37 Posts

City 0 - United 0

Full time form Turner's Cross ....

Cork City 0
    Galway United 0

I thought Murphy, O'Flynn and O'Brien were crap for Cork.

I thought Murphy, O'Flynn and O'Brien were excellent for United
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Tony Cousins got it spot on with the changes he made from the sligo game. Shane Treacy was a revelation at left back, the rest of the back four were class. As per usual Alan Gough was first class. The whole team were brilliant. I would just like to know what Roddy Collins made of our team last nite. The craic with the cork fans was good in the stand. I just hope the keeps to the same back four and Gough in goals until Rogers comes back if not longer. Things are looking better for the Drogheda game and the draw should keep the big crowd in terryland.

didnt catch what roddy said but dave barry was saying galway did well as they came for the draw and got exactly that, although he also think that cork were absolute rubbish which helped us too.

Correct me if i am wrong Terry but i have never seen so much long ball from a team that is potentian title contenders. Wes and Reggie coped quite well with what they got.

ya, they had one plan and that was to attack down the middle but they werent expecting a brick wall in Lester and Foley, they were superb all night and were the best 2 players on the pitch. After that, all they could do was give long balls over the top which were handled easily enough by Wes, Reggie and Goughie.

The lads went down to the "Real Capital" with a plan. It worked to a tee. Well done to all. Goughy was his usual reliable self, the back 4 were really solid, with young Treacy a revelation. Middle of the park 10 out of 10. Lester earned his crust big time last nite! Derek the drama queen was ok and the rest did all that was asked of them. The games are coming thick and fast with the Drogs, Rovers and Pats next. Get yourselves up to our Theatre of Dreams on Friday and keep the buzz going. The lads need us all giving them all our support.

it will be hard to watch the match from Manchester !!!!!

Well done - that should steady the ship after last week. I'd be well pleased if we got a point from Turners Cross.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Ya Hooie spot on long ball ****e from the langballs! The Cork Bhoooooys that were standing around me were disgusting one reckoned if we signed a top class striker we'd have won the game! We were guilty of some hoofing ourselves I remember cursing alot of stray passes during the first half. I think improved a bit in the second. Foley is a terrier closing down every ball and he certainly had his duracel in last night id say he even closed down the shops around the ground after the game! Lester did the same and cooke was good too but a bit too light and shoved off the ball too easily.

No one had a bad game last night what a transformation!!!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

tactically tony got it absolutely spot on. everytime we lost the ball we shuffled back into position and made our back 4 line and our midfield 5. we got back into positon really quickly when the ball was lost and cork had no options at all to play short passes into midfield. they were restricted to knocking it around between the back 4 and then just knocking it long. back 4 coped very well with the long balls and treacy made a cracking full debut, hopefully he stays in the LB role. also Collie was brilliant at RB and in my opinion should have won the MoM award
    Last edited by Terry; 17/03/2007 at 9:53 AM. Reason: had collie in wrong position
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

I got to see Collie up close for the first half from where I was standing and he done very well to cope with the pressure from Kearney I think. He was giving 110%. Dont think he was MOM I would have picked Treacy over him. Every chance he got he was on his way up to the cork corner flag. He has made that his position for the foreseeable future. People watching tv reckoned Lester from what I here but I dont think he was our MOM.

I think S O'Flynn could be a good signing he showed he is up for the battle and i think he could score a few match winners yet this season. Any thoughts?
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

great result and performance - was badly needed - as was said above - a few wayward passes under no pressure and we could have created a lot more
    more water!

Tracy and Lester were the star men in a good overall performance.

The Dublin part of the RTE team (Con Murphy & Darragh Moloney ) were bored out of their pants and did little to disguise it. I was surprised that Moloney couldn't even get the year we finished runners-up right. (Why did he bother referring to it at all? I really rated him as one of their better commentators up to this, but he just gave the sense of being p****d off about having to go to Cork on a Bank Holiday weekend) Dave Barry & Pat Morley (who both inflicted serious pain on us during their playing careers) were very generous to us all the way through. There was no Cork superiority complex, but full praise for TCs execution of his plan. Morley selected Lester as MoTM, and praised foley / murphy / lester all through the ninety minutes for the way they stymied the home team, especially Joe Gamble. It must be unprecedented for a Cork analyst not to select one of their own as MoTM in any code. Likewise Dave Barry praised our guys and there was no begrudgery about the manner in which we set about shoring up the post Sligo performance.

The back four were unrecognisable from the first outing & I definitely think they derived a lot of condfidence from Alan being back in goals. A second consecutive 'yellow' for Reggie is bad news IMO. We'll definitely pay for that as the games mount up.

Drogs have now had two wins on the bounce (UCD & Glentoran) after a rocky start, so their confidence will be high coming to Galway. We owe them big time after the play-off reverse a few seasons ago. Let's hope we're up for it.

By the way - Turners Cross has been rightly praised for being as good an Irish soccer ground as there is. But the surface didn't seem to be in the players favour at all with the ball squirting in all directions a lot of the time. Was that just the difficult conditions, or was the pitch a factor too?
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Yeah the surface was as poor as I've seen it in a long time.

Congratulations to Galway, ye fully deserved it. Hopefully ye caught us at the right time (!). City were poor and lacked creativity, and Galway pretty much controlled midfield, that and the pitch led to the hopeful long passes. S O'Flynn looked most likely to score at times but he always gets fired up playing against us tho' he should turn out to be a good signing for ye.

Hopefully after last night and FIFA clearing Farrelly and Healy (fingers crossed) the team will be fired up.

Good luck for the rest of the season!