Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Youths 1-0 Cobh ....Our first victory !!!!

cheers bobbyblob

The more pics the better...

when we get a "mod" here I might ask them to set up a "Wexford Pics" thread and keep it for match pics and stadium pics only.. so everyone can view them
    www.fmformation.net FMFormation.net Admin Team
    Wexford Youth FC - International Supporters Club Member!

i saw paul mcgrath there to, didnt see kerr hes probably down to see if ye have any good players he could rob,

question though what is pat dolans role in the club, it deffinately isnt comercial manager as no club has there commercial manager on the bench with the manager,

we should have beaten ye lot 3-1 our finnishing belongs at senior league level, hope to be more lethal soon our we'll suffer, congrats one yer first win yew took yer chances,

i hope teh event controller learned a lot form this game and will be better organised next game,

best of luck and well see ye in our place an may 19th
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Just thaught I'd post a pic of the cover of the programme up:

http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l1...ex/wyfcpro.jpg
    Mick Wallace's black and white army

The cameras were from RTE, I think they're going to show some of the game before whatever game is live on RTE this week......that's what I heard on Sunday anyway.

I saw Paul there too - he's living in Wexford now and has been out kicking around under lights on the training pitches a few times.....fancies himself as a bit of a centre-forward these days!

Well done, and welcome to the eircom league.
    Might try and get to your game againist DUNDALK(craptown) i'll give youse a few good songs to sing at them.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    I'll probably be a while getting my photos up. Can't do it in work so I have to wait for the unlikely convergance of girlfriends laptop, my camera and neighbours wireless broadband! They're not much different than the ones we've seen before.

On the stewarding at the game, I was told that the event controllor is the head event controller from Croke Park, so he should have plenty of experience. Some of the problems with access arose because the temporary fencing all got blown over in the wind the night before. Anyone parked down the back of the training pitches behind the goal was not supposed to be there. They only used it becuase the fencing in that area had fallen down. That's according to the steward at that end anyway.

I liked the look of the jersey, very simple design, I hope they make them available to the public soon.

I just remembered Cobh had a very lucky escape in the first half. The keeper came rushing out of the goal, never had a chance of making it and took down Elmes outside the box. It was a straight red if it hadn't been for a very very late flag from the linesman. He was at least a yard onside too.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    I just remembered Cobh had a very lucky escape in the first half. The keeper came rushing out of the goal, never had a chance of making it and took down Elmes outside the box. It was a straight red if it hadn't been for a very very late flag from the linesman. He was at least a yard onside too.

yeah, i remeber that that too. Put that with the two footed tackle on Conor Sinnott, Ramblers were very lucky to keep 11 men on the field
    "People say football is a matter of life and death, I believe it is much more important than that".

Good solid start to the league by the lads, and proves all the doubters on Wallace and his professionalism (or lack of it as a lot were insinuating) wrong. Granted its not going to be like this all year and there will be dreadful days to go with great days, but at least he has got his first win under his belt. Would have been disappointing as the game went not to win it and its always one of those things trying to get the first win in a debut season. Well done to all involved.

Welcome to the big time boys. Good win ....we might catch ye next time but best of luck anyway. See ye at St Colmans Park.

ye were poor we were worse but have to say ye have an excellent setup will be great when all built and what a legend mick wallace is cool hair and superb grub at halftime but man was it cold there sunny south east my nuts
    best of luck int he season good to have ye in the league

Quote Originally Posted by Thunder-WYFC View Post
    Just thaught I'd post a pic of the cover of the programme up:

http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l1...ex/wyfcpro.jpg
    I see Pat Ronan was match sponsor. An absolute gentleman and great supporter of Pats over the years.

Mr Saintmainia

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Mick Wallaces, shall we say intersting, account of the first home game, now on Unison.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

A class act, shame I missed it. For anyone without access to unison...

Considering the day that was in it, I decided to go for a swim at Bannow Island on Sunday morning.

The power and cold of the sea has a humbling effect on an individual and braces one for the challenges that lie ahead. And challenges there are many.

Playing our first-ever League of Ireland game in Wexford presented them from all angles. Trying to have the teams prepared, Seanie O'Shea getting the ground right, Ioam Fedorca sorting out the complex, Simon Aust organising the stewards, thankfully with great help from the Gardai, all keeping disturbance of the neighbours to a minimum.

Cathal Fanning and my brother, Joseph, taking care of financial matters, and Luca Boccalo putting food and wine in order.

Many people, too numerous to mention, helped out in order to make it all happen.

Taking the players for a session on Saturday, followed by pasta and salad in Enoteca D'Alba, and the same on Sunday before game preparations, all seemed like the easy part. The game, the crowd, the goal, the win - incredible. Impossible to play good football against the gale-force wind in the first-half, a bit easier in the second. The passion and honesty throughout the team was emotional for all 90 minutes, the crowd were fantastic, all 2,500 of them, and to crown it all the Gods smiled on us.

Grazie a Tutti per Tutto, thanks to so many for so much. What a beautiful day!

Mick Wallace
    Who dares to speak of 98?

awww *tears*
    www.fmformation.net FMFormation.net Admin Team
    Wexford Youth FC - International Supporters Club Member!

Great piece by your leader.Good to have a great new character aboard the EL crazy bus.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123