Thread: UCD vs Cork

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rebelarmyexile View Post
    any know is there a direct bus to Belfield Park, or to Fosters Place? Dont want to have to walk through the college again
    http://stigonline.com/league/directions.htm##21
    See bottom of the map for the route Schumi mentioned.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    The 46B and 17 go right outside the entrance to Belfield Park.
    Provided you have a spare couple of hours to wait for them.

46A's probably the best. Get off at the Radison, cross the road, head up Foster's Avenue (the t-junction there) and the ground's in on your right.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    I see so beating us 5-1 on our own patch a couple of years ago doesn't count does it?
    Ya, I've actually changed my mind.
    4-0 to City.
    I'm expecting a Healy, Farrelly, Gamble triangle in midfield.

+ Poor Student,
    I'd be very surprised if anyone even on that site said that, although Ryan is beginning to settle in now.
    Where's that thesis?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

3,489 Posts
    Well, there's at least a very positive thread about him on the Cork forum (well, it starts off very anti-him, and then hilariously swings very much pro-him on the basis of one game. Fickle fickle! ).

Here's one person anyway saying he's been Cork's best player this season.

And I love this comment!

Well, there's at least a very positive thread about him on the Cork forum (well, it starts off very anti-him, and then hilariously swings very much pro-him on the basis of one game. Fickle fickle! ).

Here's one person anyway saying he's been Cork's best player this season.

And I love this comment!
    could you quote them? some of us arent fortunate enough to be eligible members of such a fine establishment.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    could you quote them? some of us arent fortunate enough to be eligible members of such a fine establishment.
    Ah, the traditional Corkonian paranoia which has their forums private.

Quote Originally Posted by graeme' date='Mar 17 2007, 09:16 PM' post='314872
    IMO ryan has been city's best player so far this season.[b]
    Quote Originally Posted by MIAHD' date='Mar 21 2007, 11:02 AM' post='316130
    and he doesn't get caught out of position, unlike his predecessor
    The thread PS mentioned is 3 pages long, but it's much as he said... From
    Quote Originally Posted by Trickster' date='Mar 12 2007, 01:13 AM' post='312141
    So basically we have a fat, rubbish new left back, and all this from 2 games, none of which have been at Turners Cross. As the other thread is called, thats a fair bit of over reacting and over analysis even for this forum. As soccerlady said, Devine and Gamble did no better. I hope its not gonna be a case of all the bitter Danny Murphy fans giving Darragh stick.
    to
    Quote Originally Posted by gintyboy' date='Mar 21 2007, 12:00 PM' post='316157
    I think Ryan is going to be a pretty good signing for us from what I've seen. He is comfortable on the ball and isn't afraid to bring it forward. So much so that the other three lads are more than happy to switch the play to the left more often than not as something generally happens when he is allowed to bring the ball up the field.

As an attacking full back option I think his ability in this regard is going to benefit the club more so than his defending, which seems to be solid enough.

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Ah, the traditional Corkonian paranoia which has their forums private.
    its just an effort to get the number of registered users up. unfortunately the admin hasnt changed the warning system accordingly and being banned from posting also means not being able to read the forum.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Ryan had a poor first 2 games. He looked very unfit, and had zero touch.

The last 2 games he seems fitter, hungrier, more aggressive and well able to pass. I dunno maybe its because he's a full time pro now that he's come on.

The Jury is still out though.

I think he looks decent. I reckon he'll improve under Davey Hill aswell in time.

Back on topic.4-0 City

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    + Poor Student,
    I'd be very surprised if anyone even on that site said that, although Ryan is beginning to settle in now.
    Where's that thesis?
    There's one member of Darren's fanclub anyway: http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/index...dpost&p=314872

I e-mailed it to you ages ago. I sent you another e-mail to confirm I've got the right e-mail address. If not, PM it to me again.

All of the new signings (including Kearney) have performed well in comparison to a lot of the existing first teamers. Though that's not saying a hell of a lot. We have been lucky with the fixtures as the team has had no preseason and it shows; had we been up against some of the bigger boys our goal difference could be looking miserable.

Hopefully the win against Ports will kickstart the season and Healy and Farrelly will become available soon. Colin and Gamble need to know they have to fight to get on the team as our midfield has been shocking.

If the boys don't get clearance and ye can stifle Kearney then our main creative threat is from Ryan or Kelly (Central Defender)

Roy and JO'F will always cause problems tho'.

Honestly don't know how this one will go, too many variables !

Thought Darragh Ryan wasnt too bad when I saw him play. Dont think you have much to worry about Pete there was a big improvement over the Galway performance on Tues in Setanta Cup.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Is it right that if you show an Ireland-Wales ticket when buying for UCD-City it's only €10? That's a good idea if so, though it should work the other way to i.e. regulars at EL games should get discounts on Ireland tickets. Does the 18 bus go anywhere near the ground?

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wrigleyman View Post
    Is it right that if you show an Ireland-Wales ticket when buying for UCD-City it's only €10? That's a good idea if so, though it should work the other way to i.e. regulars at EL games should get discounts on Ireland tickets.
    Yeah, it's a one off idea from the club. Might work nicely - any langers heading along to Croker on Saturday might consider coming up a day early a little harder.

Does the 18 bus go anywhere near the ground?
    Allegedly. I've never seen one, and while its timetable says it makes an appearance at Belfield, I can't seem to find where it stops. It seems to stop at Vincents too, so I'll hazard a guess that it would let you off at the N11 flyover, about a 5-7 minute walk to Belfield Park. (map)

Can anyone clarify?

Is Radisson best place for a pre-match pint these days?
    Oh no not them again

3,489 Posts
    Was never in there, although never thought about it as a replacement for the Montrose, to be honest. Good spot, possibly!

The Montrose or Lonnegan's (a pub connected to the Montrose) are the usual places.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    I've heard Kielys in Mount Merrion is good craic.

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC View Post
    Is Radisson best place for a pre-match pint these days?
    Quite expensive I believe.

Cork seem to have several doubtful players for the game: Liam Kearney, Darren Murphy & Brian O’Callaghan. Don't know if they're really injured though.

Darren Murphy is definately out.
    Out of those 3, Kearney would be the only starter and I think he's likely to shake it off.