Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Keane hits out at selection “disgrace”

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Of course it makes sense if, in Stan' s words, we are building for the future. Connolly hasn't done it at international level and we need another midget up front like we need a hole in the head. Keogh is a big lad who has been impressing for Wolves and scored a good last minute goal against Wednesday yesterday

There is logic in the decision. It might not be correct in some people's eyes but I can see the logic.

Millar only came on as a sub on Tuesday against Stoke and yet Keane says he should be in our squad
    Miller should be in the squad he has been excellent this season and this building for the future ****** just doesnt cut it .. Miller is currently better than gibson so should be picked and connolly is flying and should be ahead of the likes of folan and stokes even shane long imo ..What Keane says is what most people are thinking .. But no lets just agree with the laughing stock that is staunton..

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Lucky for Stan he didn't score a hattrick.

The Tribune article on Roy's views is a lot milder.

http://www.tribune.ie/article.tvt?_s...BCATNAME=Sport
    InterestinG, according to RK not only are the FAI Corkist, they are also dwarfist .Since S. Ireland is not the tallest fella and is from Keanes home town it makes his comments even more bizzare.Look he was a great player and is doing a good job as manager but it does seem he allows some wild ideas to grow in his mind.
    Last edited by cheifo; 18/03/2007 at 7:54 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    Keogh over Connolly must have been to spite Keane, it makes no sense
    Am I giving Keane too much credit in that he said that on purpose knowing that Connolly wouldn't be called up and hence not injured while not playing for Sunderland.
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

Miller has never, and will never be a good player, Staunton doesn't rate him, fair enough. As for Connolly, he has never done well for Ireland, so why not throw someone like Folan into the mix. I was surprised Keogh didn't get picked in the first place, he's doing great stuff for Wolves at the moment, so I'd happily put him in for Folan.

And in fairness it's pretty obvious that Roy is only saying that ****e about anti-Cork attitudes to keep his family in free drin ks down here. Honestly you can't set foot in a taxi down here without hearing about Roy, his family or how he shows everyone how great Cork is

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour View Post
    Miller should be in the squad he has been excellent this season and this building for the future ****** just doesnt cut it .. Miller is currently better than gibson so should be picked and connolly is flying and should be ahead of the likes of folan and stokes even shane long imo ..What Keane says is what most people are thinking .. But no lets just agree with the laughing stock that is staunton..
    I am not sure that this is "what most people are thinking". See the debate on Connolly elsewhere. I certainly think having him back would be a retrograde step and the Sunderland games I have seen live (including being at one vs Wednesday) he hasn't impressed and looks to be the exact same player who has failed before for us.

I too am not a believer in "the building for the future" stuff Stan puts out since the future never comes but I would prefer to give new blood a chance instead of the failures of yesteryear.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    I am not sure that this is "what most people are thinking". See the debate on Connolly elsewhere. I certainly think having him back would be a retrograde step and the Sunderland games I have seen live (including being at one vs Wednesday) he hasn't impressed and looks to be the exact same player who has failed before for us.

I too am not a believer in "the building for the future" stuff Stan puts out since the future never comes but I would prefer to give new blood a chance instead of the failures of yesteryear.
    yep I have that stance too. If Connolly takes Sunderland up and starts scoring in the Premiership for fun then yes he needs to be given another chance but I have always got the impression he is a fantastic Championship level player but one who can't quite cut the mustard with the big guns.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

1,928 Posts
    I don't mind the future stuff as long as Stan picks the best 11 no matter what age they are. Its a squad of 24, I don't see too many negatives with including the younger lads.
    If Ireland can't beat Wales at home then it won't be because Connolly and Miller were not called up.

Connolly has proven time and time again that he is not good enough, maybe miller deserves a chance instead of gibson also...

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Keane should keep his nose out of it , its none of his business who Staunton picks in his squad.You dont see Staunton giving out about Stokes non selection in the Sunderland team
    Couldnt agree more. Miller has been in and out of the sunderland team himself recently, as has darryl murphy. Keane shud mind his own biz. God he annoys the hell out of me! Have to say tho, some of stans selections do annoy me. Wayne henderson ahead of the boy doyle with birmingham?>? Wat r u doing??!?

130 Posts
    Supposedly Stan spoke to Steve Bruce and Nigel Spink (Bham GK coach) and they asked that he be left out that they felt he wasnt ready for it yet, so thats a reasonably valid reason for leaving Doyle out.

In relation to Keanes comments, I think they were unhelpful but I do think Miller deserves a squad place, its not like we have alot of midfielders playing regularly for an inform side. On Connolly, I think the guy has had more than enough chances, I remember not that long ago he played a friendly and scored a hat trick (i think) and everyone was raving about him but when its comes to the competitive games hes never done it. A good few of the goals he has scored this season have come from the penalty spot also. I would be very much in favour of giving the place in the squad to the up and coming strikers rather than Connolly.

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    On Connolly, I think the guy has had more than enough chances, I remember not that long ago he played a friendly and scored a hat trick (i think) and everyone was raving about him but when its comes to the competitive games hes never done it.
    I think you mean his motm against Turkey? He played with Doherty that day and won a place in the team for Switzerland but Keane also played then and they don't work together. There's a reason Jol will do anything but pair Defoe and Keane again.

Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Connolly will never be good enough for Int football,Keoghs got more to offer and is only 20.Keane loves to hold a grudge.That stuff about Miller not being selected because hes from Cork is mindless gibberish.I wouldnt mind but he was telling other managers to shut up making comments about Sunderland last week.You just know he is hoping we get beat next week.T***er.
    Can everyone please calm down about keanes cork comment. He was takin the mick

There is no evidence to suggest he was taking the mick. It sounded as if he was quite serious about it.
    In Trap we trust

in fairness, he was joking, sure isnt Ireland in the squad and he is from cork!!!

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    Connolly has proven time and time again that he is not good enough.

Couldn't agree more.......Connolly is a past failure and should remain in the past!

We are almost at rock bottom, and be looking at all aspects of our FUTURE potential........by the way have we got any?

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    in fairness, he was joking, sure isnt Ireland in the squad and he is from cork!!!
    The fact that Ireland is in the squad is some evidence that there is no conspiracy, it is not evidence to suggest that Keane was joking.

Oh sorry I didnt know my arguments were being dissected by Matlock!!!

1,928 Posts

Perry Mason, if you please !

sorry perry

Look lads, i think we all agree keane is an intelligent man and is prone to making very sarcastic comments. This was a sarcastic comment taken the wrong way by everyone

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast