few of the lads told him to go back to where he was sitting before anything happened. he wasnt long backing off when he was threatned...bottler
Ye he said it was the guard alright
And one of them seemed to be retarded (seriously...)
I wasn't at the game but given the way these incidents are being described and the ease with which the participants in them did what they did it says a lot about the standard of stewarding in some grounds.
Away fans in particular should always be protected as they are at greater risk in any game and fans of either side (especially topless away ones!) should be prevented from causing trouble to people sitting peacefully.
Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com
A thrown object of any kind is crossing the line, even if the person it's being thrown at has leapt across the line already!
Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com
no it wasn't, i was in the front row right in front of him and there was a blue water bottle thrown, then a similar one which was half full was more lobbed than thrown, but whoever threw it obviosly shouldn't have done it, dont think any of the stewards saw him as the one closest to them had her back turned dealing with the gun show host!
a seasons ban from ye're home games...very harsh!