On a slightly related topic, I see that Liechtenstein won against Latvia (qualifiers last time out) last night, thereby picking up their first points in the European Nations Championship (or whatever it's called nowadays) since they drew with us in 1995!
Back on Topic, well done, Norn Iron, show them foreign types what we are essentially genetically identically made of!
That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.
Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!
Originally Posted by Dodge
The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D
Yep NI are really on a roll, great for the fans. However Mr. Sanchez has never been a favourite of mine since 1988, and I will say no more about that............
By the looks of things you seem to have gotten your act together fan wise.
We still have our prize twits unfortunately. One Celtic fan (celtic shirt on) had the neck to turn around and call us muppets last night, he didnt do that on sat cos he wasnt there. He was prompt told where to go and he behaved himself then.
well done N Iron. Fair play to you and I hope ye qualify (along with us of course). Two world class finishes from a guy not given a proper run in a Leeds side?! Crazy world. Whatever Lawrie Sanchez is feeding em up there then we all need some of that!!! England, Spain and now Sweden are all major scalps and credit has to be given.
Last edited by shakermaker1982; 29/03/2007 at 11:14 PM.
"If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.
You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!
Fair play to Northern Ireland and I hope they qualify. Although I do think if it wasn't for Healy they wouldn't be anywhere near the position their in at present.
54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
Following Harps Home & Away
https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC
Healy sticks them away. Gillespie makes alot of them and Davis and Johnson knock it about in the middle with Brunt swinging the corners in and a back 4 better than any other I have seen at soaking up pressure. Seems simple but try playing against it. There is more goals in this side but that will come through time.
Can we keep this thread strictly football related? You should all be well aware of the rules by now. One more post out of line and the thread will be locked.
he was at the game the other night
I had a great time at the Lichtenstien game last week & an even better time on Wed night, as usual the stadium was pumping from well before KO & it stayed that way throughout the 90 mins, it's been mentioned by some previous posters on this thread that our supporter's help the team immensly and i believe this is true , we truly are the twelfth man.![]()
This is a post from a member of the our wee country website that i think sums up the special atmosphere being generated at our home games.
"I was in the viewing lounge at Windsor Park and the swedish press were in there too. Got chatting to a guy from OFFSIDE magazine in Sweden...Supposedly like what we used to get with MATCH and SHOOT!?
I asked him what the genuine thought with Northern Ireland was in Sweden? Did they view us as a serious threat? Were they confident etc? And he reckoned that the Swedish press and Sports journalists have done nothing but play tapes of our England, Spain victories and show our fans going mad! He said he interviewed Elmander and Kallstrom pre game ie an hour before the match and they were really sh*tting themselves because of the reputation our stadium had back home in Sweden!
He said it was obvious, because off-the-ball players were standing looking round them with their jaws on the ground...and he added that these are players that play in the San Siro, Stadio Olimpico etc every week.
In final he said the reputation was just what they expected and that we were a hard team to beat at home but he conceded that he'd love us to do well and that it was a kick up the backside that the egotistical swedish team needed".
A great insight i thought.![]()
& this is a quote from Jess from Sweden..
"First of all...Congratulations on the victory and also thank you for making us Swedes feel so welcome in Belfast!
I was in Belfast for a few days, and I had a cracking time. There were many hours of nervousness, a few hours of disappointment and many many hours of excitement and joy. I always knew it was going to be hard to play you lot at Windsor Park, but going to Belfast I was confident in atleast getting a draw...but little did I know! When I first came into the stadium I was a little disappointed with how far away from the pitch the stand was, and also how far away your stands were from where us Swedes were "seated". However, I forgot about that as soon as you lot started singing. You guys created one of the best atmospheres I have ever experienced at a football game (and I have been around quite a lot!). Even though I sang my heart out with my fellow countrymen I doubt you heard us at all...yous were miles away! But trust me...we did sing! We have a fairly good away support, but when it comes to playing at home it's absolutely rubbish! I know already that when you come over to Sweden I will be ashamed of our lack of support...so you better sing for both of us!
I was gutted after the game...but after entering a bar I cannot remember the name of, in Shaftsbury Square, I found myself to soon have forgotten about the defeat and join in on the celebrations.
I'm ranting now so once again congrats and thanks, and also welcome to Sweden, I hope many many of yous make it over...
...You're not Brazil You're Northern Ireland...and of that you should be proud!"
Also , well done to the South for getting back into a challengable position in the group.![]()
Both teams in the Euro's at the expense of the English would be great for football on this island.
Onwards & upwards.
Last edited by big p from owc; 30/03/2007 at 8:34 PM.
"In 1969 I gave up women and alcohol - it was the worst 20 minutes of my life".
GEORGE BEST.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"