Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland v Wales - Post Match Thread

I think a lot of posters on this thread are missing the point. You are venting your frustration at the players and manager. The blame clearly lies with Delaney. World class manager my foot. It has to be the only team in the world that appointed a manager with no experience.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

161 Posts
    That was dire stuff. I agree with other posters about the booing of Robbie Keane as ridiculous. We had five in midfield at home against Wales! and Keane was isolated up front. I thought he played well. The tactics are all over the place. A left full playing at right full. And vice a vesa? Would anyone on here please try explain that. Is Stephen hawking ever on this board? I thought Carsley played well. We are playing another very poor team on Wednesday in Slovakia and should win that too. Why some on here believe the Slovaks are any good is surely only based onthat game against the Welsh. I have seen them play and they are at best very ordinary. So by Wednesday evening we could be 2nd. Unbelievable.

Quote Originally Posted by Soko View Post
    You really have to stop this annoying you. It will not get any better with Staunton in charge. Its not possible. I gave away my tickets for the game today and will do so for all games that he is responsible for. I just can't bear that ****e
    good man great way so support your country .. muppet

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    The only time I saw him (Keane) on the floor moaning was when he was through on the keeper and claimed a peno for a tackle from behind. Haven't seen the replay so I don't know whether the claim was justified. He worked hard on his own up front chasing down the Welsh back 4 with little support.
    The defender got all of Robbie and none of the ball. Basically a tackle from behind chopping down a player who was one on one with the goalkeeper but the ball had already drifted too close to the goalkeeper making the goalkeeper favorite to win the ball. Is that a penalty?

ATM we are looking good for 4th spot.
    Team selection re positions and formation was deflating and the team played reflecting that. Incredibly it looked like our team was set up to stop Wales from playing whatever it is that Wales play.
    It is ignorant to put Finnan on the left, he offers nothing more than ordinary out there.
    The GAA are the winners, €1.5m for that.
    I can't say that I have any hopes for the Irish team if we are looking at Douglas/Kilbane/O´Shea to partner Carsley.

Impressed by Hunt and his attitude, straight into the thick of whatever was happening and played his game. He is ready and good enough to start and ahead of Mc Geady imo.

Disgusted with the behaviour of some of the so called " fans " at the game yday. The constant jeering and booing of keane who had a decent game was uncalled for. The people in the row behind me were wondering when firstly " shane hunt " and than no " stephen long your man who kicked in the chelsea keepers head " was gonna come on. Then when Doyle came on aul lad in front of me asked his mate was doyle not playing all the game ?? Too many people there yday who just went cause it was the first game .. Wonder will they still turn up on wed night with all the after work traffic to get through !

Quote Originally Posted by craig7042 View Post
    I dont know what world you're all living in. The level of arrogance in these comments is shocking. I sat there today and saw a team win a game of international football. (what about Scotland? What about England? Everyone struggles to find form. Its normal. The win is the win is the win.) They didnt play as well as they can, but in moments there were clear positives. McShane was immense. Hunt and Doyle changed things with great determination when he came on. Given obviously saved us again. Dunne did well. Duff was far more creative especially in the first half. Kilbane, Carsley and douglas did okay. Ireland didnt do well, but you'll struggle to get a better international goal. Keane ran himself into the ground, but struggled. He's honest...lay off him ya gits. O'Shea was okay...frustrating...but ok. The fans cheered everything positive and where I was sitting there was almost no abuse thrown at the players from start to finish. Moments of frustration...no abuse though. The atmosphere at the start was good..there was a lull in the first half until the goal. (As a Liverpool fan having a lull in a game is not unusual. Liverpool regularly have lulls that last 80 minutes. ditto Chelsea)
    After everything...a win is a win is a win.

They did well as a team and it sets things up for Wednesday to start to build again.

I just dont understand you people with your comments..............It wasnt a good game??? Really??
    Since then did that ever matter????
    Well said. Agree 100% with you.

Quote Originally Posted by barney View Post

Doyle's chance was created as a result of Keane's ingenuity (sp). It was a class touch. As was his pass for Ireland's goal. With the service he had, Keane did an awful lot.
    Absolutely right ... Keane was one of our better players yesterday. He worked very hard, set up the goal with a brilliant first-time pass, and was unlucky to have a stone-wall penalty turned down because the ref couldn't keep up with play

Quote Originally Posted by Hobbes View Post
    Why, surely, Irish chelsea is not all that different from Irish Kilburn...and if we allow celtic supporters, why should we not allow rangers fans
    I'm not saying it has anything to do with Rangers, why would it? I'm saying I dont like our national flag been defaced with a foreign team's name on it.

That was one crap match, two rubbish teams..

Back four played well..

Douglas was crap..
    Kilbane kept giving the ball away..
    Ireland was OK..
    Carlsey had a quiet game..

Keane played OK, but he kept comming deep and going out on the wings
    so who the hell was supposed to be in the box...

Duff was good in patches..

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    I think a lot of posters on this thread are missing the point. You are venting your frustration at the players and manager. The blame clearly lies with Delaney. World class manager my foot. It has to be the only team in the world that appointed a manager with no experience.
    Delaney gets plenty of stick on here. Sorry - the blame also lies with the manager. If Stan cares about this country he should do the right thing, recognise his failings from day 1 (Carsley) on-going (Kenny), plus poor team selection, lack of motivation, seige mentality, worst performances I can remember, worst results I can recall, etc etc & walk away.......... for the sake of Irish football.

If I was a kid I'd be inspired by the Irish rugby team to pick up an oval ball.

I think the players would do better without Stan. Some of the post match comments by the players were telling:

Carsley: "He (Staunton) just named the team but didn't go through any roles to be honest"

Ireland: "I'm not really comfortable at all on the right wing, to be honest, but eventually they swapped me and Duffer over and soon after we broke through for the goal,"

The criticism of Keane is justified to a certain extent, he certainly created some very good chances but when you have your lone striker constantly moving to the wings you have to be frustrated by his lack of discipline. The captaincy should be given to a different player, after all who is going to tell the captain where he should be playing? Making Carsley captain is probably the best option.

You have to admire Hunt's agression and mongrel qualities but that still doesn't make him international class, it is a sad reflection on the current situation that he is probably a necessary starter for us now.

I was in lower Davin and it looked to me like Robbie had it in his head to go down even before the ball was played to him. I think that's what's so frustrating about him, he's constantly looking for favours from the ref instead of just getting on with it.

And what's with this "Who are you" chanting in an English accent?

It is muppetry of the highest order.
    Gimme dat

Quote Originally Posted by DubJohn View Post
    And what's with this "Who are you" chanting in an English accent?

It is muppetry of the highest order.
    It's how they do it in the Premiership...and that's what we want to be like isn't it?.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    I think the players would do better without Stan. Some of the post match comments by the players were telling:

Carsley: "He (Staunton) just named the team but didn't go through any roles to be honest"

Ireland: "I'm not really comfortable at all on the right wing, to be honest, but eventually they swapped me and Duffer over and soon after we broke through for the goal,"
    Carsley claimed "the quotes were taken out of context."
    He added: "The question was about the instruction coming onto the pitch in the second half when they were on top.
    "There wasn't any instruction because you haven't got time to stop the game, look over at the bench and say 'oh, shall we do this'.
    : "The preparation was fantastic."
    "Any question of unrest in the dressing room is wide of the mark. We prepared properly and everyone knew their roles in the team"

http://www.sportinglife.com/football...&TEAMHD=soccer

20 Posts
    have to say I thouht trying to make something of them comments was clutching at straws by the media.
    to anyone saying we got 3 points whats everyone moaning about....
    it was an awful 90 minutes. how many times did we see an irish player kick the ball out of play under no pressure? anyone happy at that performance is mad.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Carsley claimed "the quotes were taken out of context."
    He added: "The question was about the instruction coming onto the pitch in the second half when they were on top.
    "There wasn't any instruction because you haven't got time to stop the game, look over at the bench and say 'oh, shall we do this'.
    : "The preparation was fantastic."
    "Any question of unrest in the dressing room is wide of the mark. We prepared properly and everyone knew their roles in the team"

http://www.sportinglife.com/football...&TEAMHD=soccer
    So what Carsley is saying is that Stan named the team - an unchanged team - at half time but didn't go over roles because there wasn't time? This make no sense to me. Do manager's normally name a team at half time if they are making no changes? Was the quote manufactured or is Carsley trying to undo something?

keane

Quote Originally Posted by tippex View Post
    its time now to drop the likes of keane and duff who think they are world class and let the guys who are hungry show them what they can do.
    are you having a laugh? they were the only ones with a bit of class, Keane should have had a peno. In fact the guy beside me (who was obviously a f ucking rugby fan - we were in the premium level!) started giving out about Keane diving...talk about jumpinhg on a bandwagon!So i duly told him to f off.
    But as for wanting Duff and Keane dropped, its just ridiculous

161 Posts
    I have always believed that we are in a very winnable group. I think the Germans are a good team. Certainly not great by any means. The Czechs have some very good players and some very, very bad players. They are going to lose a few games in this group. We can catch them. I am starting to believe we can finish second in this group almost by default. I believe we will again play crap but win on wednesday. We will win all our home games bar the German game and probably play crap in all of them. We can get a draw at least against the Czechs away. Beat Wales and the Slovaks away. And there we are. Stan with Robson are starting to remind me of the old England teams who almost always played crap in qualifiers but seemed to get through their groups. Its going to happen. If Dunne can concentrate for 90 mins plus they I can see us keeping clean sheets for almost the rest of the games. Stan is a lucky ****er to still have the job. He can't get any worse! So watch us get into second. NI and Scotland slip up in their final games as they play much better football than us. And we sneak in. Its going to happen. I have seen much better Irish teams not qualify with better managers. Funny old game anyone?

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Condex
    That was one crap match, two rubbish teams.
    If we end up qualifying in November, nobody will give a 4x how crap the game was. Can you ever remember an exciting, thrill-a-minute Ireland-Wales game??

It's highly probable that on Wednesday night, Germany, Czechs and us will all be level on 13 points, so even with them having games in hand, and 5 of Germany's remaining games at home, we'll still be in with a shout going to Trnava.

Even still, we would be in a better position if we didn't have a clueless, illiterate puppet, "in charge".

85 Posts
    Some overly harsh comments there...

Keane was gik in front of goal but was involved in the few good things we did produce.. Duffs save, Doyle hitting the bar, Irelands goal springs to mind. He will be missed on Wednesday and for the few minutes him and Doyle were together the partnership looks really promising. Keane did however do his usual sit on his hole waving his hands in the air craic and I wasn't happy with how he handed the armband to Carsley.

McShane brings something to the team aside from his performances.. A level of conviction, focus or whatever. Would love to see West Brom get promoted and him and Dunne play allot of games.

The O'Shea at right full thing may have been tactical to counter the Giggs/Bellamy threat. We'll see wednesday.

A couple of strange substitutions. Kilbane should have came off instead of Douglas. I though him and Carsley were solid enough in there. That said Kilbane came into his own the last ten minutes. Duff looked dead on his feet at the end. He finnished the game practically at right full. Should have been subbed for McGeady long before Keane was.

Doyle changed to whole dynamic of Ireland play when he came on. The ball actually stayed in the last third on kickouts and long balls compared to before his arrival.... Long balls to Ireland or Duff>???? you have to question the logic.

Hunt undeniably played well... But I've seen him for Reading on the box a few times. He's a decent player but doesn't warrant the expectations placed on him here. But he's on form so it's a decision to make.

I think the team wed will be

Given
    Finnan, McShane, Dunne, O'Shea
    McGeady, Douglas, CArsley, Kilbane, Duff
    Doyle

Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast