Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Thread: Vs. Sligo Rovers

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student View Post
    I presume Sligo will deal with the issue.
    I won't hold my breath on that one.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    I won't hold my breath on that one.
    it wont be dealt with..i promise you that

not a hope of anything happening, 100% certain of that! yer man was a bit of a muppet it has to be said, i dont condone the bottles being thrown, it was totally stupid and should never happen!! i was right in front of the fella wit his top off and he waas trying to get by the lady steward and shouting 'do you wanna go' at the rovers fan(s)

A list of ground regulations are in the programme.
    Drinking in the ground
    Directing foul and abusive language at individuals
    Failing to adhere to directions of a steward
    These came out at the meeting afterwards.And ye are supposed to be the educated ones.

3,491 Posts
    In the first five minutes, you said? Don't think the above stand.

Ground regulation 8 says "Any person who fails to comply with the instructions from a steward may be ejected from the ground", which I presume is the reguation which you allege we broke. You can't actually break the above regulation, therefore we didn't break that either.

You don't refer to your lie that we had a bagful of cans either.

I assume you were one of the stewards then? How do you respond to the inept stewarding at the match? How are the stewards going to respons to the formal complaint made against three of them? How do the stewards justify standing and watching as yer man in the Celtic top deliberately started looking for trouble during half time?

Our club has acted appropriately and swiftly. I've yet to see any such action from Sligo, whose fans (with one or two exceptions) and stewards insist on taking the moral upper ground.

71 Posts
    I don't know if Sligo hire private stewards but they seemed to be volunteer fans. Some of them were as animated as your average fan on the touchline with matters regarding the field of play. Such recruitment policy lends to unobjective stewarding. The Carlisle in Bray suffers from the same problem.

All are volunteers.Security people are on contract.Most of them have been F.A.I trained by mccluskey.6 UCD FANS CAUSED MORE TROUBLE THAN 250 DERRY FANS.A BIT OF MANNERS IS ALL THAT IS NEEDED.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    I don't know if Sligo hire private stewards but they seemed to be volunteer fans. Some of them were as animated as your average fan on the touchline with matters regarding the field of play. Such recruitment policy lends to unobjective stewarding. The Carlisle in Bray suffers from the same problem.
    they are volunteers, id say we cant afford a private firm..

im 16 and they wanted me to steward at the derry match!even knowing my age!

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bomber82290 View Post
    All are volunteers.Security people are on contract.Most of them have been F.A.I trained by mccluskey.6 UCD FANS CAUSED MORE TROUBLE THAN 250 DERRY FANS.A BIT OF MANNERS IS ALL THAT IS NEEDED.
    There were more than six of us.

Care to address my issues and stop dodging things?

Again, the one UCD fan who caused trouble has been dealt with. What are Sligo going to do about their trouble makers?
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 02/04/2007 at 10:16 PM.

Again, the one UCD fan who caused "trouble" has been dealt with. What are Sligo going to do about their trouble makers?
    A somewhat selective use of quotation marks.

71 Posts
    There was 8 UCD fans in the singing section and more UCD fans in the other stand. I was in the group of 8 and I didn't violate a single one of the rules you stated.

If the money isn't there the money isn't there but you're going to have poor stewarding. I'll repeat again, their sheer laziness and lethargy resulted in the second incident taking place. I don't condone his behaviour and he was rightly chastised. However, they knew it was coming and passed the buck onto the next steward and next steward until he was down the other end of the stand and trouble flared up.

21 Posts
    The reaction on here by some is way over the top. One muppet takes off his shirt and makes threats at the Rovers singing section (laughable more than anything). Another idiot reacts and pegs a plastic bottle at him. Countless posts over nothing, really petty stuff.

Bring your own stewards next time if you feel the Rovers volunteers arent up to yer standards.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student View Post
    A somewhat selective use of quotation marks.
    You're right; good spot. Changed. Just looking for consistency and acknowledgement is all.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post

Bring your own stewards next time if you feel the Rovers volunteers arent up to yer standards.
    im not trying to be funny here right, serious question for the ucd lads... how many stewards at a game would ye have?

would 4 or 5 be enough?
    or is it campus security?

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post

They're private. You can hire them if you like.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    im not trying to be funny here right, serious question for the ucd lads... how many stewards at a game would ye have?

would 4 or 5 be enough?
    Never seen many more than the 4 or 5 you mention; more for games like Rovers and Bohs.

I've seen them at other events, so they'd be hired for the evening.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    would 4 or 5 be enough?
    Have no clue to be honest but they're private, not campus security. When we play the likes of Bohs and Rovers there's usually a bigger presence and a Garda presence. I met one of them on the way into a match once, he couldn't find Belfield Park and I showed him the way. Chatting to him he told me that he didn't give a toss about the football. You need stewards who aren't really concerned with what's going on the park and have no leanings towards any sets of fans.

I was right at the entrance to the Blue stand and from what I saw was a Sligo Rovers fan calling the UCD fan "four eyes" and other abusive terms and then seen an empty plastic bottle been thrown at the UCD fan. Then the UCD fan approached the two stewards at the entrance to the blue stand and they brought him over to the side and spoke to him and the other UCD fan with him(who was let go back to watch the game).

Some of the stewards in the Showgies leave a lot to be desired, really bad, just sit down and watch the game for free. Others then are grand and do their job.

Two Of Your Supporters Caused Trouble At The Gate When They Wouldnt Pay The Entrance.cans Of Alcohol In A Bag Are Called A Bag Of Cans.there Was One Fan Thrown Out At Ireland Vs Slovakia Game Last Week Out Of 72,000 So Sounds About Right For Ucd.
    Last edited by bomber82290; 03/04/2007 at 6:24 PM.

3,491 Posts
    cans Of Alcohol In A Bag Are Called A Bag Of Cans.
    Why thank you. I didn't know that.

We've noted that the cans weren't in a bag though. We've noted that three rules were not broken in the first five minutes of the game, as you claimed. I didn't see or hear of any trouble at the gate such as you mentioned.

Are you going to answer my questions on the standard of the Sligo stewarding?

Also, turn off the caps lock.

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast