Thread: Setanta

Setanta

have to say Linfield and ourselves look like the only decent sides in this competition. Hopefully we meet in a final for the sake of the competition, I think Setanta would end the format if the likes of Drogheda Nil or Derry made the final.

I think we have to give Dungannon credit for going out and trying to win the game, scored a couple of decent goals too. We should beat them at home but I'd like to see them go through.

Last night's game was poor enough but like you said Linfield looked OK going forward. Derry seem to rely too much on McCourt for an attacking spark and if he doesn't turn up (like last night) they have nothing and Nutsy doesn't know what to do. If we win our group, and Linfield finish 2nd, a semi in Richmond could be great for the league. I'd prefer us to get one of the Drogheda/Derry in semi and then play Linfield in a the final in Belfast

Cork have used up all their goals for the next month in one game. Naive.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

this is how i see it panning out....

At the moment - us 7pts, Cark 4pts, Swifts 3pts, PortyOnDown 1pt

We'll beat Dungannon, draw with Cark and lose to POD = 11pts

Cork will draw with all 3 remaining games - 7pts

Swifts will lose to us, draw with cork and POD - 5pts

POD will beat us and draw with the other 2 - 6pts.

Us and the langers thru
    Linfield and Drogs thru in other group

Us v Linfield in the final....

We won't lose to Portadown. Think we should get at least 7 points out of last few games.

Last game, we'll already have won the group, give the "squad players a chance, they wont have won any games and will go all out to change that...wont matter a bit...

Yeah good point Danny. Loads of league games and the league cup around that time. If the group is already won I'd certainly rest Fahey, Kirby, Ndo and O'Neill.

lads I think Dungannon can beat Porty on Down - I also think they'll nab the in our shadow spot from Cark

Quote Originally Posted by wws View Post
    have to say Linfield and ourselves look like the only decent sides in this competition.
    as rico said, we're only warming up
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

you beat the group whipping boys and used up your goals tally for the month (two months I'd argue)

still though, its a bit rich to say yourselves and linfield are the only decent sides in the competition. long way to go yet.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

you serious?!?

group qualification is practically over.

you serious?!?

group qualification is practically over.
    its just reached its half way point, to be followed by the knock-out stages.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Can somebody get a calendar for the Cork boys? Thanks.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

the introduction of world class internationals farrelly and healy will change everything

fair play lads yer lookin good for the future

the introduction of world class internationals farrelly and healy will change everything
    hopefully not too much, going on last night's performance. jeez, ye beat a big team once...
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Portadown ARE not a big team

neither are you
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

we're from Dublin and we're better than you

somebody get the Cork lads some hearing aids. Thanks.