Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: The Croke Park experience and atmosphere

Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    The whole day was just completely bizarre. The stadium itself looks really nice you as approach it. However, we had to enter the davin end via a narrow old gate before the turnstiles. The view from block 320 was ok, it was very difficult to follow what was going on down the far end of the ground. Wouldnt class the stadium as world class.

The atmostphere was just pathetic. I expected a cauldron of nosie. The little noise that was made just went up and out of the place. At Lansdowne the old stands kept it in. For what its worth I think the lansdowne fans have now been diluted with a ridiculous amount of daytrippers. The man beside me from the north didnt have a notion what was going on on. I commented on our lack of width in the first half and he looked at me like I had 40 heads.

The whole day from the fans view was summarised with that mexican wave. As that wave went around the ground, we were being pinned back on the edge our box and under the cosh big time. Most of our fans there really didnt have a clue what was going on.

Lets hope 20,000 or so of the day trippers stay away on wed and the 50,000 there can create and atmosphere. On a side note, the corporate people obviously didnt fancy the fixture, there were rows of seats free in the centre block of the stand to our right in the upper tier.
    How would you not class the stadium as world class, in what way is it not? It's not the stadium's fault that the fans can't generate anything resembling an atmosphere (although i can see why there was no atmosphere with such a **** game).
    And your point about LR being better suited to keep the noise in woth the stands...bullsh1t. In case you didn't notice, there were only 2 stands in LR, and the east stand was hardly enclosed compared to croke park

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    I had a horrible match in the area I was seated. I was in Cusack Lower Block 302 Row J seat 28. Was anyone here near me?
    I was in 302 but up in KK. Going from the comments on here I got quite lucky although I only that realise now. For one thing although obviously generally it was shockingly quiet I seemed to be surrounded by genuine supporters. There were no obvious daytrippers and it was 99% male. Anytime Stand Up FTBIG got going everybody in our rows did so on mass and all sang and never heard one dissenting voice. If you wanted to sit like if you had a kid then you may do so looking at somebody's arse but only noticed one guy doing that and he had a kid (as any parent will tell ya its a pain yanking the kid up and down). Never once did any steward or fan say sit down, like a good ref I never noticed a steward all game. The clapping Ireland chant also was pretty consistent during the last half hour when the atmosphere got steadily better topped off by Hunt who literally brought us all to our feet 3 times in the last 10 mins. It did strike had he been on from the start and did that in the first 10 minutes it may have been a different story atmosphere wise. An attempt at The Fields of Athenry did fall flat on its face near the end though.

One thing to note is I'm on the BB waiting list, in the first 2k and I'm wondering if I was surrounded by similar such creatures. My mate who's within a 100 positions of me on the list had seats two rows directly behind me so I think this is a fair assumption. All in all I'm quite happy with the atmosphere (relative to the that of the overall stadium) and footie knowledge directly around me and the fact there was no booing, only justified genuine sighs that we all have. Also our view was quiet good being excellent for the Hill goal in line with just outside the peno box. Had to hold my hand up to keep the sun out of my eyes for canal end action a lot of course and I think the players had the same problem at times. Am nearly always in the Lower Hogan (only in Cusack lower once or twice and the upper a few times) so didn't realise that would be the case so much.

Also thankfully got on well with my new neighbour for this years matches, we sang whenever there was anything going and we had similiar views on the teamsheet namely the fullbacks were playing on the wrong sides, the two Reading boys should've started, Stephen Ireland's goal glossed over his performance and playing one up front at home to Wales was a joke. I did get irrate with O'Shea particularly as I thought Duff was actually working hard but have never booed anybody without justification (only ever an opposing player or official and never because of what club they play for which p1sses me off)

Anyway I'm hoping this area will have something to shout about on Wednesday.

We were near the Welsh support and they weren't that loud anyway as away supporters go. Certainly a lot of it would go up in the air but it wasn't like it was a wild windy day and away supporters often ended up tucked away in a high corner somewhere ala St. Jame's Park. I was in away section for Liverpool match at the Nou Camp and it was like sitting on the roof of an upper tier but still we could be well heard I was told.

i got a txt from a mate saying there was a better atmosphere in a local pub on a monday night.worse atmosphere i ever experienced at an ireland match and at croker , and everytime i stood up and started singing i was told sit down. i said "get up ye ****s and sing and support your team" and i was berated by most. my mate came all the way back from america that morning no sleep and there was more life in him!he was pure disgusted too

I had a horrible match in the area I was seated. I was in Cusack Lower Block 302 Row J seat 28. Was anyone here near me? Some

kingdom i was in row d just below ye did ye see everyone in the lower area of this section coming in late after half time and leaving early to get the pints in!!!

i was the looper shoutin at everyone to stand up while they were shoutin at me to sit down

oh ya another point, and i am being completely serious on this but i reckon where i was sitting anyway was full of country gaelic supporters who didnt really know or werent use to being at a soccer game which obviouslly effects them singing and the atmosphere! one such "comedian" said to me in response to me saying come on get up and sing "if you lost your virginity you wouldn't be so frustrated!" of course he and his mmates thought he was hilarious.

i knew the atmosphere round me was going to be crap when i saw a fella called mick henley at the match with some quare one, no more interest in soccer than my dead granny. and it was full of these people beside me.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 26/03/2007 at 9:28 PM.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    Lower Canal End is where it's at.
    No it's not. A small part of it perhaps, but as I posted earlier, I seemed to be positioned a slight bit away from the main bulk of the eL allocation (as in the other side of the entrance) and no one was standing or chanting. I know the old eL terrace allocation at Landsdowne wasn't amazing, but the Canal End seems to be far more diluted and quiet.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kev mcq View Post
    How would you not class the stadium as world class, in what way is it not? It's not the stadium's fault that the fans can't generate anything resembling an atmosphere (although i can see why there was no atmosphere with such a **** game).
    And your point about LR being better suited to keep the noise in woth the stands...bullsh1t. In case you didn't notice, there were only 2 stands in LR, and the east stand was hardly enclosed compared to croke park
    The stadium is 75% world class but the Hill 16 end is a throw back to a bygone era and takes away from the overall effect of the massive stands that surround the rest of the pitch. In fact one part has no terracing at all and a building of some sort is there

Impressive stadium but looks unfinished because of above.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Upper tier isn't corporates - the empty section was likely to be some screw-up on the ticket distribution.
    No they are eircom seats alright. Mate of mine got 3 complimentary tickets for wednesday and they are midway up that very block. Id say there will be shed loads of empty seats on wednes anyway.

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    The stadium is 75% world class but the Hill 16 end is a throw back to a bygone era and takes away from the overall effect of the massive stands that surround the rest of the pitch. In fact one part has no terracing at all and a building of some sort is there

Impressive stadium but looks unfinished because of above.
    This is a pretty fair evaluation. I still wouldnt give it a "world class" rating. The whole away end, the building and that tiny seated area in the corner, (please dont tell me they threw the schoolboys there) really takes from the place. The rest of the stadium in nice but I just never got that wonderous feel about the place. It aint no millenium thats for sure (roof on or off).

So we do have the GAA stewards, no wonder my mate got filithy looks from one when we started shouting that the place was full of GAA fans and that at a football match they were supposed to make noise.

Thats just a personal view? I actually think wednesday will be worse, its gonna be a nightmare trying to get in with the rush hour traffic I have been told. Is the north circular road a main route for rush hour traffic?

Quote Originally Posted by WexDec View Post
    I was in 302 but up in KK.

One thing to note is I'm on the BB waiting list, in the first 2k and I'm wondering if I was surrounded by similar such creatures
    Wasn't too far from ya, 302 JJ, in the first 2k too.
    Last edited by Bluetonic; 27/03/2007 at 8:17 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Armando View Post
    Too many people at the game who were there to watch the spectacle rather than support the team. If you're not going to voice your backing for Ireland when you're at the game then why bother going?.... just watch it on TV.

It's horrible that these people so easily get tickets while fans who really want to be there and sing their hearts out are left in the cold.

This decline has been going on for over 10 years now. When I was in primary school(late 80's - early 90's) we used to queue up from 7.00 in the morning to buy tickets for all Ireland games. These tickets would be on general sale at various outlets to the general public. Until that is restored again - say 20,000 on sale(first come, first served) - we will never have a cracking atmosphere again. You can bet your bottom dollar that the vast majority of people at Croke Pk yesterday would never dream of queuing for a match ticket - proper supporters would.
    Those late 80s queues were the best!! Thanks for the memory! Things have obviously changed in the atmosphere since then. We've 'grown up', which in my mind is always a good sign. Like the Scots had their 1978 when they thought they were going to win the world cup, we had our 1990 etc. Now look at us...
    We have protect ourselves from being too arrogant. We need to enjoy supporting the team. We need a bit of the fun, which in fairness isnt all gone. The sense of humour... we need to dream still... like Liverpool fans dream and get soppy sometimes....

There was a nice bit of MILF in front of me and we won the game so I came away from the game with a smile on my face.

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    i got a txt from a mate saying there was a better atmosphere in a local pub on a monday night.worse atmosphere i ever experienced at an ireland match and at croker , and everytime i stood up and started singing i was told sit down. i said "get up ye ****s and sing and support your team" and i was berated by most. my mate came all the way back from america that morning no sleep and there was more life in him!he was pure disgusted too
    I find that comment abit over the top...I have been to many games in landsdowne and experienced a far worse atmospheres...do ya not go to any friendly matches...The FAI should have sorted out an ultras section, to generate an atmosphere....

If you want absolute shiite atmosphere go to the emirates..In patches there was decent enough atmosphere. I agree with the comment," too may spectators not enough fans!!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    There was a nice bit of MILF in front of me and we won the game so I came away from the game with a smile on my face.
    Good lad
    Who Cares?!

Now as i said we had quite a few EL fans around me and I have got seats again in the same area ( lower canel row SS block 318 ) for Wednesday so hopefully we have have a real go at it and get behind the lads from the off . One thing for sure i will do my bit for the lads .

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Countyman View Post
    sounds like you're in it for the craic rather than the football.

well i do love football, but the craic is good fun at away games
    but i dont have to prove my football creditentials to anyone

and its only football for me, none of that rugby/ga sh ite bandwagon

i was in lower canal close to the EL lads and it was great to hear them get things going and to join in . i honestly believe if we can continue winning home games then the atmosphere will take care of itself
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Quote Originally Posted by Bluetonic View Post
    Wasn't too far from ya, 302 JJ, in the first 2k too.
    Right in front of me ! That proves that theory then as with three instances it seems the upper seats of 302 are waiting listers (and their guests). I thought the immediate surroundings around us were decent enough in relation to the overal atmosphere. Was predominantly fellas (although reading the MILF comment earlier.....). You could certainly sing and shout and stand and moan without interference from "spectators" or stewards. Not that there was that much of it going on but deffo warmed up towards the end of the match. Like I said before if Hunt had those runs at the start of the match something like that could kick it off. Unfortunately it'll always be tight at the start of matches as opposed to counterattacking a team thats behind. I wonder if its scoreless going into the last 20 mins will we risk really go for it or pathetically take a point, not that we have players to change the game especially with Keane gone. I think most would be happier if we went for it and lost considering nobody seemed too estatic about the sterile win on Saturday.
    Last edited by WexDec; 27/03/2007 at 11:30 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by kev mcq View Post
    Any theory that you can't generate an atmosphere from the Hill because the noise travels up into the ozone layer is clearly disproved 5 or 6 times every summer.

I agree that the "building" at the Nally terrace was a bad choice (Garda CCTV hut initially - why they couldn't have put this in a less conspicuous place I'll never know) This has been made more obvious by the installation of the two studios for RTE and BBC/Sky. For GAA matches, RTE's studio is their corporate box at the Canal End - they clearly didn't want to waste this box for the rugby games when there was money/prestige to be had.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

I dont think an internet topic has ever made my so angry, for various things, most of all the standing and singing, which are both the most natural thing to do at a football match. God I f**king hate Ireland fans! No coincidence that the best atmosphere was coming from the real Irish football fans, the EL supporters. I don't know why I was looking to go to this game. And by the way, the Mexican Wave is the most goonish thing ever!
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast