Thread: Predictions for Wales & Slovakia games

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    This news may change some of the predicitons:
    Rosicky in line to face Ireland

Thats very unlike you Eirebhoy, very sloppy.
    In Trap we trust

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    Ire 2 - 1 Wales
    Ire 2 - 1 Slovakia

Apart from the obvious Stan concerns and general performances recently from the players also concerned about playing surface at Croke Park and our ability to keep clean sheets.

On the the plus side Given is back and Doyle may be back as well.

Expecting a strong team like the following

Given
    Finnan Dunne McShane/O'Shea Harte/O'Shea
    McGeady/Duff Ireland/O'Shea Carsley Duff/Kilbane
    Keane Doyle/Stokes
    We are so many people pushing for this Stokes kid to be in the side. He has done absolutely nothing since he went to Sunderland? Has he even scored? Yet Connolly who scores regularly and set up another goal last night isnt good enough.

Oh yeah, before anyone starts to drag up past performances from Connolly or how good Stokes may be in the future, I would just like to add that the Wales game is on saturday week not in 2 years. Given our current situation, I think we should play form players.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    He did put that he was confused by the article, as in understood that the article was off the radar.
    It's quite an embarrassment for the IT.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    It's not me, it's the Irish Times. I was just making a joke about a confusing error.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 14/03/2007 at 10:55 AM.

214 Posts
    I can see us beating Wales 2 nil and drawing with the Slovaks 1-1. Stan keeps his job and gets a contract extension from Delaney himself.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

20 Posts
    I never understood why they only gave him a four year deal at the start,........everyone knows a 6 year deal is the only way to go..

214 Posts
    we need to lock him in tight to a contract or else Walsall might tempt him back with a tea making job!!!
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

i'd say even maurinho is jealous of the job security stan has in his current deal
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Maybe just to be sure - given the overwhelming support - we need a referendum to enshrine his contract in the Irish Constitution.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    This news may change some of the predicitons:
    Rosicky in line to face Ireland
    Rosicky has not appeared for the Gunners since the 1-0 loss to PSV Eindhoven in the Champions League on February 20th, but the 26-year-old could make his domestic return against Aston Villa tomorrow and should then line up for his country against Germany on March 24th before making the trip to Lansdowne Road on March 28th.
    Well maybe it's not a bad thing if he heads to Lansdowne while all his team mates are at Croke Park.

Quote Originally Posted by BaZmO* View Post
    Well maybe it's not a bad thing if he heads to Lansdowne while all his team mates are at Croke Park.
    Prob not a bad thing that his team-mates will be at croke park either....they can enjoy watching the Slovaks giving us a good spanking...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

114 Posts
    When is he naming the squad?

Quote Originally Posted by BaZmO* View Post
    Eh his team mates will be no where near Croke Park.
    In Trap we trust

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    When is he naming the squad?
    thursday according to the indo

114 Posts
    Thanks tets

finding it difficult to see anything other than two defeats unless Wales put in another shocking poor display. They're due a good result. I'm afraid it'll be against us.

Ireland 0-2 Wales
    Ireland 0-3 Slovakia

...and will Stan be fired out on his hole after it? Will he fcuk.
    Sure we're building for the future.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

What I can see happening is after we beat Wales the fcukin players will get so cocky and get battered by the Slovakians.

This should be the team

Given
    Finnan McShane Dunne Harte
    Hunt Carsley Kilbane Duff
    Doyle Keane(if fit)Stokes if not
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12 View Post
    I hope I'm wrong but with a Sunday league manager in charge anything is possible.
    Jaysus, you've insulted alot of Sunday league managers there, D12.

Lads, have you seen the Welsh squad. Take out Giggs and Bellamy and we're back to the aforementioned Sunday League.

We will trounce Wales 2-1 ( ) and scrape a draw with the Slovakistanis.

But I think only SIX points should be enough to save Stanley from accompanying Pearce down the DHSS.

Now, how do we disguise Berbatov as Irish ?

Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    We are so many people pushing for this Stokes kid to be in the side. He has done absolutely nothing since he went to Sunderland? Has he even scored? Yet Connolly who scores regularly and set up another goal last night isnt good enough.

Oh yeah, before anyone starts to drag up past performances from Connolly or how good Stokes may be in the future, I would just like to add that the Wales game is on saturday week not in 2 years. Given our current situation, I think we should play form players.
    That list of players is my guess as to who Stan will play, Stokes is a long shot as he hasn't been playing recently but who knows. My team would not contain Kilbane, O'Shea or Stokes for that matter.

I think we need to drop Stephen Ireland. I recognize he has hit 2 goals in 3 games, but I think the midfield is faaar to watery with him in it, his goal counts for nothing since we let 5 in against Cyprus (****ing Cyprus, that;s ). With a strong partner Kilbane is a decent central midfielder and I daresay Carsley is strong enough. I don't think it would be a bad idea to have 2 uncreative central midfielders, especially against Slovakia. I think we will win both games, that Welsh squad is rubbish and well I have no reason for slovakia to lose except optimism. Let the creativity come from the flanks with Hunt and Duffer and hope for the best.

Ireland 4-0 Wales
    Ireland 1-0 Slovakia
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy